New reporting requirement is effective immediately: Report the life insurers you represent, have a contract with and/or on whose behalf you sell insurance products

 
Bulletin
No. L & H-02/16
- Life & Health
 
To the attention of all agents licensed to conduct life, accident and
sickness insurance transactions in Ontario
​​

NOTE: The bulletins that are posted on this website are provided for historical reference purposes. The information in these bulletins is accurate on the date the information is published, but is subject to change and may be replaced by more recent bulletins.


An order that is made regarding a licence holder reflects a situation at a particular point in time. The status of a licence holder can change. Readers should check the current status of a person's or entity's licence on the Licensing Link section of FSCO's website. Readers may also wish to contact the person or entity directly to get additional information or clarification about the events that resulted in the order.


These bulletins may include forms that are no longer up-to-date or accurate. Readers should visit the forms section of the FSCO website, to ensure they are using the most recent version of a FSCO form.

​​​​​
In November 2015, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) introduced a new initiative to enhance life and accident and sickness insurance agents’ (agents) compliance with errors and omissions (E&O) insurance requirements. This included the mandatory updating of E&O insurance information in FSCO’s online insurance licensing system, Licensing Link.

Agents’ co-operation with this initiative has resulted in improved E&O compliance across the industry and has enhanced the market intelligence gathered by FSCO. However, only 92 per cent of agents have complied with this requirement, as of November 2016.

The Superintendent of Financial Services (Superintendent) is now introducing a new agent reporting requirement about which you need to be aware. Effective immediately, ALL licensed agents in Ontario must use Licensing Link to report the name of EVERY Ontario licensed life insurer the agent represents, has a contract with and/or on whose behalf the agent sells insurance products.

Agents can begin reporting this information immediately in Licensing Link. Agents are required, at a minimum, to report this information when renewing their licence and when updating their E&O insurance information. 

Please also note that if your E&O insurance coverage has expired, or is not updated in Licensing Link, the following comment will appear in red on your public profile on FSCO’s public registry: “FSCO does not have current E&O information for this agent.” If your E&O insurance is kept up to date, this comment will not appear on your profile.

FSCO’s goal is to help ensure all agents renew their E&O insurance each year, as legally required.
 

What you need to do

Visit Licensing Link today and fill out the mandatory field that identifies all of the Ontario licensed life insurer(s) you represent, have a contract with and/or on whose behalf you sell insurance products. Once you enter this information, you and those insurer(s) will be able to access the information immediately; the Licensing Link system processes information in real time.

If you terminate your contract with a life insurer, you are required to update Licensing Link as soon as possible.

This new reporting requirement is supported under section 442.3 of the Insurance Act [New Window], which authorizes the Superintendent to obtain information from insurance agents about their activities related to the business of insurance.

Please note, it is an offence to provide false or misleading information to the Superintendent. It is your responsibility to keep your information up to date – including your insurer list, as well as your E&O and licence information.

FSCO takes consumer protection seriously.

If FSCO finds you are not complying with your legal obligations at any time, the Superintendent may take enforcement action against you, and contact the insurer(s) you represent to alert them of your non-compliance.

As a reminder, you have a duty to:
 
  • maintain E&O insurance coverage;
  • complete at least 30 hours of continuing education credits every two years;
  • disclose conflicts of interest or potential conflicts of interest to clients or prospective clients;
  • disclose in writing to every prospective insured, and every insured who makes an application to renew or replace a policy, the names of all the insurers you represent; and
  • provide insurers with copies of completed life insurance replacement declarations, when replacement of life insurance contracts is intended.
Licensing Link also now enables life insurers to download a list of all their agents and their agents’ E&O information, such as the E&O policy number, expiry date and insurer. The list of a life insurer’s agents, and information about an agent’s E&O policy information, are not accessible to other insurers or the public in Licensing Link.

FSCO will be providing weekly electronic notifications to life insurers highlighting the number of their agents who are not complying with E&O requirements.

If you have questions relating to FSCO’s new Licensing Link requirements, please contact FSCO’s Call Centre at 1-800-668-0128 (toll-free) or (416) 250-7250.


Follow FSCO on social media  

hotline-en.jpg 

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Des nouvelles exigences en matière de rapport entrent en vigueur immédiatement : indiquez quels assureurs-vie vous représentez, ceux avec lesquels vous avez signé un contrat et pour le compte desquels vous vendez des polices d’assurance

 
Bulletin
No L & H-02/16
- Vie et santé
 
À l’attention des agents titulaires d’un permis qui les autorise à effectuer des opérations
d’assurance-vie, d'assurance-accidents et d'assurance-maladie en Ontario
​​

REMARQUE : Les bulletins affichés sur le présent site Web sont fournis à titre de référence historique seulement. Les renseignements contenus dans ces bulletins étaient exacts en date de leur publication, mais peuvent en tout temps être modifiés ou remplacés par des bulletins plus récents.


Toute ordonnance émise à l’égard du titulaire d’un permis reflète une situation survenue à un moment donné. Le statut d’un titulaire de permis peut changer. Le lecteur est invité à vérifier le statut du permis d’une personne ou d’une entité sous Liaison Permis au site Web de la CSFO. On peut également communiquer directement avec la personne ou l’entité concernée afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou plus de précisions au sujet des événements à l’origine de l’ordonnance.


Ces bulletins peuvent inclure des formulaires qui ne sont plus à jour ou exacts. Le lecteur est invité à visiter la rubrique des formulaires du site Web de la CSFO pour s’assurer d’utiliser la version la plus récente d’un formulaire.

​​​​
En novembre 2015, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (la « CSFO ») a mis sur pied une nouvelle initiative visant à améliorer la conformité des agents d’assurance-vie, d’assurance-accidents et d’assurance-maladie aux exigences en matière d’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle. Cette nouvelle initiative prévoit la mise à jour obligatoire des renseignements sur l’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle dans le système en ligne de délivrance des permis d’assurance de la CSFO, Liaison Permis.

La coopération des agents à l’exécution de cette initiative a permis d’améliorer la conformité des agents aux exigences en matière d’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle, dans l’ensemble de l’industrie, ainsi que les renseignements sur le marché recueillis par la CSFO. Cependant, en novembre 2016, seulement 92 pour cent des agents s’étaient conformés à cette exigence.

Le surintendant des services financiers (« le surintendant ») introduit une nouvelle exigence de rapport qu’il est important de connaître. Dès maintenant, TOUS les agents titulaires d’un permis en Ontario doivent utiliser le système Liaison Permis pour indiquer le nom de CHAQUE assureur-vie qu’ils représentent, avec qui ils ont conclu un contrat ou au nom de qui ils vendent des polices d’assurance.

Les agents peuvent commencer à saisir ces données immédiatement dans Liaison Permis. Ils doivent le faire au moins quand ils renouvellement leur permis ou mettent à jour les renseignements concernant leur assurance‑responsabilité civile professionnelle. 

Veuillez prendre note que si votre police d’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle a expiré ou que les renseignements la concernant dans Liaison Permis ne sont pas à jour, le commentaire suivant apparaîtra en rouge dans le profil public de l’agent sur le registre public de la CSFO : « FSCO does not have current E&O information for this agent. » (« La CSFO ne détient aucun renseignement à jour sur l’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle de cet agent. ») Si vous tenez à jour les renseignements sur votre assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle, ce commentaire n’apparaîtra pas. 

L’objectif de la CSFO est d’aider tous les agents à renouveler leur assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle, comme l’exige la loi.
 

Ce que vous devez faire

Visitez le site Liaison Permis aujourd’hui pour remplir le champ obligatoire où indiquer tous les assureurs-vie que vous représentez, ceux avec lesquels vous avez signé un contrat et ceux pour le compte desquels vous vendez des polices d’assurance. Une fois ces données saisies, vous et les assureurs concernés pourront avoir accès à ces renseignements immédiatement; le système Liaison Permis traite l’information en temps réel.

Si vous résiliez votre contrat avec une compagnie d’assurance-vie, vous devez l’indiquer dans Liaison Permis le plus rapidement possible.


Cette nouvelle exigence de rapport est visée par l’article 442.3 de la Loi sur les assurances [New Window], qui autorise le surintendant à obtenir des renseignements des agents d’assurance au sujet de leurs activités liées aux opérations d’assurance.


Veuillez prendre note que la transmission de faux renseignements ou de renseignements trompeurs au surintendant constitue une infraction. Il est de votre responsabilité de tenir à jour les renseignements vous concernant, y compris la liste des assureurs que vous représentez, et les données relatives à votre assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle et à votre permis.

La CSFO prend très au sérieux la protection des consommateurs.

Si la CSFO conclut, à n’importe quel moment, que vous ne vous conformez pas à vos obligations légales, le surintendant peut prendre des mesures d’application de la loi contre vous et contacter l’assureur ou les assureurs que vous représentez pour les aviser de votre manquement.

À titre de rappel, vous devez :
 
  • maintenir une assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle;
  • obtenir au moins 30 heures de crédits d’éducation continue tous les deux ans;
  • divulguer les conflits d’intérêts réels ou potentiels aux clients ou clients potentiels;
  • divulguer par écrit à chaque assuré potentiel et à chaque assuré qui demande de renouveler ou de remplacer une police, les noms de tous les assureurs que vous représentez;
  • remettre aux assureurs des copies des déclarations de remplacement d’assurance-vie dûment remplies, lorsqu’il faut remplacer un contrat d’assurance.
Liaison Permis permet également aux assureurs-vie de télécharger une liste de leurs agents et des renseignements sur l’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle de leurs agents, comme le numéro de la police, la date d’expiration et l’assureur. La liste des agents d’un assureur-vie et les renseignements sur l’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle des agents ne sont pas consultables par d’autres assureurs ou par le public sur Liaison Permis.

La CSFO enverra chaque semaine un courriel aux assureurs-vie leur indiquant le nombre de leurs agents qui ne remplissent pas les exigences en matière d’assurance-responsabilité civile professionnelle. 

Si vous avez des questions concernant les nouvelles exigences de la CSFO relatives à Liaison Permis, veuillez appeler le Centre d’appels de la CSFO, au 1 800 668-0128 (sans frais) ou 416 250-7250. 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.