Pension Plan for Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited - May 11, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “Act”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF an Application under subsection 78(1) of the Act submitted by Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited in respect of the Pension Plan for Employees of Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, Registration Number 533273;

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal to Require a New Report by the Superintendent of Financial Services under section 88 of the Act in respect of the Pension Plan for Employees of Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, Registration Number 533273 (the “Plan”).

TO:

Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited
Employer and Administrator of the Plan


AND TO:

c/o Low, Murchison LLP
Barristers and Solicitors
200 - 441 MacLaren St.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K2P 2H3

Attention:

Daniel Scott
Lawyers for the Employer and Administrator

ORDER

ON or about July 14th, 2005, the Superintendent of Financial Services issued a
Notice of Proposal to:

REFUSE TO CONSENT, pursuant to subsection 78(1) of the Act, to the application for the withdrawal of surplus dated December 12, 2003 (“Surplus Application”), submitted by Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, (the “Employer”) for the payment of surplus on the wind up of the Plan to the Employer, and

ALSO TO REQUIRE a new wind up report to be prepared and filed which shall deal with the distribution of surplus related to the wind up of the Plan effective October 31, 2002, pursuant to sections 70 and 88 of the Act.

NO REQUEST for a hearing has been received by the Financial Services Tribunal in connection with this matter.

I THEREFORE REFUSE TO CONSENT, pursuant to subsection 78(1) of the Act, to the Surplus Application, submitted by the Employer, for the payment of surplus on the wind up of the Plan to the Employer, and

I ALSO REQUIRE a new wind up report to be prepared and filed which shall deal with the distribution of surplus related to the wind up of the Plan effective October 31, 2002, pursuant to sections 70 and 88 of the Act.

REASONS

  1. The Employer is the employer and administrator of the Plan. The Plan is a defined contribution pension plan.

  2. The Employer submitted the Surplus Application on the basis that the Plan is being wound up. The Employer previously submitted a wind up report dated June 25, 2003 (“Wind up Report”), which was approved by FSCO July 4, 2003. The Wind up Report showed that there was no surplus in the Plan, and therefore did not provide for the payment of surplus.

  3. In support of the Surplus Application the Employer attached a copy of a letter dated November 27, 2003 from Manulife Financial to Low Murchison LLP, solicitors for the Employer, which states that there is surplus in the Plan as at October 2003 in the amount of $99,048.20. The letter also states that this surplus arose from the conversion of a prior defined benefit plan to a money purchase plan.

  4. By letter dated May 21, 2004, FSCO informed the solicitors for the Employer that staff had reviewed the Surplus Applications, and it had several concerns:

    1. The Wind up Report submitted did not show that the plan has a surplus. It showed assets equal liabilities and that surplus was $0.00.;

    2. The notices to members did not set out the following:

      1. Methodology used to determine the surplus attributable to employee and employer contributions;

      2. There was no full and complete disclosure of all provisions of the plan and trust documents from the inception of the plan that may be relevant in determining entitlement to surplus on wind up. This includes the provisions in all current and prior plan texts, trusts agreements, insurance contracts, and other documents that may be relevant;

      3. It did not state that members, former members, or other affected persons may wish to obtain independent legal advice with respect to the Surplus Application and the proposed distribution agreement before they give any consent.

    3. The Surplus Application indicates at page four under the heading “Conditions Precedent to a Proposal to Consent” that “The Plan documentation does not make reference to the payment of any surplus”; and

    4. The Employer has not obtained the consent of at least two-thirds of the former members to the refund of surplus to the Employer. The Employer provided waivers signed by members in 1990, which were signed prior to the Surplus Application.

  5. The solicitors for the Employer were advised by FSCO in the letter dated May 21, 2004, that the Surplus Application does not satisfy the requirements of the Act, Regulations and conditions set out in FSCO Policy. The employer was given specific information on the areas of non-compliance. The employer was also advised that failure to adequately demonstrate compliance may result in a refusal of the application.

  6. In response to the May 21, 2004 letter from FSCO, the solicitors for the Employer by letter dated June 22, 2004 indicated that the letter from Manulife confirmed that there is surplus in the Plan. However, no new or revised wind up report was submitted in support of this position. The solicitors for the Employer also indicated that members already received the pension benefits that they bargained for in their employment agreement, and that the surplus arose entirely due to the employer’s over contribution to the previous plan.

  7. Subsection 79(3) of the Act provides in part that the Superintendent shall not consent to an application by an employer in respect of surplus in a pension plan that is being wound up in whole or in part unless: (a) he is satisfied, based on reports provided with the application, that the pension plan has a surplus; (b) the pension plan provides for the payment of surplus to the employer on the wind up of the plan; (c) the applicant and the pension plan comply with all the other requirements prescribed under other section of the Act in respect of the payment of surplus out of a pension fund.

  8. Clause 8(1)(b) of Regulation 909, R.R.O. 1990, as amended (“the Regulations”) provides that no payment may be made from the surplus out of a pension plan that is being wound up in whole or in part unless the payment is to be made with the written agreement of: (i) the employer, (ii) if there is no collective bargaining agent of the plan, at least two-thirds of the members of the plan; and (iii) such number of former members and other persons who are entitled to the payment under the plan on the date of the wind up of the plan as the Superintendent considers appropriate in the circumstances.

  9. The Financial Services Commission of Ontario’s (“FSCO”) Policy No. S900-510 sets out the requirements for written agreements, pursuant to clause 8(1)(b) of the Regulations. It provides at section 19 that the Superintendent must be satisfied that the employer has provided the former members and other persons who are not currently represented by independent legal counsel with a reasonable opportunity to obtain independent legal advice with respect to the Surplus Application, and the employer has obtained the number of executed agreements required from affected members and others under the regulations.

  10. In respect of the level of consent, section 23 of FSCO Policy No. 5900-510 provides that in order to satisfy subclause 8(1)(b)(iii) of the Regulations, an applicant should obtain the written agreements of at least two-thirds of the aggregate of those former members and other persons entitled to payments under the pension plan at the date of wind up.

  11. Subsection 28(5) of the Regulations sets out the requirements of the notice of application, required under subsection 78(2) of the Act, for the payment of money that is surplus to the employer out of a pension plan. Specifically subsection 28(5)(c) provides that the notice shall contain the surplus attributable to the employee and employer’s contributions and subsection 28(5)(f) requires that the notice must set out the contractual authority for surplus reversion.

  12. FSCO Policy S900-600 section 9, provides that with respect to clause 28(5)(f) of the Regulations, there must be full and complete disclosure of all provisions of the plan and trust documentation from the inception, that may be relevant in determining entitlement to the payment of surplus on wind up, including provisions in all current and prior plan texts, trust agreements, insurance contracts, employee booklets, employee notices and any other documents that may be relevant.

  13. Section 9 of FSCO Policy S900-600 also provides in part that the actual wording of all the provisions from the plan and trust documentation from the inception of the plan that may be relevant to surplus entitlement and to the question of authority to make the plan amendments must be cited in the Surplus Notice, along with the full analysis of their implications.

  14. The notice of application provided by the Employer to former members and other persons entitled to benefits under the Plan does not contain any reference to the provisions of the current Plan, prior plans or any other document that may be relevant. Further it does not set out the surplus attributable to employee and employer contributions, the contractual authority for surplus reversion, nor does it state that the former members or other affected persons may wish to obtain independent legal advice with respect to the Surplus Application and the surplus distribution agreement before they give any consent. Therefore, the Employer has not demonstrated that it has complied with subsection 78(2) of the Act and subsection 28(5) of the Regulations.

  15. The consents from the former members of the Plan indicate that a surplus exists and grants approval for the withdrawal of said surplus for credit to the Employer. These consents are dated October 31, 1990, and predate the wind up of the Plan. Therefore, the Employer has not demonstrated that it has complied with sub clause 8(1)(b)(iii) of the Regulation, which requires the agreement of at least two-thirds of the former members of the Plan at the date of the wind up of the Plan.

  16. The Wind up Report showed that there is no surplus in the plan. However, the Employer indicated in the Surplus Application that there is surplus. Section 30(f) of FSCO Policy 900-510 requires that the Surplus Application be accompanied by copies of the title pages and the balance sheet of the Wind up Report as of the effective date of the wind up giving rise to the Surplus Application and the actuary’s certification from the Wind up Report or any supplemental wind up report. It further provides that a supplement to a wind up report will be required if the distribution of surplus is not addressed in the Wind up Report or the initial wind up report does not reflect the surplus distribution proposals outlined in the Surplus Application.

  17. Section 88 of the Act provides that the Superintendent may require an administrator to prepare a new report where the report does not meet the requirements of the Act, and the Superintendent may specify the methods that shall be used in the preparation of the new report.



DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 11th day of May, 2006.

K. David Gordon

Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés d'Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited - 11 mai 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE d’une demande présentée en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi par Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited relativement au régime de retraite des employés d’Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, numéro d’enregistrement 533273;

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financier d’exiger un nouveau rapport en vertu de l’article 88 de la Loi relativement au régime de retraite des employés d’Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 533273.

À :

Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited
Employeur et administrateur du régime

ET À :

A/s de Low, Murchison s.r.l.
Barristers and Solicitors
200 - 441, rue MacLaren
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada
K2P 2H3

À l’attention de :

Daniel Scott
Avocats de l’employeur et administrateur du régime

ORDONNANCE

LE 14 juillet 2005 ou aux environs de cette date, le surintendant des services financiers a signifié un avis d’intention :

DE REFUSER DE CONSENTIR, en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi, à la demande de retrait de l’excédent en date du 12 décembre 2003 (la « demande relative à l’excédent »), déposée par Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, (l’« employeur ») en vue du paiement de l’excédent du régime de retraite liquidé à l’employeur;

ET D’EXIGER la rédaction et le dépôt d’un nouveau rapport de liquidation traitant de la répartition de l’excédent lié à la liquidation du régime de retraite en date du 31 octobre 2002, conformément aux articles 70 et 88 de la Loi.

AUCUN AVIS de demande d’audience n’a été reçu par le Tribunal des services financiers relativement à cette affaire.

PAR CONSÉQUENT, JE REFUSE DE CONSENTIR, en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi, à la demande relative à l’excédent, déposée par l’employeur, en vue du paiement de l’excédent du régime de retraite liquidé à l’employeur;

J’EXIGE ÉGALEMENT la rédaction et le dépôt d’un nouveau rapport de liquidation traitant de la répartition de l’excédent lié à la liquidation du régime de retraite en date du 31 octobre 2002, conformément aux articles 70 et 88 de la Loi.

MOTIFS

1. L’employeur est l’employeur et l’administrateur du régime. Le régime prévoit des prestations à cotisations déterminées.

2. L’employeur a présenté une demande relative à l’excédent en s’appuyant sur le fait que le régime était en cours de liquidation. L’employeur a déjà soumis un rapport de liquidation daté du 25 juin 2003 (le « rapport de liquidation »), qui a été approuvé par la CSFO le 4 juillet 2003. Le rapport de liquidation indiquait qu’il n’y avait pas d’excédent dans le régime et que ce dernier ne pouvait pas, par conséquent, prévoir le paiement de l’excédent.

3. Pour appuyer sa demande relative à l’excédent, l’employeur y a joint une copie d’une lettre de la Financière Manuvie datée du 27 novembre 2003 adressée à Low, Murchison, s.r.l., avocats de l’employeur, qui indique la présence dans le régime d’un excédent évalué à 99 048,20 $ au 22 octobre 2003. Cette lettre mentionne également que cet excédent découle de la transformation d’un régime à prestations déterminées antérieur en un régime à cotisations déterminées.

4. Dans une lettre datée du 21 mai 2004, la CSFO a informé les avocats de l’employeur que l’examen par son personnel des demandes relatives à l’excédent avait soulevé plusieurs préoccupations :

a) Le rapport de liquidation soumis n’indique pas que le régime affiche un excédent. Il mentionne que l’actif est égal au passif et que l’excédent est de 0 $.

b) Les avis remis aux participants ne mentionnent pas :

1) quelle est la méthode utilisée pour déterminer la portion de l’excédent attribuable aux cotisations des employés et à celles de l’employeur;

2) que l’employeur n’a pas fait état de toutes les dispositions du régime et des documents fiduciaires en vigueur depuis la création du régime qui pourraient étayer son droit à l’excédent en cas de liquidation, y compris les dispositions figurant dans la version actuelle et les versions antérieures du libellé du régime, des accords de fiducie, des contrats d’assurance et de tout autre document pouvant s’avérer pertinent;

3) que les participants, les anciens participants et toutes les autres personnes touchées peuvent demander un avis juridique indépendant au sujet de la demande relative à l’excédent et de l’entente de répartition proposée avant de donner leur consentement.

c) La demande relative à l’excédent indique à la page 4, dans la section portant sur les conditions préalables à un avis d’intention de consentement, que la documentation relative au régime ne fait pas mention du paiement d’un excédent.

d) L’employeur n’a pas obtenu l’accord d’au moins les deux tiers des anciens participants à ce que l’excédent lui soit remboursé. L’employeur a fourni des renonciations signées par les participants en 1990, soit avant le dépôt de la demande de l’excédent.

5. Les avocats de l’employeur ont été informés par la CSFO, dans une lettre datée du 21 mai 2004, que la demande de l’excédent ne satisfait pas aux exigences stipulées dans la Loi et les règlements ni aux conditions énoncées dans la politique de la CSFO. L’employeur a reçu des renseignements précis concernant les domaines de non-conformité. Il a également été informé que le défaut de montrer un respect suffisant des exigences peut entraîner le refus de la demande.

6. En réponse à la lettre de la CSFO datée du 21 mai 2004, les avocats de l’employeur, dans une lettre datée du 22 juin 2004, ont indiqué que la lettre provenant de la Financière Manuvie confirmait la présence d’un excédent dans le régime. Cependant, aucun rapport de liquidation nouveau ou révisé n’a été soumis à l’appui de cette position. Les avocats de l’employeur ont également indiqué que les participants avaient déjà reçu les prestations de retraite négociées dans le cadre de leur contrat de travail et que l’excédent provenait uniquement de la cotisation excédentaire de l’employeur à l’ancien régime.

7. Le paragraphe 79 (3) de la Loi stipule en partie que le surintendant ne doit consentir à une demande d’un employeur à l’égard de l’excédent d’un régime de retraite qui est, en totalité ou en partie, en cours de liquidation que si les conditions suivantes sont réunies : a) le surintendant est convaincu, d’après les rapports fournis avec la demande, qu’il y a un excédent dans le régime de retraite; b) le régime de retraite prévoit le paiement de l’excédent à l’employeur à la liquidation du régime de retraite; d) l’auteur de la demande et le régime de retraite se conforment à toutes les autres exigences prescrites en vertu d’autres articles de la Loi à l’égard du prélèvement de sommes excédentaires sur une caisse de retraite.

8. L’alinéa 8 (1) b) du Règlement 909, R.R.O. 1990, modifié (le « Règlement ») stipule qu’aucun paiement ne peut être prélevé sur l’excédent d’un régime qui est en voie d’être liquidé en totalité ou en partie sauf si le paiement doit être fait à un employeur, avec l’accord écrit des personnes suivantes : (i) l’employeur, (ii) l’agent de négociation collective des participants au régime ou, s’il n’y en a pas, au moins les deux tiers des participants au régime, et (iii) le nombre d’anciens participants et d’autres personnes, jugé approprié par le surintendant dans les circonstances, qui ont droit à des paiements prévus par le régime à la date de la liquidation.

9. La politique S900-510 de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario énonce les exigences relatives aux accords écrits, conformément à l’alinéa 8 (1) b) du Règlement. Il est stipulé à l’article 19 qu’il faut que le surintendant soit convaincu que l’employeur a fourni aux participants, aux anciens participants et aux autres personnes touchées qui ne sont pas actuellement représentés par un conseiller juridique indépendant, une chance raisonnable d’obtenir un avis juridique indépendant au sujet de la demande relative à l’excédent, et que l’employeur a obtenu la proportion d’accords signés exigés des participants et des autres personnes touchées aux termes du Règlement.

10. En ce qui a trait au niveau de consentement, l’article 23 de la politique S900-510 de la CSFO stipule que pour répondre aux exigences du sous-alinéa 8 (1) b) (iii) du Règlement, le demandeur devrait normalement obtenir les accords écrits d’au moins les deux tiers du nombre d’anciens participants et d’autres personnes qui ont droit à des paiements prévus par le régime à la date de liquidation.

11. Le paragraphe 28 (5) du Règlement énonce les éléments que doit comprendre l’avis de demande, exigé par le paragraphe 78 (2) de la Loi, pour le paiement d’une somme excédentaire à l’employeur à même le régime de retraite. Tout particulièrement, l’alinéa 28 (5) c) stipule que l’avis doit comprendre l’excédent imputable aux cotisations des employés et de l’employeur, et l’alinéa 28 (5) f) exige que l’avis comprenne les modalités contractuelles qui permettent le versement de l’excédent.

12. L’article 9 de la politique S900-510 de la CSFO stipule qu’en ce qui a trait à l’alinéa 28 (5) f) du Règlement, il faut que le demandeur fasse état de toutes les dispositions du régime et des documents fiduciaires pertinents pouvant étayer son droit à l’excédent en cas de liquidation depuis l’entrée en vigueur du régime, y compris la version actuelle et les versions antérieures de ces dispositions, des accords de fiducie, des contrats d’assurance, des brochures d’information à l’intention des employés, des avis à l’intention des employés et de tout autre document pouvant se révéler pertinent.

13. Toujours selon l’article 9 de la politique S900-510 de la CSFO, le libellé actuel de toutes les dispositions du régime et des documents fiduciaires établis depuis l’entrée en vigueur du régime qui peuvent être pertinents pour étayer le droit à l’excédent et pour déterminer la modalité qui permet de modifier le régime doit être cité dans l’avis de l’excédent et être accompagné d’une analyse complète des répercussions.

14. L’avis de demande transmis par l’employeur aux anciens participants et aux autres personnes ayant droit à des prestations en vertu du régime ne renferme aucune mention des dispositions du régime en vigueur, des régimes antérieurs ou de tout autre document pouvant se révéler pertinent. En outre, il n’indique pas l’excédent imputable aux cotisations de l’employeur et des employés et les modalités contractuelles qui permettent le versement de l’excédent, ni ne mentionne que les anciens participants ou les autres personnes touchées peuvent demander un avis juridique indépendant au sujet de la demande relative à l’excédent et de l’accord de répartition de l’excédent proposé avant de donner leur consentement. Par conséquent, l’employeur n’a pas démontré qu’il se conforme au paragraphe 78 (2) de la Loi et au paragraphe 28 (5) du Règlement.

15. Les consentements des anciens participants au régime indiquent l’existence d’un excédent et approuvent le retrait dudit excédent au profit de l’employeur. Ces consentements datent du 31 octobre 1990, soit avant la liquidation du régime. Par conséquent, l’employeur n’a pas démontré qu’il se conforme au sous-aliéna 8 (1) b) (iii) du Règlement, qui exige l’accord d’au moins les deux tiers des anciens participants au régime à la date de liquidation du régime.

16. Le rapport de liquidation indiquait qu’il n’y avait aucun excédent dans le régime. Cependant, l’employeur a déclaré dans la demande relative à l’excédent qu’il y avait un excédent. Le paragraphe 30 (f) de la politique 900-510 de la CSFO stipule que la demande relative à l’excédent doit être accompagnée d’une copie de la page titre et du bilan du rapport de liquidation à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation dont découle la demande relative à l’excédent, ainsi que de l’attestation actuarielle du rapport de liquidation ou de tout rapport de liquidation supplémentaire. Ce paragraphe stipule également qu’un supplément au rapport de liquidation sera exigé si la répartition de l’excédent ne figure pas dans le rapport de liquidation initial ou si celui-ci ne correspond pas aux propositions de répartition exposées dans la demande relative à l’excédent.

17. L’article 88 de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut exiger qu’un administrateur rédige un nouveau rapport si le rapport soumis ne répond pas aux exigences de la Loi et préciser les méthodes qui doivent être utilisées dans la rédaction du nouveau rapport.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 11 mai 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.