Pension Plan for Hourly Employees of Chun King Canada Inc. - March 24, 2006

IN THE MATTER of the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the Act);

AND IN THE MATTER of a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to make a Declaration under section 83 of the Act, respecting the Pension Plan for Hourly Employees of Chun King Canada Inc. (the “Plan”) Registration Number 0597450.

TO:

Debbie Gallagher
Consultant
Morneau Sobeco Limited Partnership
895 Don Millls Road, Suite 700
One Morneau Sobeco Centre
Toronto, ON M3C 1W3

Administrator

AND TO:

Pension Plan Administrator
Chun King of Canada Inc.
1019 Elliot Street West
Windsor ON N9A 5Z8

Employer

AND TO:

Ron Milkins
United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local 459
261 Erie Street
Leamington, ON N8H 3C4

Union Representative


NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO MAKE A DECLARATION

I PROPOSE TO MAKE A DECLARATION under section 83 of the Act that the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund applies to the Plan for the following reasons and such further reasons that may come to my attention:

  1. The Plan is registered under the Act, and

  2. The Plan provides defined benefits that are not exempt from the application of the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund by the Act or the regulations made thereunder, and

  3. The plan was wound up effective December 1, 1991, and

  4. There are reasonable and probable grounds that the funding requirements of the Act and regulations cannot be satisfied. The administrator has estimated the deficit in the plan at the wind up date to be $209,000. Based on the latest actuarial certification, there is an estimated claim against the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund of $550,000. as at February 1, 2006. If funds become available from the estate of the employer, the administrator will be required to make an appropriate refund of any allocation amount received by the Plan from the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund.


YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING
by the Financial Services Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to section 89(6) of the Act, if, within thirty (30) days after the Notice of Proposal is served on you, you deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing. Any notice requiring a hearing shall be delivered to the:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 226-7752, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU DO NOT DELIVER TO THE TRIBUNAL, WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL IS SERVED ON YOU, A WRITTEN NOTICE THAT YOU REQUIRE A HEARING, I MAY MAKE THE ORDER PROPOSED HEREIN.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 24th day of March, 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés horaires de Chun King Canada Inc. - le 24 mars 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de faire une déclaration en vertu de l’article 83 de la Loi relativement au régime de retraite des employés horaires de Chun King Canada Inc. (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 0597450.


À :

Debbie Gallagher
Conseillère
Morneau Sobeco Limited Partnership
895 Don Millls Road, bureau 700
1, Centre Morneau Sobeco
Toronto (Ontario) M3C 1W3

Administrateur

ET À :

Administrateur du régime de retraite
Chun King of Canada Inc.
1019, rue Elliot Ouest
Windsor (Ontario) N9A 5Z8

Employeur

ET À :

Ron Milkins
Travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l’alimentation et du commerce, section locale 459
261, rue Erie
Leamington (Ontario) N8H 3C4

Représentant syndical

AVIS D’INTENTION DE FAIRE UNE DÉCLARATION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE FAIRE UNE DÉCLARATION en vertu de l’article 83 de la Loi selon laquelle le Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite s’applique au régime de retraite pour les motifs suivants et tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention:

  1. Le régime de retraite est enregistré en vertu de la Loi.

  2. Le régime de retraite prévoit des prestations déterminées qui ne sont pas exonérées de l’application du Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite par la Loi ou les règlements pris en application de celle-ci.

  3. Le régime de retraite a été liquidé le 1er décembre 1991.

  4. Il existe des motifs raisonnables et probables de conclure que les prescriptions de financement de la Loi et des règlements ne peuvent être satisfaites. L’administrateur a estimé à 209 000 $ le déficit lié au régime à la date de la liquidation. D’après le plus récent certificat actuariel, il existe une réclamation au Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite estimée à 550 000 $ en date du 1er février 2006. Si des fonds provenant de la succession de l’employeur deviennent disponibles, l’administrateur sera tenu de verser un remboursement approprié de tout montant reçu par le régime à même le Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

Votre avis de demande d’audience doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 24 mars 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.