Lindsay Electronics Inc. - May 24, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”);

 

 

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to make a Declaration under section 83 of the PBA, respecting the Pension Plan for Bargaining Unit Employees of Lindsay Electronics Inc.,  Registration Number 373910.

 

 

 

TO:                        

Tony Karkheck
Senior Vice-President
PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
Mississauga Executive Centre
One Robert Speck Parkway, Suite 1100
Mississauga  ON  L4Z 3M3

Administrator

 

 

AND TO:              

Dave Atman
President
Lindsay Electronics Inc.
50  Mary St. W.
Lindsay  ON  K9V 2N6

 

Employer

 

 

AND TO:              

Ira Smith
Ira Smith Trustee and Receiver Inc.
4711 Yonge Street, Suite 1105
Toronto  ON  M2N 6K8

 

Trustee in Bankruptcy

 

AND TO:             

Wes Dowsett
United Steelworkers of America on behalf of Local 9211
115 Albert Street
Oshawa  ON  L1H 4R3

Union Representative

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

 

I PROPOSE TO MAKE A DECLARATION under section 83 of the PBA  that the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund applies to the Pension Plan for Bargaining Unit Employees of Lindsay Electronics Inc. (the “Plan”), Registration Number 373910.

 

REASONS:

 

  1. The Plan is registered under the PBA, and

  2. The Plan provides defined benefits that are not exempt from the application of the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund by the PBA or the Regulations made thereunder; and

  3. The Plan was wound up effective December 2, 2005; and

  4. There are reasonable and probable grounds that the funding requirements of the PBA and regulations cannot be satisfied. The administrator has estimated the deficit in the Plan at the wind up date to be  $3,187,733; and. 

  5. Based on the latest actuarial certification, there is an estimated claim against the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund of $2,944,684 as at October 31, 2006.. If funds become available from the estate of the employer, the administrator will be required to make an appropriate refund of any allocation amount received by the Plan from the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund; and.

  6. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

 

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

 

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

 

Attention: The Registrar

 

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone  at 416- 590-7294,  toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this  24th day of May, 2007             

 

___________________________
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

*   NOTE - Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the date of mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Lindsay Electronics Inc. - 24 mai, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de produire une déclaration en vertu de l'article 83 de la Loi concernant le régime de retraite des employés de l’unité de négociation de Lindsay Electronics Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 373910.

 

À:                          

Tony Karkheck
Vice-président principal
PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
Centre administratif de Mississauga
1, route Robert Speck, bureau 1100
Mississauga (Ontario) 
L4Z 3M3

Administrateur

 

ETÀ:                    

Dave Atman
Président
Lindsay Electronics Inc.
50, rue Mary Ouest
Lindsay (Ontario)
K9V 2N6

Employeur

 

ET À:                             

Ira Smith
Ira Smith Trustee and Receiver Inc.
4711, rue Yonge, bureau 1105
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6K8

Syndic de faillite

 

 

ET À :                    

Wes Dowsett
Métallurgistes unis d'Amérique au nom du local 9211
115, rue Albert
Oshawa (Ontario)
L1H 4R3

Représentant syndical

 


AVIS D’INTENTION

J'AI L'INTENTION DE DÉCLARER, en vertu de l'article83 de la Loi, que le Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite s’applique au régime de retraite de l’unité de négociation de Lindsay Electronics Inc. (le «régime»), numéro d'enregistrement 373910.

MOTIFS:

  1. Le régime de retraite est enregistré en vertu de la Loi.

     
  2. Le régime de retraite prévoit des prestations déterminées qui ne sont pas exonérées de l’application du Fonds de garantie par la Loi ou les règlements pris en application de celle-ci.

  3. Le régime de retraite a été liquidé le 2 décembre 2005.

  4. Il existe des motifs raisonnables et probables de conclure que les prescriptions de financement de la Loi et des règlements ne peuvent être satisfaites. L'administrateur a estimé le déficit du régime à la date de la liquidation partielle à 3,187,733$

     
  5. Selon le dernier certificat actuariel, il existe une demande relative au Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite estimée à 2,944,684$ en date du 31 octobre 2006. Si des fonds provenant de la succession de l’employeur deviennent disponibles, l’administrateur sera tenu de verser un remboursement approprié de tout montant reçu par le régime à même le Fonds de garantie.

  6. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.


VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le «Tribunal») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

 

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

 

Tribunal des services financiers:
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

 

 

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590 7294, sans frais au 1 800 668 0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226 7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.


 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 24 mai 2007.

 

 

___________________________________

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

 

* REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.