Slater Steel Inc. Pension Plan for Salaried Employees of Slacan Division - June 2, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to make a Declaration under section 83 of the PBA, respecting the Slater Steel Inc. Pension Plan for Salaried Employees of Slacan Division Registration Number 0489310

TO:

Al Kiel
Partner
Morneau Sobeco Limited Partnership
895 Don Mills Road, Suite 700
One Morneau Sobeco Centre
Toronto, ON M3C 1W3

Administrator

AND TO:

Paul Davis
Vice President
Slater Stainless Corp.
Markborough Place
6711 Mississauga Road, Suite 202
Mississauga, ON L5N 2W3

Employer

AND TO:

Jeff Rosenberg
PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
145 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1V8

Receiver

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO MAKE A DECLARATION under section 83 of the PBA that the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund applies to the Slater Steel Inc. Pension Plan for Salaried Employees of Slacan Division (the “Plan”) Registration Number 0489310.

REASONS:

  1. The Plan is registered under the PBA, and

  2. The Plan provides defined benefits that are not exempt from the application of the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund by the PBA or the Regulations made thereunder, and

  3. The plan was wound up effective August 31, 1997, and

  4. There are reasonable and probable grounds that the funding requirements of the PBA and regulations cannot be satisfied. Based on the latest actuarial certification, there is an estimated claim against the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund of $2,200,000 as at November 1, 2005 . If funds become available from the estate of the employer, the administrator will be required to make an appropriate refund of any allocation amount received by the Plan from the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund.

  5. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.


YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 2nd day of June 2006

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Slater Steel Inc. pour les employés salariés de la division Slacan - 2 juin 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de faire une déclaration en vertu de l’article 83 de la Loi relativement au régime de retraite de Slater Steel Inc. pour les employés salariés de la division Slacan, numéro d’enregistrement 0489310.

À :

Al Kiel
Associé
Morneau Sobeco Limited Partnership
895 Don Mills Road, bureau 700
1, Centre Morneau Sobeco
Toronto (Ontario) M3C 1W3

Administrateur

ET À :

Paul Davis
Vice-président
Slater Stainless Corp.
Place Markborough
6711 Mississauga Road, bureau 202
Mississauga (Ontario) L5N 2W3

Employeur


ET À :

Jeff Rosenberg
PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
145, rue King Ouest
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 1V8

Séquestre

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE FAIRE UNE DÉCLARATION en vertu de l’article 83 de la Loi selon laquelle le Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite s’applique au régime de retraite de Slater Steel Inc. pour les employés salariés de la division Slacan (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 0489310.

MOTIFS :

  1. Le régime de retraite est enregistré en vertu de la Loi.
  2. Le régime de retraite prévoit des prestations déterminées qui ne sont pas exonérées de l’application du Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite par la Loi ou les règlements pris en application de celle-ci.
  3. Le régime de retraite a été liquidé le 31 août 1997.
  4. Il existe des motifs raisonnables et probables de conclure que les prescriptions de financement de la Loi et des règlements ne peuvent être satisfaites. D’après le plus récent certificat actuariel, il existe une réclamation au Fonds de garantie estimée à 2 200 000 $ en date du 1er novembre 2005. Si des fonds provenant de la succession de l’employeur deviennent disponibles, l’administrateur sera tenu de verser un remboursement approprié de tout montant reçu par le régime à même le Fonds de garantie.
  5. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 2 juin 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.