Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited - May 9, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.P.8, as amended (the “PBA”)

 

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal by the Superintendent of Financial Services to Require a New Report under Sections 87 and 88 of the PBA in respect of the Pension Plan for Employees of Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, Registration Number 533273.

 

TO:                

Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited
(address)

Employer and Administrator of the Plan

 

AND TO:       

Low Murchison LLP
Barristers and Solicitors
200 – 441 MacLaren Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 2H3

 

Attention:  Timothy Kennedy

 

Lawyers for the Employer and Administrator

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

 

 

I PROPOSE TO REQUIRE a new wind up report to be prepared and filed, within thirty (30) days from the date an Order is issued confirming this Notice of Proposal, which report shall deal with the distribution of surplus related to the wind up of the Pension Plan for Employees of Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, Registration Number 533273 (the “Plan”) effective October 31, 2002, pursuant to sections 70, 87, and 88 of the PBA.     

 

REASONS:

  1. Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited (the “Company”) is the employer and administrator of the Plan.  The Plan is a defined contribution pension plan.

  2. The Company filed a wind up report dated June 25, 2003 relating to a wind up of the Plan effective October 31, 2002 with the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) in 2003.  The wind up report stated that there was no surplus in the Plan and that the wind up was due to a conversion whereby the members were transferred to a Money Purchase Plan.

  3. The Superintendent approved the wind up report on or about July 4, 2003.

  4. The Company then filed an application to withdraw surplus under section 78 of the PBA with the Superintendent.  The materials that were filed with this application included a letter dated November 27, 2003 from Manulife Financial to Low, Murchison LLP, which stated that there is surplus in the Plan in the amount of $99,048.20 which arose from the conversion in 2002.

  5. The Superintendent refused to consent to the surplus withdrawal application by Notice of Proposal issued on July 14, 2005 and by Order confirming the Notice of Proposal which was issued on May 11, 2006.  The Company did not request a hearing by the Financial Services Tribunal with respect to the Notice of Proposal.

  6. The Company has not filed a revised wind up report dealing with the surplus in the Plan.

  7. The Superintendent’s approval of the wind up report in July 2003 is null and void because the Superintendent was not informed that there was surplus in the Plan. 

  8. Section 70(1)(a) of the PBA states that the administrator of a pension plan that is to be wound up shall file a wind up report that sets out the assets and liabilities of the pension plan.  Section 70(1)(c) of the PBA states that the report shall set out the methods of allocating and distributing the assets of the pension plan.

  9. “Surplus” is defined in the PBA as the value of the assets of a pension fund related to a pension plan over the value of the liabilities of the pension plan.

  10. Section 87(2)(c) of the PBA states that the Superintendent may make an order requiring an administrator or employer to take any action in respect of a pension plan or a pension fund if the Superintendent is of the opinion, upon reasonable and probable grounds, that the administrator or employer of the pension plan is contravening a requirement of the PBA.

  11. Section 87(3) of the PBA states that the Superintendent may specify the time or period within which the person to whom the order is directed must comply with the order.

  12. Section 88(2)(c) of the PBA states that the Superintendent may require an administrator to prepare and file a new report where the Superintendent is of the opinion that a report submitted in respect of a pension plan does not meet the requirements of the PBA.   

  13. The administrator has contravened the PBA by filing a wind up report that does not set out the assets of the pension plan, and that does not set out the methods of allocating and distributing the assets of the pension plan.

  14. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

 

 

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING before the Financial Services Tribunal of Ontario (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the PBA.  To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you. *

 

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

 

Attention:  The Registrar

 

For further information, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-226-7752, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE ORDER REFERRED TO IN THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 9th day of May, 2007.

 

 

_____________________________________
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions


*PURSUANT TO section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the day of mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited - 9 mai, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers d’exiger la rédaction d’un nouveau rapport en vertu des articles 87 et 88 de la Loi à l’égard du régime de retraite des employés d'Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, numéro d’enregistrement 533273.

 

À:                  

Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited
(adresse)

Employeur et administrateur du régime

ET À:            

Low Murchison s.r.l.
Avocats
200 – 441, rue MacLaren
Ottawa (Ontario)
K2P 2H3

À l'attention de: Timothy Kennedy
Avocat de l'employeur et administrateur

 

AVIS D’INTENTION


J’AI L’INTENTION D’EXIGER la rédaction et le dépôt d'un nouveau rapport de liquidation, dans les trente (30) jours suivant l'ordonnance confirmant le présent avis d'intention, qui devra porter sur la répartition de l'excédent lié à la liquidation du régime de retraite des employés d'Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited, numéro d'enregistrement 533273 (le «régime») en date du 31 octobre 2002, en vertu des articles 70, 87 et 88 de la Loi.

MOTIFS:

  1. Alexander Metal Products (1965) Limited (la «société») est l'employeur et l'administrateur du régime.  Il s'agit d'un régime à cotisation déterminée.

  2. La société a déposé un rapport de liquidation daté du 25 juin 2003 concernant une liquidation du régime en date du 31 octobre 2002 auprès du surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») en 2003.  Le rapport de liquidation indiquait qu'il n'existait aucun excédent relatif au régime et que la liquidation était attribuable à une conversion en vertu de laquelle les participants avaient été transférés à un régime à cotisation déterminée.

  3. Le surintendant a approuvé le rapport de liquidation le 4 juillet 2003 ou aux environs de cette date.

  4. La société a par la suite présenté une demande auprès du surintendant en vue de retirer l'excédent, en vertu de l'article 78 de la Loi. Les documents qui ont été déposés conjointement à cette demande comprenaient une lettre datée du 27 novembre 2003, provenant de Manulife Financial à l'intention de Low, Murchison s.r.l., qui indiquait qu'il existait un excédent relatif au régime de 99,048.20$, découlant de la conversion de 2002.

  5. Le surintendant a refusé de consentir à la demande concernant le retrait de l'excédent par l'entremise d'un avis d'intention émis le 14 juillet 2005 et d'une ordonnance confirmant l'avis d'intention émis le 11 mai 2006.  La société n'a pas demandé d'audience auprès du Tribunal des services financiers concernant l'avis d'intention.

  6. La société n'a pas fourni de rapport de liquidation révisé portant sur l'excédent du régime.

  7. L'autorisation du rapport de liquidation par le surintendant en juillet 2003 est nulle et non avenue, car il n'avait pas été mis au courant qu'il existait un excédent lié au régime.

  8. L'alinéa 70(1)a) de la Loi stipule que l'administrateur d'un régime de retraite devant être liquidé doit déposer un rapport de liquidation énumérant les actifs et les passifs du régime de retraite. L’alinéa 70(1)c) de la Loi stipule que le rapport de liquidation partielle doit indiquer les méthodes d’attribution et de répartition de l’actif du régime de retraite.

  9. La Loi défini le terme «excédent» comme la valeur de l’actif de la caisse de retraite lié à un régime de retraite par rapport à la valeur du passif relatif au régime de retraite.

  10. L’alinéa 87(2)c) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance obligeant un administrateur ou un employeur à prendre toute mesure concernant le régime ou la caisse de retraite s’il est d’avis, en se fondant sur des motifs raisonnables et probables, que l’administrateur du régime de retraite ou l’employeur contrevient à l’une des exigences de la Loi.

  11. Le paragraphe 87(3) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut préciser la date ou la période à laquelle la personne à qui l'ordonnance s'adresse doit se conformer à l'ordonnance.

  12. L'alinéa 88(2)c) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut obliger un administrateur à rédiger et à déposer un nouveau rapport s'il est d'avis que le rapport présenté concernant le régime de retraite contrevient à la Loi. 

      
  13. L'administrateur a enfreint la Loi en déposant un rapport de liquidation n'indiquant pas l'actif du régime de retraite ni les méthodes d’attribution et de répartition de cet actif.

  14. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

 

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers de l'Ontario (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi  si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

 

Tribunal des services financiers:
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

 

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226 7752, sans frais au 1 800 668 0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226 7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30)JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI DONNER SUITE À L’ORDONNANCE ÉNONCÉE AUX PRÉSENTES.

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 9 mai 2007.

 

 

_______________________________

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

 

*EN VERTU DE - l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.