Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Algoma University College - May 24, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”)

           

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make an Order under sections 87 and 19 of the PBA respecting a request by Mr. John Diluzio relating to the Algoma University College Pension Plan, Registration Number 0575209.

 

 

TO:                

Mr. John Diluzio
100 Parkshore Drive
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 6B3

 

Applicant

 

 

AND TO:    

Algoma University College
1520 Queen Street. East 
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 2G4

           

ATTN:

Ms. Celia Ross
President

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

 

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER in respect of the Algoma University College Pension Plan (the “Plan”) requiring Algoma University College to administer the Plan in accordance with Article 9 of the Plan.

 

 

REASONS:

 

  1. Mr. Diluzio commenced employment with Algoma University College in 1990, and became a member of the Plan in 1993.

  2. Mr. Diluzio commenced a medical leave on February 23, 2003.  Six months later he was approved under Algoma University College’s Long Term Disability plan with RBC Insurance and commenced receiving monthly benefits from RBC. 

  3. Mr. Diluzio continues to receive regular and ongoing medical treatment.  Mr. Diluzio also continues to receive benefits under Algoma University College’s Long Term Disability plan with RBC.

  4. By letter dated November 25, 2005 Mr. Diluzio was terminated from employment with Algoma University College effective December 5, 2005.  It appears from the letter that Mr. Diluzio’s employment was terminated because he had been absent from his position since February 23, 2003 and the most recent letter from his doctor, Dr. Hopgood, stated that Mr. Diluzio was not able to perform any duties of his position, with or without reasonable accommodation.  The letter states that it is also Algoma University College’s position that “the contract of employment may be severed based on frustration”.

  5. Mr. Diluzio continued to make monthly pension contributions to the Plan until February 2006 at which time he received a letter from Algoma University College reiterating that Dr. Diluzio’s employment at Algoma University College had been terminated effective December 5, 2005 due to frustration of contract.  Algoma University College has refused to accept any further contributions to the Plan from Mr. Diluzio after February 2006.

  6. Mr. Diluzio contends that Algoma University College’s refusal to accept any further contributions from him and not to allow him to continue to accrue pension benefits is contrary to Article 9 of the Plan.  Article 9 of the Plan provides in part as follows:

    9.1 Continued Accrual of Benefits While Disabled

     

    (a)        A Member who is on a period of disability due to a physical or mental impairment that prevents the Member from performing the duties of the employment in which he was engaged before the commencement of the impairment as certified by a medical doctor approved by the Employer and who is receiving income from the long-term disability plan of the Employer shall remain a Member of the Plan.  Such a Member shall continue to accrue pension benefits pursuant to section 5.1, provided he agrees to make contributions in accordance with Section 4.2(b) in respect of the period of disability.

    (b)        If the disabled Member does not return to active employment with the Employer, he shall cease to be a Member on his Normal Retirement Date and shall be entitled to receive an annual pension commencing on his Normal Retirement Date.  …


  7. It is Algoma University College’s position that membership within the Plan ceases upon termination of employment.  It submits that the intent of Article 9 is to extend plan coverage to employees who are unable to work as a result of disability.  It submits, however, that it is clear from reading the provision that coverage only extends to inactive employees who otherwise remain in the employ of Algoma University College.  Algoma University College submits that because Mr. Diluzio ceased employment after December 5, 2005, Article 9 has no application.

  8. Article 9 sets out two criteria for continuing membership in the Plan:  (a)  a Plan member must be “on a period of disability due to a physical or mental impairment that prevents the Member from performing the duties of the employment in which he was engaged before the commencement of the impairment as certified by a medical doctor approved by the Employer…” and (b) a Plan member must be “receiving income from the long-term disability plan of the Employer”.

  9. Mr. Diluzio has satisfied the two criteria for continuing membership in the Plan:  Algoma University College is not challenging Dr. Hopgood’s opinion that Mr. Diluzio is unable to perform the duties of his position and Mr. Diluzio continues to receive income from the Algoma University College’s Long Term Disability plan.

  10. Article 9(1)(b) indicates that once a member has satisfied the condition of disability due to a physical or mental impairment that prevents him or her from performing the duties of the employment in which he or she was engaged before the commencement of the impairment, membership in the Plan can continue to Normal Retirement Date, i.e., age 65 (in Mr. Diluzio’s case this would occur on June 24, 2015) if the disabled member does not return to active employment at which time he would be entitled to receive an annual pension.

  11. By refusing to accept pension contributions from Mr. Diluzio and to not allow him to accrue pension benefits pursuant to the Plan, Algoma University College is not administering the Plan in accordance with the terms of the Plan provisions.  Mr. Diluzio wishes to continue making contributions to the Plan in respect of his period of disability and should be allowed to do so and to continue to accrue benefits under the Plan until he is no longer in receipt of Long Term Disability benefits or he reaches Normal Retirement Date.

  12. Such further reasons as may come to my attention.

 

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

 

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

 

Attention: The Registrar

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

 

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 24th day of May, 2007.       

 

___________________________
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

* NOTE - Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the date of mailing.

Algoma University College - 24 mai, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi»);


ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu des articles 87 et19 de la Loi relativement à une demande de John Diluzio concernant le régime de retraite du Collège universitaire Algoma, numéro d’enregistrement 575209.

 

À :

M. John Diluzio
100, Parkshore Drive
Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario)
P6A 6B3

Demandeur

ET À:            

Collège universitaire Algoma
1520, rue Queen Est
Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario)
P6A 2G4

À l’attention de : Mme Celia Ross
Présidente

 

AVIS D’INTENTION

 

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE relativement au régime de retraite du Collège universitaire Algoma (le «régime») exigeant que le Collège universitaire Algoma gère le régime conformément à l'article 9 de ce dernier


MOTIFS:

  1. M. Diluzio est entré à l'emploi du Collège universitaire Algoma en 1990 et a commencé à participer au régime en 1993.

  2. M. Diluzio a pris un congé pour raison médicale le 23 février 2003. Six mois plus tard, il a été admis au régime d'invalidité de longue durée du Collège universitaire Algoma, géré par RBC Assurances, et a commencé à recevoir des prestations mensuelles de RBC. 

  3. M. Diluzio reçoit toujours un traitement médical régulier et continu. En outre, il reçoit toujours des prestations en vertu du régime d'invalidité de longue durée du Collège universitaire Algoma géré par RBC.

  4. Par le biais d'une lettre datée du 25 novembre 2005, M. Diluzio a appris qu'il perdrait son emploi au Collège universitaire Algoma. Le licenciement était en vigueur à partir du 5 décembre 2005.  La lettre semble indiquer que M. Diluzio a perdu son emploi parce qu'il était absent de son poste depuis le 23 février 2003, et son médecin, le Dr Richer, a déclaré dans sa dernière lettre que M. Diluzio était incapable d'accomplir toute tâche relative à son emploi, avec ou sans accommodement raisonnable. La lettre indique que le Collège universitaire Algoma est également d'avis que «le contrat de travail peut être annulé en raison d'une impossibilité d'exécution».

  5. M. Diluzio a continué à verser des contributions mensuelles au régime jusqu'en février 2006, date à laquelle il a reçu une lettre du Collège universitaire Algoma lui rappelant qu'il n'était plus à l'emploi du Collège universitaire Algoma depuis le 5décembre2005 en raison de l'impossibilité d'exécution de contrat. Le Collège universitaire Algoma a refusé d'accepter toute autre contribution au régime versée par M.Diluzio après février 2006.

  6. M. Diluzio prétend que le refus du Collège universitaire Algoma de recevoir toute contribution de sa part et de lui permettre de continuer à accumuler les prestations de retraite va à l'encontre de l'article9 du régime. L'article 9 du régime stipule entre autres ce qui suit:

    9.1 Accumulation continue de prestations durant une période d'invalidité

    1. Un participant qui est en période d'invalidité en raison d'une déficience physique ou mentale l'empêchant d'accomplir les tâches liées à l'emploi pour lequel il a été engagé avant le début de la déficience attestée par un médecin approuvé par l'employeur et qui reçoit un revenu du régime d'invalidité de longue durée de l'employeur continue à participer au régime. Ce participant doit continuer à accumuler des prestations de retraite en vertu du paragraphe 5.1, pourvu qu'il accepte de verser des contributions conformément à l'alinéa 4.2(b) à l'égard de la période d'invalidité.
    2. Si le participant invalide ne retourne pas à son emploi actif, il doit cesser d'être un participant à la date normale de son départ à la retraite et doit avoir le droit de recevoir une prestation annuelle à partir de la date normale de son départ à la retraite. [...]

  7. Le Collège universitaire Algoma est d'avis que la participation au régime cesse dès le licenciement. Il suggère que l'article 9 a pour objectif d'élargir la couverture prévue par le régime aux employés qui sont incapables de travailler en raison d'une invalidité. Toutefois, il suggère qu'il est clair, en lisant la disposition, que la couverture ne s'applique qu'aux employés inactifs qui sont toujours à l'emploi du Collège universitaire Algoma. Le Collège universitaire Algoma suggère que l'article 9 ne s'applique, car M. Diluzio a cessé d'être un employé après le 5 décembre 2005.

  8. L'article9 énonce deux critères pour pouvoir continuer à participer au régime: a) un participant au régime doit être «en période d'invalidité en raison d'une déficience physique ou mentale l'empêchant d'accomplir les tâches liées à l'emploi pour lequel il a été engagé avant le début de la déficience attestée par un médecin approuvé par l'employeur [...]» et b) un participant au régime doit «recevoir un revenu du régime d'invalidité de longue durée de l'employeur».

  9. M. Diluzio répond aux deux critères à remplir pour continuer à participer au régime: le Collège universitaire Algoma ne conteste pas l'opinion du DrHopgood selon laquelle M. Diluzio est incapable d'accomplir les tâches liées à son emploi et M.Diluzio continue à recevoir un revenu du régime d'invalidité de longue durée du Collège universitaire Algoma.

  10. L'alinéa 9(1)b) indique qu'une fois qu'un participant a satisfait à la condition d'invalidité attribuable à une déficience physique ou mentale l'empêchant d'accomplir les tâches liées à l'emploi pour lequel il a été engagé avant le début de la déficience, la participation au régime peut se prolonger jusqu'à la date normale de son départ à la retraite, p.ex., à l'âge de 65 ans (dans le cas de M.Diluzio, il s'agit du 24 juin 2015), si le participant invalide ne retourne pas à son emploi actif. À cette date, il aura le droit de recevoir une prestation annuelle.

  11. En refusant d'accepter les contributions au régime de M.Diluzio et en ne lui permettant pas d'accumuler des prestations de retraite en vertu du régime, le Collège universitaire Algoma ne gère pas le régime conformément aux dispositions de ce dernier. M.Diluzio souhaite continuer à contribuer au régime durant sa période d'invalidité et devrait être autorisé à le faire et à accumuler des prestations de retraite en vertu du régime jusqu'à ce qu'il ne reçoive plus de prestations d'invalidité de longue durée ou qu'il atteigne la date normale de son départ à la retraite.

  12. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

 

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

 

Tribunal des services financiers:
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

 

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590 7294, sans frais au 1 800 668 0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226 7750.

 

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

 

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 24 mai 2007.


 

 

______________________________          

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

 

* REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.