Androcan Inc. - August 15, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”)

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal by the Superintendent of Financial Services to make an Order under section 78(1) of the PBA consenting to a payment out of the Androcan Inc. Senior Officer’s Pension Plan , Registration Number 0577635.

TO:

Androcan Inc.
50 Bartor Road
Weston, ON M9M 2G5

Attention: Fred Ross
                 Vice-President

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER under section 78(4) of the PBA, consenting to the payment, out of Androcan Inc. Senior Officer’s Pension Plan (the “Plan”), Registration Number 0577635 to Androcan Inc., in the amount of $39,094 as at December 31, 2004 plus interest and adjustments to the actual date of payment.

REASONS:

  1. Androcan Inc. is the employer as defined in the Plan.

  2. The Plan was wound up, effective December 31, 2004.

  3. As at December 31, 2004 the surplus in the Plan was estimated at $39,094.

  4. The Plan provides for payment of surplus to the Employer on the wind up of the Plan.

  5. The application discloses that by written agreement made by the Employer, and the sole active member, the surplus in the Plan at the date of payment, after deduction of wind up expenses is to be distributed to the employer.

  6. The Employer has applied, pursuant to section 78 of the PBA, and section 8(1)(b) of Regulation 909, R.R.O. 1990 (Regulation), for consent of the Superintendent of Financial Services to the payment of 100 % of the surplus in the Plan.

  7. The application appears to comply with sections 78 and 79(3) of the PBA and with sections 8(1)(b), 28(5) and 28(6) of the Regulation.

  8. Such further and other reasons as come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at
416- 590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 15th day of August , 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions


*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Androcan Inc. - 15 août, 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi visant à consentir à un paiement à même le régime de retraite pour les cadres supérieurs d’Androcan Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 0577635.

À :

Androcan Inc.
50 Bartor Road
Weston (Ontario) M9M 2G5

À l’attention de : Fred Ross
Vice-président

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE
en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi, en vue de consentir au versement, à même le régime de retraite pour les cadres supérieurs d’Androcan Inc. (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 0577635, au profit d’Androcan Inc., du montant de 39 094 $ en date du 31 décembre 2004, majoré des intérêts et d’autres rajustements jusqu’à la date réelle du paiement.

MOTIFS :

  1. Androcan Inc. est l’employeur aux termes du régime.
  2. Le régime a été liquidé en date du 31 décembre 2004.
  3. Au 31 décembre 2004, l’excédent du régime était évalué à 39 094 $.
  4. Le régime prévoit le versement de l’excédent à l’employeur à la liquidation du régime.
  5. La demande révèle que sur consentement écrit de l’employeur et du seul participant actif au régime, l’excédent du régime à la date du paiement, après déduction des dépenses liées à la liquidation, doit être versé à l’employeur.
  6. L’employeur a demandé, en vertu de l’article 78 de la Loi et de l’alinéa 8 (1) b) du Règlement 909, R.R.O. 1990 (le « Règlement »), que le surintendant des services financiers consente au paiement de la totalité de l’excédent du régime.
  7. La demande semble conforme à l’article 78 et au paragraphe 79 (3) de la Loi, de même qu’à l’alinéa 8 (1) b) et aux paragraphes 28 (5) et 28 (6) du Règlement.
  8. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 15 août 2006.


K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

* REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.