Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited - June 28, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the Act),

                      

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make an Order for a Partial Wind Up of The Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited Pension Plan, Registration Number 278952 (the Plan), under section 69(1)(d) of the Act.

 

 

 

TO:                

Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited
139 Mulock Avenue
Toronto ON   M6N 1G9

                       

Attention:      

Ms. Lina DiGiovanni
Compensation and Benefit Analyst

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

 

 

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER:

 

(a)        that The Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited Pension Plan, Registration Number 278952 (the Plan), be wound up in part in relation to those members and former members of the Plan who ceased employment with Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited (Benjamin Moore) (including Technical Coatings Co. Limited (TCCL) members) over the period February 15, 2000, to December 31, 2000, as a result of the reorganization of BenjaminMoore’s business; and

 

(b)        that, in the alternative to the order proposed in paragraph (a) (if it is determined by the Financial Service Tribunal (the Tribunal) that a partial wind up including both TCCL and Benjamin Moore members should not be ordered), the Plan be wound up in part in relation to those TCCL members and former TCCL members of the Plan who ceased employment with TCCL over the period February 15, 2000, to December 31, 2000, as a result of the reorganization of the TCCL business.

 

 

REASONS:

 

  1. Benjamin Moore is the employer and administrator of the Plan (formerly known as the Retirement Income Plan (1959) for Employees of Benjamin Moore & Co.). The Plan covers employees of Benjamin Moore and any affiliated company which may be designated as a participating employer by Benjamin Moore.  TCCL is an affiliated or associated company of Benjamin Moore and is an employer participating in the Plan.

  2. On February 15, 2000, Benjamin Moore announced a reorganization of its North American operations affecting both Benjamin Moore and TCCL, including a Voluntary Early Retirement Window Program (the VERWP) offered to all eligible members of the Plan including TCCL members.

  3. The reorganization affected Benjamin Moore’s operations in Canada as follows:


    (a) Twelve Plan members were terminated from the Aldergrove, British Columbia plant due to a cessation of production activities at the site although distribution and warehouse activities continued;

     

    (b) Production ceased at the Weston, Ontario facility.  Eighteen members were transferred to the Burlington, Ontario facility and continue to participate in the Plan.  Twenty-three Plan members employed at the Weston facility were terminated as a result;

    (c) The Burlington location originally made industrial products under the TCCL subsidiary.  A new plant was added to the Burlington location and production of the commercial products previously done at the Weston facility was taken over by the new Burlington plant.  Eight members were terminated from the Burlington facility (including six TCCL members referenced below) as a result of the reorganization;

     

    (d) Six members lost their production jobs at the Montreal, Quebec facility as a result of the reorganization.  However, all operations including production continued at the Montreal facility;

     

    (e) Thirty-eight members took advantage of VERWP (including eight TCCL members).  The purpose of the VERWP was to assist in achieving reductions in the employment levels at Benjamin Moore (including TCCL), to reduce costs and to provide an early retirement incentive to members who were approaching retirement eligibility; and

     


    (f) The TCCL plant operations at the Burlington site were rationalized to eliminate functional duplication between Canada and the United States.  A total of 14 TCCL members ceased employment as a result, comprised of eight TCCL members who ceased employment under the terms of the VERWP and six TCCL members who otherwise ceased employment.



  4. By resolution of the Directors of Benjamin Moore dated March 23, 2005, the Plan was amended effective December 31, 2000, to partially wind up the Plan but in respect of the Weston plant closure only.  The Report on the Partial Plan Wind Up as at December 31, 2000, (the Weston Wind Up Report) prepared by the actuary for the Plan and dated August 2005 states that a partial wind up excess exists in respect of the Weston partial wind up as of December 31, 2004.  Such a wind up excess would give rise to surplus which would be subject to distribution by virtue of section 70(6) of the Act.   Subject to the treatment of identified surplus assets, the proposals set out in the Weston Wind Up Report for the distribution of pension benefits were approved by the Superintendent on July 5, 2006.


  5. Section 69(1)(d) of the Act states that the Superintendent may require the wind up of a pension plan in whole or in part where “a significant number of members of the pension plan cease to be employed by the employer as a result of the discontinuance of all or part of the business of the employer or as a result of a reorganization of the business of the employer.


  6. Both Benjamin Moore members who ceased employment and TCCL members who ceased employment should be counted together for the purposes of determining whether a significant number of members ceased employment as a result of a discontinuance and/or reorganization under section 69(1)(d) for the following reasons:

     

    (a) The definition of “employee” in the Plan text as it read in 2000 is “a person employed by the Company on a full-time or part-time basis in Canada”.  The term “Company” is defined as:

     

    Company means Benjamin Moore & Co. Limited and any affiliated or associated company which may be  designated as a participating employer by the Company and which has agreed to participate in the Plan.  Where any reference in the Plan is made to any action to be taken, consent, approval or opinion to be given, discretion or decision to be exercised by the Company, “Company” means the Benjamin Moore Co. Limited acting through the board of directors of Benjamin Moore Co. Limited or any person authorized by that board of directors for purposes of the Plan. 

     

    The definition of employer in the Plan text contemplates multiple corporate entities, but the Plan text makes it clear that any actions, consents, approvals, opinions, exercise of discretion or decision under the Plan are to be exercised by Benjamin Moore even for TCCL members;


    (b) The reorganization which gives rise to grounds to order a partial wind up  (including the VERWP) affects both the TCCL and Benjamin Moore corporate entities and was implemented without regard to the corporate distinction between the two entities; and

               

    (c) The definition of the term “employer” should receive a broad and purposive interpretation consistent with the purpose of section 69.  One of the purposes of section 69 and 70 is to give employees affected by partial plan wind ups the same benefits as those affected by full wind ups, and the Act evinces a special solicitude for employees affected by plant closures. 



  7. When TCCL and Benjamin Moore terminations are added together, 89 members ceased employment as a result of the reorganization, comprising 38 members who ceased employment under the terms of the VERWP and 51 members who otherwise ceased employment. 

  8. The 51 members who ceased employment other than under the VERWP are comprised of the 49 members identified in paragraph three above plus two additional members who had not vested under the terms of the Plan until the Plan was specifically amended, by resolution of the Directors of Benjamin Moore dated December 19, 2003, to grant such entitlements.

  9. The total of 51 members includes the members who were affected by the Weston plant shut down and who were part of the Weston wind up group.  The closure of the Weston plant was an integral part of the larger reorganization of the Benjamin Moore’s operations (including TCCL) undertaken in 2000 and, therefore, it is appropriate to include the Weston members in determining whether the significance threshold in section 69(1)(d) has been met.

  10. There were 257 Plan members as of February 14, 2000.  Accordingly, the number of members who ceased employment as a result of the reorganization is significant within the meaning of section 69(1)(d) whether measured on an absolute basis or in proportion to the total number of Plan members.   

  11. Alternatively, if it is determined that TCCL members who ceased employment must be accounted for separately from the Benjamin Moore members who ceased employment, then it is appropriate to use the total number of TCCL Plan members as the base for determining significance on a proportionate basis.  A total of at least 14 TCCL members ceased employment as a result of the reorganization.  The total TCCL Plan membership at the relevant time was 33.  The test of significance is met even in respect of a smaller TCCL partial wind up.

  12. Assuming that the grounds for a partial wind exist, this is not an appropriate case for the Superintendent to exercise his discretion not to order a partial wind up (whether that wind up includes all of Benjamin Moore or is limited to TCCL) because a number of members affected by the reorganization did not receive their statutory wind up entitlements.  In addition, according to the Weston Wind Up Report, a surplus exists as of the wind up proposed in this Notice of Proposal.  Accordingly, members are entitled to the same rights and benefits in respect of the distribution of that surplus that members are entitled to on a full wind up, and this constitutes a sufficient basis for proceeding with the wind up.  

  13. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

 

 

 

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to section 89(6) of the Act.  To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

 

 

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

 

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto ON   M2N 6L9

 

Attention: The Registrar

 

 

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at (416) 590-7294,  toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at (416) 226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

 

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 28th day of June, 2007.   

 

           

 


                                                      
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

 

 

copy:    Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie LLP
            Toronto-Dominion Tower, 30th Floor
            Box 371, T-D Centre
            Toronto, ON   M5K 1K8

 

            Attention:       Sheldon Wayne

 

            Counsel for Benjamin Moore

 

*    NOTE - Pursuant to section 112 of the Act any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the date of mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited - 28 juin, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance concernant la liquidation partielle du régime de retraite de Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited, numéro d’enregistrement 278952 (le régime), en vertu de l'alinéa 69(1)(d) de la Loi.


À:

Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited
139, avenue Mulock
Toronto (Ontario) M6N 1G9

À l'attention de:  Madame Lina DiGiovanni
Analyste des prestations et des compensations



AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE

  1. afin que le régime de retraite de Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited, numéro d'enregistrement 278952 (le régime), soit liquidé partiellement en rapport aux participants et aux anciens participants au régime qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin chez Benjamin Moore & Co., Limited (Benjamin Moore) (y compris les participants de Technical Coatings Co. Limited (TCCL)) au cours de la période allant du 15 février 2000 au 31 décembre 2000, par suite de la restructuration de l'entreprise Benjamin Moore;

  2. afin que, de façon subsidiaire à l'ordonnance proposée dans le paragraphe a) (si le Tribunal des services financiers (le Tribunal) détermine qu'une liquidation partielle touchant les participants à la fois de TCCL et de Benjamin Moore ne devrait pas être ordonnée), le régime soit liquidé en partie en rapport aux participants actuels et anciens au régime de TCCL qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin chez TCCL au cours de la période allant du 15février2000 au 31 décembre 2000, par suite de la restructuration de l'entreprise TCCL.


MOTIFS:

  1. Benjamin Moore est l'employeur et l'administrateur du régime (anciennement le régime de revenu de retraite (1959) des employés de Benjamin Moore & Co.). Le régime couvre les employés de Benjamin Moore et de toute société affiliée pouvant être désignée comme employeur participant par Benjamin Moore.  TCCL est une société affiliée ou associée de Benjamin Moore et est un employeur participant au régime.

  2. Le 15 février 2000, Benjamin Moore a annoncé une restructuration des ses activités en Amérique du Nord touchant à la fois Benjamin Moore et TCCL, y compris un programme d'offre de départ volontaire à la retraite anticipée (le PODVRA) offert à tous les participants au régime admissibles, dont les participants au régime de TCCL.

  3. La restructuration a entraîné des répercussions sur les activités de Benjamin Moore au Canada de la façon suivante:

     
    1. Douze participants au régime ont vu leur emploi prendre fin à l'usine d'Aldergrove (Colombie-Britannique) en raison d'une cessation des activités de production de l'établissement, et ce, même si les activités d'entreposage et de distribution se sont poursuivies;

    2. La production a été arrêtée à l'usine de Weston (Ontario).  Dix-huit participants ont été transférés à l'usine de Burlington (Ontario) et continuent de participer au régime.  Trente-trois participants au régime employés de l'usine de Weston ont vu leur emploi prendre fin par suite de cet arrêt;

    3. L'unité de Burlington fabriquait à l'origine des produits industriels pour la filiale TCCL.  Une nouvelle usine a été ajoutée à l'unité de Burlington, et la production des produits commerciaux qui se faisait auparavant à l'usine de Weston a été prise en charge par la nouvelle usine de Burlington.  Huit participants ont vu leur emploi prendre fin à l'usine de Burlington (y compris six participants de TCCL dont il est question plus loin) à la suite de la restructuration;

    4. Six participants ont perdu leur emploi lié à la production à l'usine de Montréal (Québec) à la suite de la restructuration;  Toutefois, toutes les activités, y compris la production, ont été maintenues à l'usine de Montréal.

    5. Trente-huit participants ont profité du PODVRA (dont huit participants de TCCL).  L'objectif du PODVRA était d'aider à réduire les effectifs chez Benjamin Moore (y compris TCCL) afin de diminuer les coûts et d'offrir un encouragement à la retraite anticipée aux participants qui allaient bientôt devenir admissibles à la retraite;

    6. Les activités de l'usine de TCCL à l'établissement de Burlington ont été rationalisées afin d'éliminer le dédoublement des activités entre le Canada et les États-Unis.  Par conséquent, un total de 14participants de TCCL ont vu leur emploi prendre fin, dont huit aux termes du PODVRA.

  4. Par une résolution des directeurs de Benjamin Moore datée du 23 mars 2005, le régime a été modifié rétroactivement au 31 décembre 2000, afin d'être liquidé partiellement, mais en ce qui a trait à la fermeture de l'usine de Weston. Le rapport sur la liquidation partielle du régime en date du 31 décembre 2000, (le rapport sur la liquidation du régime de Weston) rédigé par l'actuaire du régime et daté d'août 2005, indique qu'il existe un excédent lié à la liquidation partielle du régime en date du 31 décembre 2004.  Un tel excédent ferait l'objet d'une distribution en vertu du paragraphe 70(6) de la Loi.   En ce qui a trait au traitement de l'excédent d'actif existant, les propositions formulées dans le rapport sur la liquidation du régime de Weston relativement à la distribution de prestations de retraite ont été approuvées par le surintendant le 5 juillet 2006.

  5. L'alinéa 69(1)(d) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut exiger la liquidation d'une partie ou de la totalité d'un régime de retraite si «un nombre important de participants au régime de retraite ont vu leur emploi prendre fin par suite de la cessation de la totalité ou d’une partie des affaires de l’employeur ou par suite de la restructuration des affaires de l'employeur».

  6. Les participants aux régimes de Benjamin Moore et de TCCL qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin devraient être comptabilisés ensemble afin de déterminer si un nombre important de participants ont perdu leur emploi en raison d'une interruption des activités ou d'une restructuration aux termes de l'alinéa 69(1)(d), pour les raisons suivantes:

    1. En 2000, la définition d'«employé» dans le texte du régime se lisait comme suit: «Une personne employée au Canada à temps plein ou à temps partiel par la société.»  Le terme «société» est défini comme suit:


      Société désigne Benjamin Moore & Co. Limited et toute société affiliée ou associée pouvant être désignée comme employeur participant par la société et ayant accepté de participer au régime.  Lorsque toute référence dans le régime faite à toute mesure devant être prise, à toute autorisation, à toute opinion ou à tout consentement devant être donné, ou à toute décision ou à tout pouvoir discrétionnaire devant être exercé par la société, «société» désigne Benjamin Moore Co. Limited agissant par l'entremise du conseil d'administration de Benjamin Moore Co. Limited ou de toute personne autorisée par ce conseil d'administration pour les besoins du régime. 


      La définition d'«employeur» dans le texte du régime tient compte de diverses sociétés, mais le texte du régime énonce clairement que toute mesure, tout consentement, toute autorisation, toute opinion, tout exercice de pouvoir discrétionnaire ou toute décision aux termes du régime doit être exécuté par Benjamin Moore, même lorsque que cela touche des participants au régime de TCCL;

    2. La restructuration donnant lieu à des motifs d'ordonner une liquidation partielle (y compris le PODVRA) touche à la fois les sociétés TCCL et Benjamin Moore et a été mise en œuvre sans égard à la différence entre les deux entités;

    3. La définition du terme «employeur» devrait faire l'objet d'une interprétation large et fondée sur l'objet conforme aux fins de l'article69. L'un des objectifs des articles 69 e t70 est d'offrir aux employés touchés par les liquidations partielles les mêmes prestations que celles données aux employés touchés par les liquidations totales, et la Loi fait preuve d'une sollicitude particulière à l'égard des employés touchés par des fermetures d'usines. 

  7. En additionnant les cessations d'emploi chez TCCL et et celles chez Benjamin Moore, 89participants ont vu leur emploi prendre fin par suite de la restructuration, dont 38 aux termes du PODVRA.

  8. Parmi les 51 participants qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin mais qui n'étaient pas admissibles au PODVRA, 49 font partie des groupes dont il question au paragraphe trois ci-haut, et 2 autres n'y avaient pas droit aux termes du régime jusqu'à ce que celui-ci soit modifié par une résolution des directeurs de Benjamin Moore datée du 19 décembre 2003 et visant à accorder de tels droits.

  9. Le total de 51participants inclut ceux qui ont été touchés par la fermeture de l'usine de Weston et qui faisaient partie du groupe touché par la liquidation du régime de retraite de Weston.  La fermeture de l'usine de Weston faisait partie intégrante de la restructuration élargie des activités de Benjamin Moore (y compris de TCCL) à laquelle la société avait procédé en 2000. Par conséquent, il convient d'inclure les participants au régime de retraite de Weston afin d'établir si le seuil d'importance dont il est question à l'alinéa 69(1)(d) a été atteint.

  10. Le 14 février 2000, le régime comptait 257 participants.  Par conséquent, le nombre de participants qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin par suite de la restructuration est important au sens de l'alinéa 69(1)(d), qu'il soit mesuré en termes absolus ou en fonction de la proportion par rapport au nombre total de participants.

  11. Par ailleurs, s'il est établi que les participants au régime de TCCL qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin doivent être comptés séparément des participants au régime de Benjamin Moore qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin, il convient de tenir compte du nombre total de participants au régime de TCCL comme assise servant à déterminer l'importance proportionnelle.  Un total d'au moins 14 participants au régime de TCCL ont perdu leur emploi par suite de la restructuration.  Le nombre total de participants au régime de  TCCL à l'époque en cause était de 33.  Le seuil d'importance est atteint même si l'on tient compte d'un plus petit groupe touché par la liquidation partielle du régime de retraite de TCCL.

  12. En supposant qu'il existe des motifs pour procéder à une liquidation partielle, il ne s'agit pas d'un cas approprié où le surintendant doit exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et ne pas ordonner une liquidation partielle (que cette liquidation inclue toutes les sociétés affiliées à Benjamin Moore ou seulement TCCL) parce qu'un certain nombre de participants touchés par la restructuration n'ont pas reçu leurs droits de liquidation prescrits par la loi.  De plus, selon le rapport sur la liquidation du régime des employés de Weston, il existe un excédent découlant de la liquidation dont il est question dans le présent avis d'intention.  Par conséquent, les participants ont les mêmes droits et avantages relativement à la distribution de cet excédent que s'il s'agissait d'une liquidation totale, ce qui constitue un fondement suffisant pour effectuer la liquidation.  

  13. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

 

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le «Tribunal») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi  si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

 

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

 

Tribunal des services financiers:
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

 

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590 7294, sans frais au 1800 668 0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226 7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 28 juin 2007.     


                               _____                       

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

 

c.c.: 

Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie s.r.l.
Tour Toronto-Dominion Tower, 30e étage
C.P. 371, Centre T-D 
Toronto (Ontario) M5K 1K8

À l'attention de: Sheldon Wayne
Avocat de Benjamin Moore

* REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.