Pension Plan for Employees of BetzDearborn Canada - February 6, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “Act”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal to Refuse to Approve a Partial Wind up Report by the Superintendent of Financial Services under section 70 of the Act, relating to the Pension Plan for Employees of BetzDearborn Canada Registration No. 0220459.

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal to Require a New Report by the Superintendent of Financial Services under section 88 of the Act relating to the Pension Plan for Employees of BetzDearborn Canada Registration No. 0220459 (the “Plan”).


TO:

BetzDearborn Canada Inc.
2300 Meadowvale Blvd.
Maildrop C20
Mississauga, ON L5N 5P9

Attention:

Lin Ann Rowe
Secretary -GE Betz Pension Committee

Employer and Administrator of the Plan

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO REFUSE TO APPROVE the Report on the Partial Wind-up of the Pension Plan for Employees of BetzDearborn Canada, Inc. as at December 31, 1996, dated September 30, 1997, (the “Initial Report”) relating to the Plan pursuant to section 70 of the Act.

I ALSO PROPOSE TO REQUIRE A NEW REPORT to be prepared and filed within sixty (60) days from the date of this Notice of Proposal, which shall deal with the distribution of surplus related to the partial wind up effective December 31, 1996, relating to the Plan, pursuant to sections 70 and 88 of the Act.

REASONS FOR THE PROPOSED ORDER:

  1. The Plan was partially wound up effective December 31, 1996. A partial wind up report was filed with the Superintendent on October 27, 1997, (the “Initial Report”). The Initial Report showed that there was an excess of partial wind up assets over liabilities in the amount of $2,515,000. The initial report did not contain any proposal for the distribution of surplus to the members of the Plan who were affected by the partial wind up.

  2. On June 26, 1998, the Superintendent approved the distribution of basic benefits pursuant to section 70(3) of the Act.

  3. The June 26, 1998, letter from the Superintendent references section 70(6) of the Act and states that “pursuant to subsection 70(6) of the Act, the members, former members and other persons affected by the partial wind up ‘shall have rights and benefits that are not less than the rights and benefits they have on a full wind up of the pension plan on the effective date of the partial wind up.’ The rights and benefits referred to in this subsection may include any entitlements to surplus that would exist on a full wind up. As a result, the surplus attributable to the members, former members and other persons affected by the partial wind up must be dealt with in accordance with the Act.”

  4. No action was taken by the administrator of the Plan respecting the surplus related to the partial wind up.

  5. By letter dated August 17, 2004, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”) informed the plan administrator that the partial wind up of the plan had not been completed because there are assets that relate to the partial wind up portion of the Plan that were not distributed on the effective date of the partial wind up of the Plan.

  6. FSCO requested that the plan administrator provide an update of the funding position of the Plan in respect to the partially wound-up portion of the Plan and if any surplus assets related to the partial wound up portion of the Plan remain, advise FSCO of the proposed plan and timetable to expedite the distribution of surplus.

  7. The Plan administrator did not comply with the Superintendent’s request and reminder letters were sent to the plan administrator on November 15, 2004, and on January 26, 2005.

  8. The plan administrator by letter dated February 7, 2005, indicated that it was seeking advice from its actuaries and legal counsel regarding the proper course to follow. It also advised that it was making best efforts to comply with FSCO’s requirements. FSCO, by letter dated February 25, 2005, granted an extension of time to the plan administrator to March 25, 2005.

  9. The plan administrator subsequently requested an extension of time to May 25, 2005, which was granted by FSCO. FSCO also granted a further extension of time, at plan administrator’s request, to September 25, 2005.

  10. The plan administrator has not provided the update on the financial position for the partial wind up of the Plan and the proposed plan for distribution of the remaining assets related to the partially wound-up portion of the Plan as requested by FSCO.

  11. Clause 88(2)(c) of the Act states that the Superintendent may make an order requiring the preparation of a new report and specifying the assumptions or methods or both that shall be used in the preparation of the new report, if the Superintendent is of the opinion that a report submitted in respect of a pension plan does not meet the requirements and qualifications of the Act, regulations, or the pension plan.

  12. Section 1 of the Act defines “partial wind up” as meaning a distribution of assets of the Plan that are related to the partial wind up.

  13. Section 1 of the Act defines “surplus” as the excess of the value of the assets of a
    pension fund related to a pension plan over the value of the liabilities under the pension plan, both calculated in the prescribed manner.

  14. Subsection 70(6) of the Act states that on a partial wind up, members, former
    members, and other persons entitled to benefits under the pension plan shall have rights and benefits that are not less than the rights and benefits they would have on a full wind up of the pension plan on the effective date of the partial wind up.

  15. Clause 70(1)(c) of the Act states that the administrator shall file a partial wind up
    report that sets out the methods of allocating and distributing the assets of the pension plan and determining the priorities for payment of benefits.

  16. The Supreme Court of Canada has confirmed, in Monsanto Canada Inc. et al. v.
    Superintendent of Financial Services (2004 SCC 54), that members affected by a partial wind up are entitled to have surplus assets distributed on the effective date of the partial wind up.

  17. Therefore, the Initial Report does not comply with the Act because it does not
    provide for the distribution of surplus on partial wind up.

  18. Clause 87(2)(c) of the Act states that the Superintendent may make an order if the Superintendent is of the opinion, upon reasonable and probable grounds, that the administrator or employer of the plan is contravening a requirement of the Act or regulations.

  19. On a full wind up, all assets of the plan are distributed. If there are surplus assets,
    and the members are entitled to surplus under the terms of the pension plan, the surplus must be distributed to the members. If there are surplus assets, and the employer is entitled to surplus under the terms of the pension plan, the employer must apply to the Superintendent for the Superintendent’s consent to withdraw surplus pursuant to subsection 79(3) of the Act. The employer must also obtain the consent of at least 2/3 of the members pursuant to section 8 of Regulation 909, as amended.

  20. Because the members are entitled to a surplus distribution on full wind up if they are entitled to surplus under the plan, they have the same right on partial wind up.

  21. Because the members are entitled to consent to a surplus withdrawal by the employer on full wind up if the employer is entitled to surplus under the plan, they have the same right on partial wind up.

  22. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING before the Financial Services Tribunal of Ontario (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the Act. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.

YOUR WRITTEN REQUEST must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor
Toronto ON M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

For further information, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-226-7752, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128 ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY ISSUE THE ORDERS PROPOSED IN THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL.

DATED at North York, Ontario, this 6th day of February, 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés de BetzDearborn Canada - le 6 février 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de refuser d’approuver un rapport de liquidation partielle en vertu de l’article 70 de la Loi concernant le régime de retraite des employés de BetzDearborn Canada, numéro d’enregistrement 0220459.

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers d’exiger la rédaction d’un nouveau rapport en vertu de l’article 88 de la Loi concernant le régime de retraite des employés de BetzDearborn Canada (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 0220459.

À :

BetzDearborn Canada Inc.
2300, boul. Meadowvale
C.P. C20
Mississauga (Ontario) L5N 5P9

À l’attention de :

Lin Ann Rowe
Secrétaire, comité du régime de retraite de GE Betz

Employeur et administrateur du régime

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE REFUSER D’APPROUVER, en vertu du paragraphe 70 de la Loi, le rapport de liquidation partielle du 31 décembre 1996 du régime de retraite des employés de BetzDearborn Canada, Inc., daté du 30 septembre 1997 (le « rapport initial »).

J’AI ÉGALEMENT L’INTENTION D’EXIGER, en vertu des paragraphes 70 et 88 de la Loi, que soit rédigé et déposé, dans les soixante (60) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, un nouveau rapport qui prévoit la répartition de l’excédent lié à la liquidation partielle du régime en date du 31 décembre 1996.

MOTIFS DE L’ORDONNANCE PROPOSÉE :

  1. Le régime a été partiellement liquidé le 31 décembre 1996. Un rapport de liquidation partielle a été soumis au surintendant le 27 octobre 1997 (le « rapport initial »). Le rapport initial indiquait qu’il y avait un excédent d’actif lié à la liquidation partielle par rapport au passif d’un montant de 2 515 000 $. Le rapport initial ne renfermait aucune proposition quant à la répartition de l’excédent entre les participants au régime touchés par la liquidation partielle.

  2. Le 26 juin 1998, le surintendant a approuvé la répartition des prestations de base conformément au paragraphe 70 (3) de la Loi.

  3. Le 26 juin 1998, une lettre du surintendant faisait mention du paragraphe 70 (6) de la Loi et énonçait qu’« en vertu du paragraphe 70 (6) de la Loi, les participants, les anciens participants et les autres personnes touchées par la liquidation partielle “ont des droits et prestations qui ne sont pas inférieurs aux droits et prestations qu’ils auraient à la liquidation totale du régime de retraite à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle”. Les droits et prestations auxquels fait allusion le présent paragraphe peuvent comprendre tous les droits à l’excédent lié à la liquidation totale. Par conséquent, l’excédent auquel ont droit les participants, les anciens participants et les autres personnes touchées par la liquidation partielle doit être réparti conformément à la Loi. »

  4. L’administrateur du régime n’a pris aucune mesure concernant l’excédent lié à la liquidation partielle.

  5. Dans une lettre datée du 17 août 2004, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (la « CSFO ») a informé l’administrateur du régime que la liquidation partielle du régime n’avait pas été terminée puisque certains éléments d’actif liés à la liquidation partielle du régime n’avaient pas été répartis à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle du régime.
  6. La CSFO a demandé à l’administrateur du régime de lui soumettre une mise à jour de la situation financière du régime concernant la liquidation partielle et, s’il existait toujours des éléments d’actif excédentaires liés à la liquidation partielle du régime, de l’informer du plan proposé et de l’échéancier d’exécution de la répartition de l’excédent.

  7. L’administrateur du régime n’a pas accédé à la demande du surintendant, et des lettres de rappel lui ont été envoyées le 15 novembre 2004 et le 26 janvier 2005.

  8. Dans une lettre datée du 7 février 2005, l’administrateur du régime a indiqué qu’il demandait conseil à ses actuaires et à son avocat en ce qui concerne la bonne marche à suivre. Il a également mentionné qu’il faisait de son mieux pour se conformer aux exigences de la CSFO. La CSFO, dans une lettre datée du 25 février 2005, a accordé à l’administrateur du régime une prorogation du délai jusqu’au 25 mars 2005.

  9. L’administrateur du régime a par la suite demandé une autre prorogation du délai jusqu’au 25 mai 2005, que lui a accordée la CSFO. La CSFO a également accordé, à la demande de l’administrateur du régime, une prorogation jusqu’au 25 septembre 2005.

  10. L’administrateur du régime n’a pas soumis la mise à jour sur la situation financière eu égard à la liquidation partielle du régime ni le plan proposé de répartition de l’actif excédentaire lié à la liquidation partielle du régime qu’avait demandés la CSFO.

  11. L’alinéa 88 (2) c) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance exigeant la rédaction d’un nouveau rapport et préciser les hypothèses ou les méthodes, ou les deux, à utiliser dans la rédaction du nouveau rapport s’il est d’avis qu’un rapport soumis relativement à un régime de retraite ne répond pas aux exigences ou aux conditions requises de la Loi, des règlements, ou du régime de retraite.

  12. L’article 1 de la Loi définit l’expression « liquidation partielle » comme une répartition de l’actif de la caisse du régime qui se rapporte à la liquidation partielle.

  13. L’article 1 de la Loi définit le terme « excédent » comme l’excédent de la valeur de l’actif de la caisse de retraite lié à un régime de retraite par rapport à la valeur du passif relatif au régime de retraite, les deux sommes étant calculées de la manière prescrite.

  14. Le paragraphe 70 (6) de la Loi stipule qu’à la liquidation partielle d’un régime de retraite, les participants, les anciens participants et les autres personnes qui ont droit à des prestations en vertu du régime de retraite ont des droits et prestations qui ne sont pas inférieurs aux droits et prestations qu’ils auraient à la liquidation totale du régime de retraite à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle.

  15. L’alinéa 70 (1) c) de la Loi stipule que l’administrateur doit déposer un rapport de liquidation partielle qui indique les méthodes d’attribution et de répartition de l’actif du régime de retraite et la méthode de détermination des priorités pour le paiement des prestations.

  16. La Cour suprême du Canada a confirmé, dans l’affaire Monsanto Canada Inc. et al. c. (Ontario) Surintendant des services financiers (2004 CSC54), que les participants touchés par une liquidation partielle ont droit à l’excédent d’actif réparti à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle.

  17. Par conséquent, le rapport initial n’est pas conforme à la Loi parce qu’il ne prévoit pas la répartition de l’excédent à la liquidation partielle.

  18. L’alinéa 87 (2) c) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance s’il est d’avis, en se fondant sur des motifs raisonnables et probables, que l’administrateur du régime de retraite ou l’employeur contrevient à l’une des exigences de la Loi ou des règlements.

  19. Au moment d’une liquidation totale, tous les éléments d’actif du régime sont répartis. Si le régime enregistre un excédent d’actif et que les participants ont droit à l’excédent aux termes du régime de retraite, cet excédent doit être réparti entre les participants. Si le régime enregistre un excédent d’actif et que l’employeur a droit à l’excédent aux termes du régime de retraite, l’employeur doit demander au surintendant de consentir au retrait des sommes excédentaires en vertu du paragraphe 79 (3) de la Loi. L’employeur doit également obtenir le consentement des deux tiers des participants conformément à l’article 8 du Règlement 909 modifié.

  20. Puisque les participants ont droit à une répartition de l’excédent au moment de la liquidation totale si cela est prévu dans le régime, ce droit s’applique également à la liquidation partielle.

  21. Puisque les participants ont droit de consentir à un retrait de sommes excédentaires par l’employeur au moment de la liquidation totale si cela est prévu dans le régime, ce droit s’applique également à la liquidation partielle.

  22. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à North York (Ontario) le 6 février 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.