CCSI Technology Solutions Corp. Retirement Program - February 16, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Refuse to Make an Order under section 87(1) of the PBA relating to the CCSI Technology Solutions Corp. Retirement Program, Registration Number 0546101

TO:

Blair Smears
46 Thurston Road
Toronto, ON M4S 2V7

Applicant

AND TO:

CCSI Technology Solutions Corp
c/o CompuCom Systems, Inc.
7171 Forest Lane
Dallas, TX 75230

Attention:

Cheryl Graham
Manager, Benefits

Administrator of the Pension Plan

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO REFUSE TO MAKE AN ORDER that the Administrator of the CCSI Technology Solutions Corp. Retirement Program, Registration Number 546101 (the “Plan”) (formerly known as the GE IT Solutions Inc. Retirement Program), pay an amount equal to the commuted value of the deferred pension to the Applicant’s retirement account.

REASONS FOR THE REFUSAL:

  1. The Plan is a hybrid defined benefit/defined contribution plan. However, the Applicant’s benefits are defined contribution only.

  2. Prior to January 1, 2005, GE IT Solution Inc. (“GEIT”) was the administrator and sponsor of the Plan. Effective January 1, 2005, CCSI Technology Solutions Corp (“CCSI”) became the administrator and sponsor of the Plan pursuant to a purchase agreement and related agreement between, inter alia, GEIT and an affiliate of CCSI. Effective February 28, 2005, the name of the Plan was changed to its current name from GE IT Solutions Inc. Retirement Program to reflect the change in Plan sponsor.

  3. On May 1, 2000, the Applicant became an employee of GEIT (formerly known as GE Capital Information Technology Solutions Inc.). He became a member of the Plan on May 1, 2002. The Applicant’s employment ceased on April 16, 2004. The Applicant was paid his contributions to the Plan with interest upon termination. He did not receive any amount in respect of employer contributions made on his behalf.

  4. Section 37 of the PBA provides that a member who is a member of a plan for “a continuous period of at least twenty-four months” as per section 37(2)(b) qualifies for a deferred pension under section 37(3). The Applicant was two weeks short of the mandatory vesting period of two years set out under section 37 of the PBA at the date of his termination. Therefore, the Applicant is not vested in the Plan and is not entitled to a deferred pension or the employer’s contributions to the Plan made on his behalf.

  5. The Applicant argues that the three weeks mandatory notice on termination under Part XV of the Employment Standards Act, S.O. 2000, c. 41 (the “ESA”) should be included in the Applicant’s credited service such that the Applicant meets the threshold for vesting set out in section 37 of the PBA. However, the jurisdiction of the Superintendent to make the requested order is set out in section 87 of the PBA and is triggered only where there is a contravention of the PBA, regulations or the terms of a pension plan.

  6. A contravention of the ESA (assuming that the Applicant’s position concerning the ESA is correct) does not constitute a contravention of the Act, regulations, nor the terms of the Plan. Moreover, there is no indication in the PBA, regulations or the Plan that the statutory notice period in the ESA should be included in the calculations of membership service credit for the purposes of section 37 of the PBA. Accordingly, the Superintendent does not have the authority to grant the requested order.

  7. Finally, the Applicant relies on section 74(5) of the PBA which states that the ESA’s statutory notice period is to be included in membership for a pension plan that is “wound up in whole or in part.” The Plan has not been wound up in whole or in part, therefore, section 74(5) does not apply.

  8. Such further reasons as may come to my attention.

    YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to s. 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 226-7752, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY (REFUSE TO) MAKE THE ORDER (AS)PROPOSED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 16th day of February, 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

CC: B. Lecker - Lecker & Associates
S. Kapur - McCarthy Tétrault LLP

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Programme de retraite de CCSI Technology Solutions Corp. -  le 16 février 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de refuser de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 87 (1) de la Loi relativement au programme de retraite de CCSI Technology Solutions Corp., numéro d’enregistrement 0546101.

À :

Blair Smears
46 Thurston Road
Toronto (Ontario) M4S 2V7

Demandeur

ET À :

CCSI Technology Solutions Corp.
A/s de CompuCom Systems, Inc.
7171 Forest Lane
Dallas, TX 75230

À l’attention de :

Cheryl Graham
Directrice, avantages sociaux

Administrateur du régime de retraite

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE REFUSER DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE stipulant que l’administrateur du programme de retraite de CCSI Technology Solutions Corp., numéro d’enregistrement 546101 (le « régime ») (anciennement connu sous le nom de « programme de retraite de GE IT Solutions Inc. »), verse un montant égal à la valeur de rachat de la pension différée dans le compte de retraite du demandeur.

MOTIFS DU REFUS :

  1. Le régime est un régime hybride qui prévoit des cotisations et des prestations déterminées. Cependant, les prestations du demandeur ne sont calculées qu’en fonction des cotisations déterminées.

  2. Avant le 1er janvier 2005, GE IT Solution Inc. (« GEIT ») était l’administrateur et le promoteur du régime. Le 1er janvier 2005, CCSI Technology Solutions Corp. (« CCSI ») est devenu l’administrateur et le promoteur du régime en vertu d’une convention d’achat et d’une entente connexe conclue, entre autres, par GEIT et une société affiliée de CCSI. Le 28 février 2005, le nom du régime a été modifié et est désormais « programme de retraite de GE IT Solutions Inc. » pour tenir compte du nouveau promoteur du régime.

  3. Le 1er mai 2000, le demandeur est devenu un employé de GEIT (anciennement connue sous le nom de GE Capital Information Technology Solutions Inc.). Il est devenu un participant au régime le 1er mai 2002. Le demandeur a vu son emploi prendre fin le 16 avril 2004. Le demandeur a versé ses cotisations au régime avec intérêt à la cessation d’emploi. Il n’a reçu aucun montant à l’égard des cotisations de l’employeur versées en son nom.

  4. L’article 37 de la Loi stipule qu’un participant à un régime qui est participant « pendant une période continue d’au moins vingt-quatre mois » conformément à l’alinéa 37 (2) b) a droit à une pension différée prévue au paragraphe 37 (3). Il manquait au demandeur deux semaines pour remplir la condition relative à la période d’acquisition de droits obligatoires de deux ans prévue à l’article 37 de la Loi à la date de cessation. Par conséquent, le demandeur n’a pas acquis de droits à une pension différée ou aux cotisations de l’employeur versées en son nom.

  5. Le demandeur a fait valoir que la période de préavis obligatoire de cessation d’emploi de trois semaines prévue à la partie XV de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi, L.O. chap. 41 (la « LNE ») devrait être incluse dans le total de ses années de service reconnues de sorte qu’il puisse atteindre le seuil d’acquisition prévu à l’article 37 de la Loi. Cependant, la compétence du surintendant à cet égard est énoncée à l’article 87 de la Loi qui stipule que le surintendant ne peut rendre l’ordonnance demandée que s’il y a contravention à la Loi, aux règlements ou au régime de retraite.

  6. Une contravention à la LNE (en supposant que la position du demandeur eu égard à la LNE est juste) ne constitue par une contravention à la Loi, aux règlements ou aux termes du régime. En outre, rien n’indique dans la Loi, les règlements ou le régime de retraite que la période de préavis obligatoire devrait être comprise dans le calcul des états de service aux fins de l’article 37 de la Loi. Par conséquent, le surintendant n’est pas habilité à rendre l’ordonnance demandée.

  7. Enfin, le demandeur a invoqué le paragraphe 74 (5) de la Loi qui stipule que la période de préavis de licenciement exigée en vertu de la LNE doit être incluse dans la période d’affiliation à un régime de retraite qui est « totalement ou partiellement liquidé ». Comme le régime de retraite n’a pas été liquidé totalement ou partiellement, le paragraphe 75 (5) ne s’applique pas.

  8. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS
, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES
.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 16 février 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

c.c. B. Lecker – Lecker & Associates
S. Kapur – McCarthy Tétrault s.r.l.

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.