Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

The Canada Life Canadian Employees Pension Plan - January 30, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the APBA@)

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make an Order under section 69(1)(d) and section 69(1)(e) of the PBA relating to The Canada Life Canadian Employees Pension Plan, Registration Number 0354563

 

 

TO:

The Canada Life Assurance Company
c/o London Life Insurance Company
255 Dufferin Avenue
London, ON   N6A 4K1

 

Attention:      

Mr. Wallace B. Robinson
Assistant Vice-President, Pension Benefits                                           

Employer and Plan Administrator

 

 

AND TO:       

Adason Properties Limited
c/o London Life Insurance Company
255 Dufferin Avenue
London, ON   N6A 4K1

 

Attention:      

Mr. Wallace B. Robinson
Assistant Vice-President, Pension Benefits

Participating Employer



NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER under section 69(1) (d) and section 69(1) (e) of the PBA that The Canada Life Canadian Employees Pension Plan, Registration Number 0354563, (the APlan@) be partially wound up in relation to those members and former members of the Plan who ceased to be employed by Adason Properties Limited (“Adason”) during the period November 1, 1999 to February 28, 2001.

REASONS:

  1. Adason is a wholly owned subsidiary of The Canada Life Assurance Company (“Canada Life”) and a participating employer in the Plan.

  2. Canada Life is the administrator of the Plan.

  3. Adason provides management services in respect of Canada Life’s portfolio of real estate assets.

  4. Between November 1, 1999 and February 28, 2001, there was a decline in the number of real estate assets in Canada Life’s investment portfolio that required management services.

  5. As a result, Adason ceased to provide management services at certain locations. The locations where Adason ceased to provide management services as a result of the change in Canada Life’s investment portfolio were Hamilton, London and North York.  The discontinuance of management services at these locations resulted in 2, 3 and 3 employees, respectively, losing their employment.

  6. Further, the change in Canada Life’s investment portfolio also resulted in 22 out of 35 employees of Adason at its corporate offices at 181 University Avenue, Toronto, losing their employment and 4 out of 14 employees at the 330 University/Simcoe Street, Toronto, losing their employment. The location of one terminated employee is unknown.

  7. A total of 35 out of 58 employees of Adason lost their employment between November 1, 1999 and February 28, 2001.

  8. All of the employees of Adason who ceased employment with Adason during this period were vested members of the Plan. Of the employees terminated during this period, 21 had more than 55 points (age and service).

  9. Section 69(1) (d) of the PBA provides that the Superintendent may require the full or partial wind up of a plan if “a significant number of members of the pension plan cease to be employed by the employer as a result of the discontinuance of all or part of the business of the employer or as a result of the reorganization of the business of the employer.”

  10. A significant number of employees (60%) of Adason (35 out of 58 employees) ceased to be employed by Adason during the period November 1, 1999 to February 28, 2001 as a result of a reorganization of the business of Adason and as a result of the discontinuance of part of the business of Adason.  As a result there are grounds under section 69(1) (d) of the PBA to order a partial wind up of the Plan.

  11. Section 69(1) (e) of the PBA provides that the Superintendent may require the full or partial wind up of plan if “all or a significant portion of the business carried on by the employer at a specific location is discontinued”.

  12. Adason provided property management services at locations in Hamilton, London and North York.  During the period November 1, 1999 to February 28, 2001 it discontinued its business at each of these specific locations. The discontinuation of its businesses at these locations resulted in the cessation of the employment of 8 employees of Adason.

  13. During the period November 1, 1999 to February 28, 2001, a significant portion of Adason’s business at the Toronto locations was also discontinued. The discontinuation of a significant portion of Adason’s business at the Toronto locations resulted in the cessation of the employment of 26 employees of Adason. As a result there are grounds under section 69(1) (e) of the PBA to order a partial wind up of the Plan.

  14. Where it has been clearly demonstrated that the entitlements of the members affected by a partial wind up under the PBA have otherwise been provided, the Superintendent may exercise his discretion not to order a partial wind up in part.

  15. Section 70(6) of the PBA provides that on the partial wind up of a pension plan, the affected members shall have rights and benefits that are not less than the rights and benefits they would have on a full wind up of the pension plan on the effective date of the partial wind up.

  16. The actuarial valuation reports as at January 1, 1997 and January 1, 2000 indicate that the Plan was in a surplus position during the period November 1, 1999 to February 28, 2001.

  17. In addition, the PBA provides enhanced benefit entitlements to members affected by a partial wind up, including grow-in benefits under section 74.

     
  18. Therefore, there is good reason for the Superintendent to exercise his discretion to order a partial wind up of the Plan because those employees of Adason terminated during the period November 1, 1999 to February 28, 2001 may have a right to surplus distribution and it has not clearly been demonstrated that other entitlements of these members on partial wind up under the PBA have been otherwise provided.

  19. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

 

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the ATribunal@) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

 

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

 

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, ON   M2N 6L9

 

Attention: The Registrar

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at (416) 590-7294 (toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294) or by fax at (416) 226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

THE ADMINISTRATOR IS REQUIRED pursuant to section 89(5) of the PBA to transmit a copy of this Notice of Proposal to members of the Plan whose employment was terminated with the Participating Employer, Adason, during the period November 1, 1999 to February 28, 2001.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 30th day of January, 2007.  

 

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

 

copy:

Mr. Ian J. McSweeney
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Barristers & Solicitors
Box 50, 1 First Canadian Place
Toronto, ON   M5X 1B8

*NOTE - Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the date of mailing.




Follow @FSCOTweets

The Canadian Life Canadian Employees Pension Plan - 30 janvier, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap.P.8, modifiée (la «Loi»);   

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu des alinéas69(1)d) et 69(1)e) de la Loi relativement au régime de retraite des employés de la division canadienne de Canada Vie, numéro d’enregistrement 0354563.

À:                         

La Compagnie d’Assurance du Canada sur la Vie
a/s de Compagnie d’assurance London Life
255, avenue Dufferin
London (Ontario) N6A 4K1

À l’attention de:  

M. Wallace B. Robinson
Vice-président adjoint, Prestations de retraite                                            

Employeur et administrateur du régime

 

ET À:                   

Adason Properties Limited
a/s de Compagnie d’assurance London Life
255, avenue Dufferin
London (Ontario) N6A 4K1

À l’attention de:  

M. Wallace B. Robinson
Vice-président adjoint, Prestations de retraite

Employeur participant

 

AVIS D’INTENTION

 

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE en vertu des alinéas69(1)d) et 69(1)e) de la Loi afin que le régime de retraite des employés de la division canadienne de Canada Vie (le «régime»), numéro d’enregistrement0354563, soit liquidé partiellement pour les participants et les anciens participants au régime qui ont vu leur emploi chez Adason Properties Limited («Adason») prendre fin entre le 1er novembre 1999 et le 28février 2001.

MOTIFS:

 

  1. Adason est une filiale en propriété exclusive de La Compagnie d’Assurance du Canada sur la Vie («Canada Vie») et un employeur participant au régime.

  2. Canada Vie est l’administrateur du régime.

  3. Adason fournit des services de gestion relativement au portefeuille de l’actif immobilier de Canada Vie.

  4. Entre le 1er novembre 1999 et le 28février 2001, il y a eu une diminution du nombre de biens immobiliers du portefeuille de Canada-Vie qui nécessitaient des services de gestion.

  5. Par conséquent, Adason a cessé de fournir des services de gestion à certains endroits. Les lieux où Adason a cessé de fournir des services de gestion à la suite des modifications apportées au portefeuille de Canada-Vie étaient Hamilton, London et North York. La cessation des services de gestion à ces lieux s’est soldée par la perte de l’emploi de 2, 3 et 3 employés, respectivement.

  6. De plus, les modifications apportées au portefeuille de Canada-Vie ont également entraîné la perte de l’emploi de 22 des 35employés d’Adason qui travaillaient au 181, avenue University, à Toronto et de 4 des 14employés qui travaillaient au 300, rue University/Simcoe, à Toronto. Le lieu où travaillait l’un des employés mis à pied est inconnu.

  7. Au total, 35 des 58employés d’Adason ont perdu leur emploi entre le 1er novembre 1999 et le 28 février 2001.

  8. Tous les employés d’Adason qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin au cours de cette période étaient des participants au régime ayant des droits acquis. Vingt et un de ces employés avaient plus de 55points (âge et service).

  9. L’alinéa69(1)d) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut exiger la liquidation partielle ou totale d’un régime de retraite si «un nombre important de participants au régime de retraite ont vu leur emploi prendre fin par suite de la cessation de la totalité ou d’une partie des affaires de l’employeur ou par suite de la réorganisation des affaires de l’employeur».

  10. Un nombre important d’employés (60%) d’Adason (soit 35 des 58employés) ont vu leur emploi chez Adason prendre fin au cours de la période allant du 1ernovembre 1999 au 28 février 2001, à la suite de la réorganisation d’Adason et de la cessation d’une partie de ses activités. Par conséquent, il serait fondé d’ordonner la liquidation partielle du régime en vertu de l’alinéa69(1)d) de la Loi.

  11. L’alinéa69(1)e) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut exiger la liquidation partielle ou totale d’un régime de retraite si «la totalité ou une partie importante des affaires que l’employeur fait dans un lieu en particulier ont cessé».

  12. Adason offrait des services de gestion immobilière à Hamilton, London et North York. Au cours de la période allant du 1er novembre 1999 au 28 février 2001, elle a cessé ses activités dans chacune de ces villes, ce qui a entraîné la cessation d’emploi de 8personnes qui travaillaient pour Adason.

  13. Au cours de la période allant du 1er novembre 1999 au 28février2001, une partie importante des activités d’Adason à différents endroits de Toronto ont également cessé. Cela s’est soldé par la cessation par la cessation d’emploi de 26personnes qui travaillaient pour Adason. Par conséquent, il serait fondé d’ordonner la liquidation partielle du régime en vertu de l’alinéa69(1)e) de la Loi.

  14. Lorsqu’il a été clairement démontré que les droits des participants touchés par une liquidation partielle en vertu de la Loi ont été autrement respectés, le surintendant peut exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et décider de ne pas ordonner une liquidation partielle du régime.

  15. Le paragraphe70(6) de la Loi prévoit qu’à la liquidation d’un régime de retraite, les participants touchés ont des droits et prestations qui ne sont pas inférieurs aux droits et prestations qu’ils auraient à la liquidation totale du régime de retraite à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle.

  16. Les rapports d’évaluation actuarielle du 1er janvier 1997 et du 1erjanvier 2000 indiquent que le régime affichait un excédent au cours de la période allant du 1ernovembre 1999 au 28février 2001.

  17. De plus, l’article 74 de la Loi prévoit un droit à des prestations accrues, notamment à des prestations de retraite plus élevées, pour les participants touchés par une liquidation partielle.

  18. Par conséquent, le surintendant a de bonnes raisons d’exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et d’ordonner la liquidation partielle du régime, car les employés d’Adason qui ont vu leur emploi prendre fin entre le 1er novembre 1999 et le 28février2001 ont droit à la répartition de l’excédent et qu’il n’a pas été démontré clairement que les autres droits prévus par la Loi en cas de liquidation partielle ont été autrement respectés.

  19. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de la demande d’audience.*

 

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

 

Tribunal des services financiers

5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

 

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1800668-0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

 

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

L’ADMINISTRATEUR EST TENU, en vertu du paragraphe89(5) de la Loi, de transmettre une copie de l’avis d’intention aux participants au régime qui ont vu leur emploi chez l’employeur participant, Adason, prendre fin au cours de la période allant du 1ernovembre 1999 au 28février 2001.

 

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 30 janvier, 2007.   


 

K. David Gordon

Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

 

 

c.c.

 

M. Ian J. McSweeney
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt s.r.l.
Barristers & Solicitors
C.P. 50, 1 First Canadian Place
Toronto (Ontario)  M5X 1B8

           *REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.

 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.