Canadian Commercial Workers Industrial Pension Plan - April 18, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”)

        

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Refuse to Make an Order under section 87 of the PBA respecting a request by Mr. Jan Szarycz relating to the Canadian Commercial Workers Industrial Pension Plan, Registration Number 0580431.

 

 TO:                

Mr. Jan Szarycz
3488 Fieldgate Dr.
Mississauga ON
L4X 2J5

Applicant

 

 AND TO:    

Canadian Commercial Workers Industrial Pension Plan
61 International Blvd., Suite 110
Toronto, Ontario
M9W 6K4

ATTN:

Ms. Carol Ann  Power
Administrator, Toronto Regional Office

 

Employer and Administrator

 

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

 

I PROPOSE TO REFUSE TO MAKE AN ORDER in respect of the Canadian Commercial Workers Industrial Pension Plan (the “Plan”) requiring the administrator of the Plan to  transfer the commuted value of Mr. Szarycz’s pension benefit to a Locked-In Retirement Account (LIRA), Life-Income Fund (LIF) or a Locked-In Retirement Income Fund (LRIF) or requiring the administrator of the Plan to provide payment to Mr. Szarycz of the commuted value of his pension benefit, pursuant to sections 42, 50, 67 and 87 of the PBA.

 

 

REASONS:

  1. Mr. Szarycz is a former employee of Group 4 Falck (Canada) Ltd.

  2. Group 4 Falck ceased to be a participating employer under the Plan effective September 30, 2004.  

  3. Section 42(1) of the PBA states that a member of a pension plan who terminates on or after January 1, 1988, and is entitled to a deferred pension under the pension plan, is entitled to require the administrator to pay an amount equal to the commuted value of the deferred pension to the pension fund related to another pension plan, into a prescribed retirement savings arrangement or for the purchase for the former member of a life annuity. However, section 42(3) of the PBA states that section 42(1) of the PBA does not apply to a former member whose employment is terminated and who is entitled to an immediate payment of a pension benefit under the pension plan unless the pension plan permits the transfer.

  4. Section 8.05 of the Plan provides for the payment of an immediate monthly pension at age 50 or older. The Plan does not permit any of the transfer options. Mr. Szarycz was over 50 years old in the year that he terminated employment. Therefore, he is not entitled to the transfer options under section 42(1) of the PBA.

  5. Section 50(1) of the PBA states that a pension plan may provide for payment to a former member of the commuted value of the pension benefit if the annual pension benefit payable at the normal retirement date is not more than 2 per cent of the Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings, as defined under the Canada Pension Plan (YMPE), in the year that the former member terminated employment. The YMPE in 2006 was $42,100.00, 2 per cent of $42,100.00 is $842.00 annually or $70.17 monthly. Mr. Szarycz’s monthly pension benefit is $72.27 which is greater than the calculated 2 per cent limit amount of $70.17. Therefore, Mr. Szarycz does not qualify for payment of the commuted value of the pension benefit under section 50(1) of the PBA.

  6. Section 67(5) of the PBA states that the Superintendent of Financial Services may consent to the commutation or surrender, in whole or part, of a prescribed retirement savings arrangement if the Superintendent is satisfied as to the existence of such circumstances of financial hardship as may be prescribed. Section 84 of Regulation 909, R.R.O. 1990 states that the following prescribed retirement savings arrangements are prescribed for the purposes of section 67(5): 1. A life income fund. 2. A locked-in retirement account. 3. A locked-in retirement income fund. In this case, the Superintendent cannot consent to the commutation of Mr. Szarycz’s pension benefit because his pension monies remain in the Plan and have not been transferred to a life income fund, a locked-in retirement account or a locked-in retirement income fund.  Accordingly, the Superintendent is not able to consent to the commutation of Mr. Szarycz’s pension benefit on the basis of financial hardship.

  7. Such further reasons as may come to my attention.

 

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you. *

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

 

Attention: The Registrar

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

 

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSED REFUSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 18th day of April , 2007.     

 

___________________________                  
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

* NOTE - Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the date of mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Canadian Commmercial Workers Industrial Pension Plan - 18 avril, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi»);

           

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de refuser de rendre une ordonnance en vertu de l’article87 de la Loi relativement à une demande de M.Jan Szarycz concernant le régime de retraite des Employés de Commerce du Canada, numéro d’enregistrement 0580431.

 

 

À :                  

M. Jan Szarycz
3488 Fieldgate Dr.
Mississauga (Ontario)
L4X 2J5

 

Demandeur

 

 

ET À :          

Régime de retraite des employés de commerce du Canada
61, boul. International, bureau 110
Toronto (Ontario)
M9W 6K4

           

À l’attention de :

Mme Carol Ann Power
Administratrice, bureau régional de Toronto

Employeur et administrateur

 

AVIS D’INTENTION

 

J’AI L’INTENTION DE REFUSER DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE concernant le régime de retraite des employés de commerce du Canada (le «régime») enjoignant l’administrateur du régime de transférer la valeur de rachat des prestations de retraite de M.Szarycz dans un compte de retraite avec immobilisations des fonds (CRIF), un fonds de revenu viager (FRV) ou un fonds de revenu de retraite immobilisé (FERR) ou de verser à M.Szarycz la valeur de rachat de sa prestation de retraite, conformément aux articles 42, 50, 67 et 87 de la Loi.

 

 

 

MOTIFS:

 

  1. M. Szarycz est un ancien employé de Group 4 Falck (Canada) Ltd.

  2. Group 4 Falck a cessé d’être un employeur participant en vertu du régime le 30septembre 2004.  

  3. Le paragraphe42(1) de la Loi stipule qu’un participant à un régime qui, le 1erjanvier 1988 ou par la suite, met fin à son emploi et qui a droit à une pension différée a le droit d’exiger que l’administrateur paie un montant égal à la valeur de rachat de la pension différée à la caisse de retraite d’un autre régime de retraite, dans un arrangement d’épargne-retraite prescrit ou pour la constitution d’une rente viagère. Cependant, le paragraphe 42(3) de la Loi prévoit que le paragraphe 42(1) de la Loi ne s’applique pas à un ancien participant dont l’emploi prend fin et qui a droit à un paiement immédiat d’une prestation de retraite aux termes du régime de retraite, à moins que le régime de retraite ne prévoie un tel droit.   

  4. L’article8.05 du régime prévoit le paiement d’une rente mensuelle immédiate si le participant est âgé d’au moins 50ans. Le plan n’autorise aucune autre option de transfert. M. Szarycz avait plus de 50ans l’année où il a mis fin à son emploi. Par conséquent, il n’a pas droit aux options de transfert prévues au paragraphe42(1) de la Loi.

  5. Le paragraphe50(1) de la Loi stipule qu’un régime de retraite peut prévoir le paiement, à un ancien participant, de la valeur de rachat d’une prestation si la prestation annuelle payable à la date normale de la retraite ne dépasse pas 2pour cent du maximum des gains annuels ouvrant droit à pension (MGAP), tel qu’il est défini en vertu du Régime de pensions du Canada, dans l’année au cours de laquelle l’ancien participant a mis fin à son emploi. Le MGAP de M. Szarycz en 2006 était de 42100$; 2 pour cent de 42100$ font 842$ annuellement et 70,17$ mensuellement. La prestation de retraite mensuelle de M. Szarycz est de 72,27$, montant qui est supérieur au plafond de 2pour cent de 70,17$. Par conséquent, M. Szarycz n’a pas droit au paiement de la valeur de rachat de la prestation de retraite en vertu du paragraphe50(1) de la Loi.  

  6. Le paragraphe67(5) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant des services financiers peut consentir au rachat ou à la cession, en totalité ou en partie, d’un arrangement d’épargne-retraite prescrit s’il est convaincu de l’existence des difficultés financières prescrites. L’article84 du Règlement909, R.R.O. 1990 prévoit que les arrangements d’épargne-retraite prescrits suivants sont prescrits pour l’application du paragraphe67(5): 1. Les fonds de revenu viager. 2. Les comptes de retraite avec immobilisation des fonds. 3. Les fonds de revenu de retraite immobilisé. Dans la présente affaire, le surintendant ne peut consentir au rachat de la prestation de retraite de M. Szarycz parce que les sommes sont immobilisées dans le régime de retraite et n’ont pas été transférées dans un fonds de revenu viager, un compte de retraite avec immobilisations des fonds ou un fonds de revenu de retraite immobilisé. Par conséquent, le surintendant ne peut consentir au rachat de la prestation de retraite de M. Szarycz en raison de difficultés financières.

  7. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

 

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

 

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

 

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

 

À l’attention du greffier

 

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1800668-0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

 

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI DONNER SUITE À L’INTENTION DE REFUSER ÉNONCÉE AUX PRÉSENTES.

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 18 avril 2007.    

 

 

___________________________ 
K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

 

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.