Pension Plan for the Hourly Employees of Canron Construction Inc. - January 27, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “Act”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Wind up Report prepared and filed by Eckler Partners Ltd. on behalf of Canron Construction Limited dated June 3, 2004, with respect to the wind up of the Pension Plan For the Hourly Employees of Canron Construction Inc Registration No. 1044288 (the “Plan”) effective December 31, 2003.

TO:

Canron Construction Inc.
100 Disco Road,
Rexdale ON M9W 1M1


Attention:

J.S. (Paul) Kandola
Vice President and General Manager

Employer and Administrator of the Plan

AND TO:

Eckler Partners Ltd.
110 Shepard Avenue East, Suite 900
Toronto ON M2N 7A3

Attention:

George Mitchell

Plan Actuaries

AND TO:

Iain G. Potter
300 Mill Road
Unit E24
Etobicoke ON M9C 4W7

President, The Employees Association of Canron Inc.

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO ORDER Canron Construction Inc. to file a revised wind up report under clause 88(2)(c)of the Act within 30 days of the date of this Notice of Proposal, with respect to the wind up of the Plan and the wind up report filed on June 9, 2004. The revised wind up report shall include the provision for the payment of benefits under clause 8.02(d) of the Plan (the “bridge benefits”) for all plan members affected by the wind up who had a combination of age plus years of service totalling 85, or if they had age plus years of service totalling 55, would have grown into age plus years of service totalling 85 at retirement.

REASONS FOR THE PROPOSED ORDER:

  1. The Plan was wound up effective December 31, 2003. A wind up report was filed with the Superintendent on June 9, 2004. The initial report identified the bridge benefit payable under clause 8.02(d) of the Plan and quantified the liability associated with the bridge benefit as being $296,000. However, it did not include the bridge benefit as a plan liability on the basis that the members who were entitled to the bridge benefit had accepted a severance package, terminating their employment, and the bridge benefit was only available on retirement.

  2. Subsection 74(3) of the Act provides that bridging benefits offered under the pension plan to which a member would be entitled if the pension plan were not wound up and if the membership of the member were continued shall be included in calculating the pension benefit under subsection 74(1) of a person who has at least ten years of continuous employment with the employer or has been a member of the pension plan for at least ten years.

  3. The members entitled to the bridge benefits in question had their membership in the plan terminated as a result of the wind up of the plan. The decision to wind up the plan was due to a decision of the employer to cease operation at its Rexdale facility and terminate all hourly employees effective December 31, 2003. The wind up report has reflected this by calculating other benefits for these members in accordance with clause 8.02, the early retirement benefit provisions of the Plan, instead of the termination of membership provisions in clause 12.

  4. Accordingly, subsection 74(3) applies for the purposes of determining benefits on plan wind up. The members in question would have become entitled to the bridge benefit had the plan not been wound up and, therefore, must be provided with the bridge benefits upon wind up.

  5. Such further reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to s. 89(6) of the Act. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.


YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE
must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
North York ON M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

For further information, contact the registrar of the Tribunal by phone at
416-226-7752, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY MAKE THE ORDER AS PROPOSED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 27th day of January, 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions


Copy: Priscilla H. Healy
Pallett Valo LLP

 

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés horaires de Canron Construction Inc. - le 27 janvier 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE d’un rapport de liquidation rédigé et déposé par Eckler Partners Ltd. au nom de Canron Construction Limited en date du 3 juin 2004 concernant la liquidation du régime de retraite des employés horaires de Canron Construction Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 1044288 (le « régime ») à compter du 31 décembre 2003.

À :

Canron Construction Inc.
100 Disco Road
Rexdale (Ontario) M9W 1M1

À l’attention de :

J.S. (Paul) Kandola
Vice-président et directeur général

Employeur et administrateur du régime

ET À :

Eckler Partners Ltd.
110, avenue Sheppard Est, bureau 900
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 7A3

À l’attention de :

George Mitchell

Actuaires du régime

ET À :

Iain G. Potter
300 Mill Road
Unité E24
Etobicoke (Ontario) M9C 4W7

Président de l’association des employés de Canron Inc.

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE exigeant que Canron Construction Inc. dépose un rapport de liquidation révisé en vertu de l’alinéa 88 (2) c) de la Loi, dans les 30 jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, concernant la liquidation du régime et le rapport de liquidation déposé le 9 juin 2004. Le rapport de liquidation révisé doit prévoir une disposition concernant le paiement des prestations en vertu de la disposition 8.02 (d) du régime (les « prestations de raccordement ») à tous les participants au régime touchés par la liquidation dont la somme de l’âge et des années d’emploi était égale à 85, ou dont la somme de l’âge et des années d’emploi était de 55, mais qui auraient obtenu un total de 85 à leur retraite.

MOTIFS D’ORDONNANCE PROPOSÉE :

  1. Le régime a été liquidé le 31 décembre 2003. Un rapport de liquidation a été déposé auprès du surintendant le 9 juin 2004. Le rapport initial définissait des prestations de raccordement pouvant être versées en vertu de la disposition 8.02 (d) du régime et chiffrait le passif associé aux prestations de raccordement à 296 000 $. Il n’incluait toutefois pas les prestations de raccordement dans le passif du régime en raison du fait que les participants qui avaient droit aux prestations de raccordement avaient accepté des prestations de départ à leur licenciement et que les prestations de raccordement ne pouvaient être offertes qu’à la retraite.

  2. Le paragraphe 74 (3) de la Loi stipule que les prestations de raccordement offertes aux termes du régime de retraite auxquelles un participant aurait droit si le régime de retraite n’était pas liquidé et que l’affiliation du participant continuait, doivent être incluses dans le calcul des prestations de retraite prévues au paragraphe 74 (1) dans le cas d’une personne qui a accumulé au moins dix années d’emploi continu chez l’employeur ou qui participe au régime de retraite depuis au moins dix ans.

  3. Les participants qui avaient droit aux prestations de raccordement en question ont vu leur participation au régime de retraite prendre fin par suite de la liquidation du régime. La décision de liquider le régime résulte d’une décision de l’employeur de cesser ses activités dans son installation de Rexdale et de mettre à pied tous les employés horaires le 31 décembre 2003. Le rapport de liquidation tenait compte de cette décision en calculant les autres prestations auxquelles avaient droit ces participants conformément à la disposition 8.02, qui prévoit toutes les dispositions concernant les prestations de retraite anticipée du régime, plutôt qu’à la disposition 12 qui porte sur la fin d’une affiliation.

  4. Par conséquent, le paragraphe 74 (3) s’applique dans le cadre de la détermination des prestations à la liquidation d’un régime. Les participants en question auraient eu droit aux prestations de raccordement si le régime de retraite avait été liquidé et, par conséquent, ces prestations doivent leur être versées à la liquidation du régime.

  5. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers
(le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience. *

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 27 janvier 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

c.c. Priscilla H. Healy
Pallett Valo, s.r.l.



*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.