Pension Plan for Employees of Compass Group of Canada - February 27, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the Act);

AND IN THE MATTER of a Proposal by the Superintendent of Financial Services to make an Order under subsection 78(4) of the Act consenting to a payment out of the Pension Plan for Employees of Compass Group of Canada (Beaver) Ltd. (the Plan), Registration Number 567354.

TO:

Mr. Bruce Tavender, CA
Vice President, Finance
Compass Group Canada (Beaver) Ltd.
493 Dundas Street
London ON N6B 1W4


NOTICE OF PROPOSAL


I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER under s. 78(4) of the Act, consenting to the payment, out of the Pension Plan for Employees of Compass Group of Canada (Beaver) Ltd., to Compass Group Canada (Beaver) Ltd., as at September 29, 2005, and October 31, 2005, in the amount of $741,492 at each date plus interest to the date of payment for the following reason and such further reasons that may come to my attention:

  1. Compass Group Canada (Beaver) Ltd. is the employer as defined in the Plan.

  2. As a result of a misinterpretation of the minimum amount of monthly special payments, contributions as set out in the December 1, 2004, actuarial valuation report were remitted incorrectly. Instead of remitting the monthly amount, the annual amount of special payments was remitted twice (once for August contributions and once for September contributions).

  3. Evidence of the overpayment to the fund has been submitted to the Financial Services Commission of Ontario.

  4. The application appears to comply with section 78(4) of the Act.

 

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the Act if, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you, you deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing.

Your written notice requiring a hearing must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
14th Floor, 5160 Yonge Street
North York ON M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

IF YOU DO NOT DELIVER TO THE TRIBUNAL, WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL IS SERVED ON YOU, A WRITTEN NOTICE THAT YOU REQUIRE A HEARING, I MAY MAKE THE ORDER PROPOSED HEREIN.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 27th day of February, 2006

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés du Groupe Compass Canada (Beaver) Ltée -  le 27 février 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi en vue de consentir à un paiement à même le régime de retraite des employés du Groupe Compass Canada (Beaver) Ltée (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 567354.

À :

M. Bruce Tavender, CA
Vice-président, finances
Groupe Compass Canada (Beaver) Ltée
493, rue Dundas
London (Ontario) N6B 1W4

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE
en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi en vue de consentir au versement, à même le régime de retraite des employés du Groupe Compass Canada (Beaver) Ltée, au profit du Groupe Compass Canada (Beaver) Ltée, en date du 29 septembre 2005 et du 31 octobre 2005, du montant de 741 492 $ à chaque date, majoré des intérêts jusqu’aux dates de paiement, pour les motifs suivants et tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention :

  1. Le Groupe Compass Canada (Beaver) Ltée est l’employeur aux termes du régime.

  2. Par suite d’une interprétation fautive du montant minimal des paiements spéciaux mensuels, les cotisations, énoncées dans le rapport d’évaluation actuarielle daté du 1er décembre 2004 ont été versées de façon erronée. Au lieu du montant mensuel, le montant annuel des versements spéciaux a été versé deux fois (une fois pour les cotisations d’août et une fois pour les cotisations de septembre).

  3. Des preuves du versement excédentaire au fonds ont été soumises à la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario.

  4. La demande semble conforme au paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

Votre avis de demande d’audience doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 27 février 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.