Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc. - July 4, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the Act);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal by the Superintendent of Financial Services to make an Order under subsection 78(1) of the Act consenting to a payment out of the Pension Plan for the Employees of Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc., Registration No. 1063734.

 

TO:

Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc.
39 Antares Drive
Nepean, ON K2E 7Z1

Attention: Ann Cross
                 President

Applicant and Employer


NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER under s. 78(1) of the Act, consenting to the payment, out of the Pension Plan for the Employees of Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc., Registration No.1063734 (the Plan), to Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc. in the amount of $37,260.19 as at May 25, 2002, plus adjustments.

I PROPOSE TO MAKE THIS ORDER FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS:

  1. Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc. is the employer as defined in the Plan (the Employer)
  2. The Plan was wound up, effective May 25, 2002
  3. As at May 25, 2002 the surplus in the Plan was estimated at $37,260.19
  4. The Plan provides for payment of surplus to the Employer on the wind up of the Plan.
  5. The application discloses that by written agreement made by the Employer; 73.1% of the members, and 66.6% of the former members that the surplus in the Plan at the date of payment, after deduction of wind up expenses is to be distributed 100% to the Employer.
  6. The Employer has applied, pursuant to section 78 of the Act, and clause 8(1)(b) of the Regulation, for consent of the Superintendent of Financial Services to the payment of 100% of the surplus in the Plan (after adding investment earnings and deducting the expenses related to the wind up of the Plan.)
  7. The application appears to comply with section 78 and subsection 79(3) of the Act and with clause 8(1)(b) and subsections 28(5.1) and 28(6) of the Regulation.
  8. Such further and other reasons as come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the Act if, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you, you deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing.*

Your written notice requiring a hearing must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
14th Floor, 5160 Yonge Street
Toronto ON M2N 6L9

Attn: The Registrar

IF YOU DO NOT DELIVER TO THE TRIBUNAL, WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL IS SERVED ON YOU, A WRITTEN NOTICE THAT YOU REQUIRE A HEARING, I MAY MAKE THE ORDER PROPOSED HEREIN.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 4th day of July, 2006

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc. - 4 juillet 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi en vue de consentir à un paiement à même le régime de retraite des employés de Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 1063734.

À :

Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc.
39 Antares Drive
Nepean (Ontario) K2E 7Z1

À l’attention de : Ann Cross
                            Présidente

       Demandeur et employeur

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE en vertu du paragraphe 78 (1) de la Loi en vue de consentir au versement, à même le régime de retraite des employés de Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 1063734 (le « régime »), au profit de Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc., d’un montant de 37 260,19 $ en date du 25 mai 2002, majoré des rajustements.

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE CETTE ORDONNANCE POUR LES MOTIFS SUIVANTS:

  1. Cross & Associates Manufacturing Inc. est l’employeur aux termes du régime (l’« employeur »).
  2. Le régime a été liquidé en date du 25 mai 2002.
  3. Au 25 mai 2002, l’excédent du régime était évalué à 37 260,19 $.
  4. Le régime prévoit le versement de l’excédent à l’employeur à la liquidation du régime.
  5. La demande révèle que sur consentement écrit de l’employeur, de 73,1 % des participants et de 66,6 % des anciens participants, l’excédent du régime à la date du paiement, après déduction des dépenses liées à la liquidation, doit être versé en totalité à l’employeur.
  6. L’employeur a demandé, en vertu de l’article 78 de la Loi et de l’alinéa 8 (1) b) du Règlement, que le surintendant des services financiers consente au paiement de la totalité de l’excédent du régime (majoré des revenus de placement et minoré des dépenses liées à la liquidation du régime).
  7. La demande semble conforme à l’article 78 et au paragraphe 79 (3) de la Loi, de même qu’à l’alinéa 8 (1) b) et aux paragraphes 28 (5.1) et 28 (6) du Règlement.
  8. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

Votre avis de demande d’audience doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.


FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 4 juillet 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.