Pension Plan for Non-Union Employees of General Mills Canada Corporation - March 8, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the Act);

AND IN THE MATTER of a Proposal by the Superintendent of Financial Services to make an Order under subsection 78(4) of the Act consenting to a payment out of the Pension Plan for Non-Union Employees of General Mills Canada Corporation (the Plan), Registration Number 0291500.

TO:

Ms. Nancy Wood
Human Resources Manager
General Mills Canada Corporation
5825 Explorer Drive
Mississauga ON L4W 5P6

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL


I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER under s. 78(4) of the Act, consenting to the payment, out of the Plan, to General Mills Canada Corporation, as at July 28, 2003 in the amount of $115,963.15 plus interest to the date of payment for the following reasons and such further reasons that may come to my attention:

  1. General Mills Canada Corporation is the employer as defined in the Plan.

  2. As a result of an administrative error, a contribution of $115,963.15 was made to the Plan as at July 28, 2003 that should have been made to the Pension Plan for Midland Union Employees of General Mills Canada Corporation, Registration No. 0574491.

  3. Evidence of the overpayment to the fund has been submitted to the Financial Services Commission of Ontario.

  4. There were no member submissions made about the repayment.

  5. The application appears to comply with section 78(4) of the Act.

In accordance with subsection 105(1) of the Act, an extension of the time limit under subsection 78(4) has been given.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the Act if, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you, you deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing.

Your written notice requiring a hearing must be delivered to:
Financial Services Tribunal
14th Floor, 5160 Yonge Street
North York ON M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

IF YOU DO NOT DELIVER TO THE TRIBUNAL, WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL IS SERVED ON YOU, A WRITTEN NOTICE THAT YOU REQUIRE A HEARING, I MAY MAKE THE ORDER PROPOSED HEREIN.


DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 8th day of March 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés non syndiqués de la Corporation General Mills Canada - le 8 mars 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi en vue de consentir à un paiement à même le régime de retraite des employés non syndiqués de la Corporation General Mills Canada (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 0291500.

À :

Mme Nancy Wood
Directrice des ressources humaines
Corporation General Mills Canada
5825 Explorer Drive
Mississauga (Ontario) L4W 5P6

AVIS D’INTENTION


J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi en vue de consentir au versement, à même le régime de retraite, au profit de la Corporation General Mills Canada, d’un montant de 115 963,15 $ en date du 28 juillet 2003, majoré des intérêts jusqu’à la date de paiement, pour les motifs suivants et tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention :

  1. La Corporation General Mills Canada est l’employeur aux termes du régime.

  2. En raison d’une erreur administrative, des cotisations d’un montant de 115 963,15 $ ont été versées au régime en date du 28 juillet 2003, alors qu’elles auraient dû être versées au régime de retraite de la Corporation General Mills Canada pour les employés syndiqués de Midland, numéro d’enregistrement 0574491.

  3. Des preuves du versement excédentaire au fonds ont été soumises à la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario.

  4. Aucun argument n’a été présenté par les participants relativement au remboursement.

  5. La demande semble conforme au paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi.

En vertu du paragraphe 105 (1) de la Loi, le surintendant des services financiers a prorogé le délai prévu au paragraphe 78 (4).


VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers
(le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

Votre avis de demande d’audience doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 8 mars 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.