I.B.E.W. Local 353 - August 10, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”)

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make an Order under section 88 of the PBA that new actuarial reports as at December 31, 2002, December 31, 2003 and December 31, 2004 be prepared and filed in respect of the I.B.E.W. Local 353 Pension Plan, Registration Number 0598235

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make and Order under section 88 of the PBA.

TO:

I.B.E.W. 353 Trust Fund
c/o T.E.I.B.A.S. Ltd.
7626 Yonge Street
Thornhill ON L4J 1V9

Attention:

Roberto Tomassini
Interim Executive Administrator
Administrator

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER pursuant to section 88 of the PBA, that the Administrator prepare and file new actuarial valuation reports as at December 31, 2002, December 31, 2003, and December 31, 2004 in respect of the I.B.E.W. Local 353 Pension Plan, Registration No. 0598235, (the “Plan”), that complies with sections 6, 14, 16, and 17 of Regulation 909, R.R.O. 1990, as amended (the “Regulation”), and which specifically includes either,

(1) the results of such tests performed on both a going concern and solvency basis as will demonstrate the sufficiency of the contributions required by the collective agreement or agreements to provide for benefits set out in the Plan without consideration of any provision for reduction of benefits set out in the Plan; or

(2) where the contributions are not sufficient to provide the benefits under the Plan as determined on both a going concern and solvency basis, a proposal by the actuary of options available to the administrator of the Plan that will have the result that the required contributions will be sufficient to provide the benefits under the Plan on both a going concern and solvency basis.

REASONS:

  1. The Plan is a multi-employer pension plan (“MEPP”) that provides defined benefits. It was established pursuant to a collective agreement or trust agreement.

  2. Section 14 of the Regulation requires the administrator of a pension plan, including MEPPs, to file with the Superintendent of Financial Services, a report prepared by an actuary containing an actuarial valuation of the pension plan. Section 14(8) of the Regulation requires that such a report set out “on the basis of a solvency valuation” whether there is a solvency deficiency and, if there is a solvency deficiency, the amount of the solvency deficiency and the special payments required to liquidate it, whether the transfer ratio is less than one and if the transfer ratio is less than one, the transfer ratio.

  3. Section 17(1) of the Regulation states that to determine the existence of a solvency deficiency for the purposes of a report under section 14, “a valuation shall be performed by the person preparing the report to determine the solvency liabilities of the plan and the solvency assets of the plan.” Section 17(2) of the Regulation states that “[i]n determining the solvency liabilities for a multi-employer pension plan established pursuant to one or more collective agreements or a trust agreement...the solvency liabilities shall be determined on the basis of the benefits structure set out in the plan at the date of the valuation without consideration of any provision for the possible reduction of such benefits.”

  4. Section 16 of the Regulation states that an actuary preparing the report under section 14 “shall use methods and actuarial assumptions that are consistent with accepted actuarial practice and with the requirements of” the PBA and Regulation.

  5. Section 6(4) of the Regulation requires the actuary, as a part of the report required under section 14 prepared in respect of a MEPP established pursuant to a collective agreement or a trust agreement, to do the following:

    1. perform such tests as will demonstrate the sufficiency of the contributions required by the collective agreement or agreements to provide for the benefits set out in the plan without consideration of any provision for reduction of benefits set out in the plan; or

    2. where the contributions are not sufficient to provide the benefits under the plan, propose options available to the administrator of the plan that will have the result that the required contributions will be sufficient to provide the benefits under the plan.

  6. The PBA and Regulation require that an actuary consider the solvency position of the Plan in performing the tests referred to in section 6(4)(a) of the Regulation because the Regulation clearly requires the actuary to perform a valuation of a plan (including a MEPP) on a solvency basis.

The 2002 Report

  1. On February 20, 2004, an Actuarial Report to the Board of Trustees on the I.B.E.W. Local 353 Pension Plan as at December 31, 2002 (the “2002 Report”) was filed with the Superintendent as required under section 14 of the Regulation.

  2. Page 5 of the 2002 Report shows that the Plan had an unfunded actuarial liability of $24,307,000 as at December 31, 2002. Current service costs plus expenses for the year commencing January 1, 2003 were estimated to be 82.1% of the projected employer contributions of $35,542,000 for 2003, i.e. $29,196,000. According to the actuary, “[t]he unfunded liability can be amortized over a period not exceeding 15 years...[through] special payments of $2,542,000 per annum” (Page 5 of the 2002 Report). In the actuary’s opinion, the “annual Plan contributions will be sufficient to meet the estimated cost of all benefits and the going concern special payment” (Page 9 of the 2002 Report). On page 10 of the 2002 Report, the actuary states that “[t]he contribution requirements outlined in the previous section [of the 2002 Report] do not make provision to liquidate the solvency deficiency.”

  3. The 2002 Report states at page 8 that the Plan has a solvency deficiency of $ 83,546,000 as of the valuation date and a transfer ratio of 84.3%.

  4. The Report to the Board of Trustees of the I.B.E.W. Local 353 Pension Plan on the Projection of the Pension Plan’s Assets and Liabilities (the “Supplemental Report”) was attached as a supplementary report to be considered as part of the 2002 Report. The purpose of the Supplemental Report as stated on page 1 was to satisfy the regulatory requirements “to certify to the sufficiency of the contributions into the Plan to support the Plan’s liabilities”...based on long term testing.

  5. The 2002 Report and Supplemental Report do not comply with section 6(4) of the Regulation. The 2002 Report and the long range test results contained in the Supplementary Report do not demonstrate that contributions to the Plan are sufficient to amortize the solvency deficiency over a reasonable period. Nor does the actuary in the 2002 Report and Supplemental Report “propose options available to the administrator of the plan that will have the result that the required contributions will be sufficient to provide the benefits under the plan.”

The 2003 Report

  1. 12. An Actuarial Report to the Board of Trustees on the I.B.E.W. Local 353 Pension Plan as at December 31, 2003 (the “2003 Report”) was filed with the Superintendent as required under section 14 of the Regulation on November 19, 2004.

  2. According to page 5 of the 2003 Report, the Plan had an unfunded actuarial liability of $46,399,000 as at December 31, 2003. The estimated current service cost plus expenses of $31,166,000 represent 82.0% of the projected employer contributions of $38,008,000 for 2004. The total amount required to fund the unfunded liability as at December 31, 2003 is $4,955,000. As indicated on page 9 of the 2003 Report, there are sufficient excess contributions to cover this amount.

  3. Page 7 and 8 of the 2003 Report indicate that the Plan had a solvency deficiency of $74,292,000 and a transfer ratio of 86.1% as at December 31, 2003. The 2003 Report expressly indicates on page 9 that the analysis in the 2003 Report relating to the sufficiency of the contributions “makes no provision to fund the solvency deficit.”

  4. Page 10 of the 2003 Report states that the Trustees of the Plan have advised that the probability of the Plan terminating within the next 15 years is less than 1%. Based on this assumption, the actuary states that the “expected wind-up deficit is less than $1,641,000 (i.e. 1% of $164,017,000), which could be funded by excess contributions of $164,000 per year for 15 years. The projected excess contributions are $1,609,000 per year.” Based on this analysis, the actuary expresses the opinion that the contributions meet the sufficiency test in section 6(4) of the Regulation.

  5. The actuary suggests that such a demonstration has been accepted by the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”) in the past to establish compliance with section 6(4). FSCO has not, in the past, accepted such a test as meeting the requirements of section 6(4) of the Regulation. This test based on the probability of the wind up of the Plan, in fact only demonstrates the sufficiency of the contributions to fund 1% of the wind up deficit or 2.2% of the solvency deficiency and, therefore, the actuary has failed to demonstrate the sufficiency of contributions on a solvency basis. Also, the actuary has not proposed “options available to the administrator of the plan that will have the result that the required contributions will be sufficient to provide the benefits under the plan.” The Plan has failed to meet the requirements of Section 6(4) of the Regulation.

The 2004 Report

  1. On October 12, 2005, an Actuarial Report to the Board of Trustees on the IBEW Local 353 Pension Plan as at December 31, 2004 (the “2004 Report”) was filed with the Superintendent as required under section 14 of the Regulation.

  2. The Plan had an unfunded actuarial liability of $55,808,000 as at the valuation date. At pages 10 and 11, the 2004 Report states the contributions are sufficient to cover the “estimated cost of benefits, plus the provision for administrative and investment related expenses” and to eliminate the unfunded actuarial liability in about 11 years.

  3. Page 8 of the 2004 Report states that the Plan had a solvency deficiency of $129,168,000 as of the valuation date.

  4. Page 11 of the 2004 Report states that the Trustees of the Plan have advised that the probability of the Plan being terminated within the next 15 years is less than 1%. Based on this assumption the actuary states on page 12 that the “expected wind-up deficit is less than $2,058,200 (i.e. 1 % of $205,820,000). The excess contributions are sufficient to fund a shortfall of $73,200,000 over a period of 15 years.” Based on this analysis, the actuary is of the opinion that the contributions are sufficient to meet the test in section 6(4) of the Regulation.

  5. The actuary suggests that these statements on pages 11 and 12 of the 2004 Report demonstrate the sufficiency of contributions as required under section 6 of the Regulation. FSCO does not accept this proposed test of contribution sufficiency. This test demonstrated only that the contributions are sufficient to fund “the expected wind-up deficit, where the expected wind-up deficit is determined as the wind-up deficit on the valuation date multiplied by the probability of Plan termination” and therefore, the actuary has failed to demonstrate the sufficiency of contributions on a solvency basis. In addition, FSCO does not accept the reasonableness of the assumption relating to the probability of wind-up used in the test. Also, the actuary has not proposed “options available to the administrator of the plan that will have the result that the required contributions will be sufficient to provide the benefits under the plan. The Plan has failed to meet the requirements of section 6(4) of the Regulation.

  6. Under section 88 of the PBA, the Superintendent may make an order requiring the preparation of a new report and specifying the assumptions or methods or both that shall be used in the preparation of a new report where the Superintendent is of the opinion that a report submitted in respect of a pension plan does not meet the requirements and qualifications of the PBA, Regulation or pension plan. For the reasons set out above, the 2002 Report and Supplemental Report, the 2003 Report and the 2004 Report do not meet the requirements of the PBA or the Regulation.

  7. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 10th day of August , 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

Copy:

TO:

Eckler Partners Ltd
110 Sheppard Avenue East, Suite 900
Toronto, ON M2N 7A3

Attention: D. Cameron Hunter, F.S.A., F.C.I.A., C.I.M.A.
                 Actuary

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

FIOE Local 353 - 10 aout, 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu de l’article 88 de la Loi exigeant que soient rédigés et déposés de nouveaux rapports d’évaluation actuarielle en date du 31 décembre 2002, du 31 décembre 2003 et du 31 décembre 2004, relativement au régime de retraite de la FIOE section locale 353, numéro d’enregistrement 0598235;

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu de l’article 88 de la Loi.

À :

Fonds en fiducie de la FIOE, section locale 353
A/s de T.E.I.B.A.S. Ltd.
7626, rue Yonge
Thornhill (Ontario) L4J 1V9

À l’attention de : Roberto Tomassini
Administrateur exécutif intérimaire
Administrateur

C.C :

Eckler Partners Ltd.
110, avenue Sheppard Est, bureau 900
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 7A3

À l’attention de : D. Cameron Hunter, FSA, FCIA, CIMA
Actuaire

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE
en vertu de l’article 88 de la Loi exigeant que l’administrateur du régime rédige et dépose de nouveaux rapports d’évaluation actuarielle en date du 31 décembre 2002, du 31 décembre 2003 et du 31 décembre 2004 relativement au régime de retraite de la FIOE, section locale 353, numéro d’enregistrement 0598235 (le « régime »), qui soient conforme aux articles 6, 14, 16 et 17 du Règlement 909, R.R.O. 1990 modifié (le « Règlement ») et qui comprennent expressément :

  1. soit les résultats d’analyses exécutées dans le cadre d’une évaluation à long terme et d’une évaluation de la solvabilité qui montreront que les cotisations obligatoires exigées par la ou les conventions collectives sont suffisantes pour fournir les prestations prévues par le régime, sans tenir compte des dispositions du régime relatives à la réduction des prestations;
  2. soit les solutions possibles proposées par l’actuaire à l’administrateur du régime qui feront que les cotisations obligatoires seront suffisantes pour fournir les prestations prévues par le régime dans le cadre d’une évaluation à long terme ou d’une évaluation de la solvabilité lorsqu’il est démontré qu’elles ne le sont pas.

MOTIFS :

  1. Le régime est un régime interentreprises qui prévoit des prestations déterminées. Il a été établi conformément à une convention collective ou à un contrat de fiducie.

  2. L’article 14 du Règlement exige que l’administrateur d’un régime de retraite, notamment d’un régime interentreprises, dépose auprès du surintendant des services financiers un rapport préparé par un actuaire contenant une évaluation actuarielle du régime de retraite. Le paragraphe 14 (8) du Règlement stipule qu’un tel rapport doit « d’après une évaluation de solvabilité » préciser entre autres choses la question de savoir s’il existe un déficit de solvabilité et, dans l’affirmative, son montant et celui des paiements spéciaux nécessaires pour l’acquitter, ainsi que la question de savoir si le ratio de transfert est inférieur à un et, dans l’affirmative, à combien il se situe.

  3. Le paragraphe 17 (1) du Règlement stipule que pour déterminer l’existence d’un déficit de solvabilité aux fins d’un rapport prévu à l’article 14, « la personne qui prépare le rapport effectue une évaluation pour déterminer le passif de solvabilité et l’actif de solvabilité du régime ». Le paragraphe 17 (2) du Règlement stipule que « lors de la détermination du passif de solvabilité d’un régime interentreprises qui est établi conformément à une ou à plusieurs conventions collectives ou à un contrat de fiducie [...], le passif de solvabilité est déterminé suivant la structure des prestations énoncée dans le régime à la date d’évaluation, sans tenir compte des dispositions relatives à la possibilité de réduction de ces prestations ».

  4. L’article 16 du Règlement stipule qu’un actuaire qui prépare un rapport prévu à l’article 14 doit utiliser « des hypothèses actuarielles et des méthodes compatibles avec les normes actuarielles reconnues ainsi qu’avec les exigences » de la Loi et du Règlement.

  5. Aux termes du paragraphe 6 (4) du Règlement, l’actuaire est tenu, dans le cadre du rapport exigé par l’article 14 préparé à l’égard d’un régime interentreprises établi conformément à une convention collective ou à un contrat de fiducie, de faire ce qui suit :a) exécuter les analyses qui montreront que les cotisations obligatoires exigées par la ou les conventions collectives sont suffisantes pour fournir les prestations prévues par le régime, sans tenir compte de dispositions du régime relatives à la réduction des prestations;b) lorsque les cotisations ne sont pas suffisantes pour fournir les prestations prévues par le régime, proposer à l’administrateur du régime des solutions possibles qui feront que les cotisations obligatoires seront suffisantes pour fournir ces prestations.

  6. La Loi et le Règlement exigent qu’un actuaire examine la solvabilité du régime lorsqu’il exécute les analyses dont il est fait mention à l’alinéa 6 (4) a) du Règlement, car le Règlement stipule clairement que l’actuaire est tenu d’effectuer une évaluation d’un régime (notamment d’un régime interentreprises) selon une méthode de solvabilité.
Le rapport de 2002
  1. Le 20 février 2004, un rapport actuariel destiné au conseil d’administration du régime de retraite de la FIOE, section locale 353, en date du 31 décembre 2002 (le « rapport de 2002 ») a été déposé auprès du surintendant, comme l’exige l’article 14 du Règlement.

  2. La page 5 du rapport de 2002 indique que le régime affiche un passif actuariel non capitalisé de 24 307 000 $ en date du 31 décembre 2002. Les coûts de service courants et les dépenses de l’exercice commençant le 1er janvier 2003 sont estimés à 82,1 % des cotisations projetées de l’employeur de 35 542 000 $ pour 2003, soit 29 196 000 $. Selon l’actuaire, « le passif non capitalisé peut être amorti sur une période ne dépassant pas 15 années [...] [au moyen de] paiements spéciaux de 2 542 000 $ par année » [Traduction] (page 5 du rapport de 2002). D’après l’actuaire, les « cotisations annuelles au régime suffiront pour assumer le coût estimatif de toutes les prestations et du paiement spécial à long terme » [Traduction] (page 9 du rapport de 2002). À la page 10 du rapport de 2002, l’actuaire déclare que « les exigences en matière de cotisation soulignées à la section précédente [du rapport de 2002] ne seront pas suffisantes pour liquider le déficit de solvabilité » [Traduction].

  3. Le rapport présenté de 2002 révèle à la page 8 que le régime accuse un déficit de solvabilité de 83 546 000 $ à la date de l’évaluation et un ratio de transfert de 84,5 %.

  4. Le rapport présenté au conseil d’administration du régime de retraite de la FIOE, section locale 353 sur la projection de l’actif et du passif du régime de retraite (le « rapport supplémentaire ») était joint à titre de rapport supplémentaire à considérer comme faisant partie du rapport de 2002. Le but du rapport supplémentaire, tel qu’il est énoncé à la page 1, est de satisfaire aux exigences réglementaires qui consistent à « garantir que les cotisations versées au régime sont suffisantes pour payer le passif du régime » en fonction de l’analyse à long terme.

  5. Le rapport de 2002 et le rapport supplémentaire ne sont pas conformes au paragraphe 6 (4) du Règlement. Le rapport de 2002 et les résultats de l’analyse à long terme contenus dans le rapport supplémentaire ne démontrent pas que les cotisations versées au régime sont suffisantes pour amortir le déficit de solvabilité sur une période raisonnable. En outre, dans le rapport de 2002 et dans le rapport supplémentaire, l’actuaire ne propose pas « à l’administrateur du régime des solutions possibles qui feront que les cotisations obligatoires seront suffisantes pour fournir les prestations prévues par le régime ».

Le rapport de 2003
  1. Le 19 novembre 2004, un rapport actuariel destiné au conseil d’administration du régime de retraite de la FIOE, section locale 353 en date du 31 décembre 2003 (le « rapport de 2003 ») a été déposé auprès du surintendant, comme l’exige l’article 14 du Règlement.

  2. Selon la page 5 du rapport de 2003, le régime affiche un passif actuariel non capitalisé de 46 399 000 $ en date du 31 décembre 2003. Les coûts de service actuels et dépenses estimatifs des 31 166 000 $ représentent 82 % des cotisations projetées de l’employeur de 38 008 000 $ pour 2004. Le montant total nécessaire pour financer le passif non capitalisé en date du 31 décembre 2003 s’élève à 4 955 000 $. Comme l’indique la page 9 du rapport de 2003, les cotisations excédentaires sont suffisantes pour couvrir ce montant.

  3. Les pages 7 et 8 du rapport de 2003 indiquent que le régime accuse un déficit de solvabilité de 74 292 000 $ et un ratio de transfert de 86,1 % en date du 31 décembre 2003. Le rapport de 2003 démontre expressément à la page 9 que l’analyse du rapport de 2003 concernant le caractère suffisant des cotisations « ne prévoit aucune provision pour financer le déficit de solvabilité » [Traduction].

  4. La page 10 du rapport de 2003 révèle que les fiduciaires du régime ont indiqué que la probabilité de cessation du régime au cours des 15 prochaines années est inférieure à 1 %. Se fondant sur cette hypothèse, l’actuaire a déclaré que « le déficit de liquidation prévu est inférieur à 1 641 000 $ (soit 1 % de 164 017 000 $), et peut être financé par des cotisations excédentaires de 164 000 $ par année sur 15 ans. Les cotisations excédentaires prévues s’élèvent à 1 609 000 $ par année » [Traduction]. Fort de cette analyse, l’actuaire est d’avis que les cotisations satisfont aux critères sur le caractère suffisant prévues au paragraphe 6 (4) du Règlement.

  5. L’actuaire laisse entendre que pareille démonstration a été acceptée par le passé par la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (la « CSFO ») pour établir la conformité au paragraphe 6 (4). La CSFO n’a jamais déclaré qu’une telle analyse satisfait aux exigences du paragraphe 6 (4) du Règlement. Cette analyse fondée sur la probabilité de la liquidation du régime ne démontre en fait que le caractère suffisant des cotisations pour financer 1 % du déficit de liquidation ou 2,2 % du déficit de solvabilité et, par conséquent, l’actuaire n’a pas démontré le caractère suffisant des cotisations selon une méthode de solvabilité. En outre, l’actuaire n’a pas « proposé à l’administrateur du régime de solutions possibles qui feront que les cotisations obligatoires seront suffisantes pour fournir les prestations prévues par le régime ». Le régime ne satisfait pas aux exigences du paragraphe 6 (4) du Règlement.

Le rapport de 2004

  1. Le 12 octobre 2005, un rapport actuariel destiné au conseil d’administration du régime de retraite de la FIOE, section locale 353 en date du 31 décembre 2004 (le « rapport de 2004 ») a été déposé auprès du surintendant, comme l’exige l’article 14 du Règlement.

  2. Le régime affiche un passif actuariel non capitalisé de 55 808 000 $ à la date de l’évaluation, Les pages 10 et 11 du rapport de 2004 révèlent que les cotisations sont suffisantes pour couvrir le coût estimatif des prestations et les provisions pour dépenses administratives et liées aux investissements, de même que pour éliminer le passif actuariel non capitalisé sur une période d’environ 11 ans.

  3. La page 8 du rapport de 2004 indique que le régime accuse un déficit de solvabilité de 129 168 000 $ à la date de l’évaluation.

  4. La page 11 du rapport de 2004 révèle que les fiduciaires du régime ont indiqué que la probabilité de cessation du régime au cours des 15 prochaines années est inférieure à 1 %. Se fondant sur cette hypothèse, l’actuaire a déclaré à la page 12 que « le déficit de liquidation prévu est inférieur à 2 058 200 $ (soit 1 % de 205 820 000 $). Les cotisations excédentaires sont suffisantes pour financer un manque à gagner de 73 200 000 $ sur une période de 15 ans » [Traduction]. Fort de cette analyse, l’actuaire est d’avis que les cotisations satisfont aux critères sur le caractère suffisant prévues au paragraphe 6 (4) du Règlement.

  5. L’actuaire laisse entendre que les énoncés des pages 11 et 12 du rapport de 2004 démontrent le caractère suffisant des cotisations, comme l’exige l’article 6 du Règlement. La CSFO n’accepte pas l’analyse proposée du caractère suffisant des cotisations. Cette analyse démontre uniquement que les cotisations sont suffisantes pour financer « le déficit de liquidation prévu lorsque celui-ci est déterminé comme étant le déficit de liquidation à la date d’évaluation multiplié par le taux de probabilité de cessation du régime ». Par conséquent, l’actuaire n’a pas démontré le caractère suffisant des cotisations selon une méthode de solvabilité. En outre, la CSFO n’accepte pas le caractère raisonnable de l’hypothèse concernant la probabilité de liquidation utilisée dans l’analyse. Par ailleurs, l’actuaire n’a pas « proposé à l’administrateur du régime des solutions possibles qui feront que les cotisations obligatoires seront suffisantes pour fournir les prestations prévues par le régime ». Le régime ne satisfait pas aux exigences du paragraphe 6 (4) du Règlement.

  6. En vertu de l’article 88 de la Loi, le surintendant peut, par voie d’ordonnance, exiger la rédaction d’un nouveau rapport et préciser les hypothèses ou les méthodes, ou les deux, qui doivent être utilisées dans la préparation de ce rapport s’il est d’avis que le rapport présenté à l’égard d’un régime de retraite ne répond pas aux exigences et aux conditions de la Loi, du règlement ou du régime de retraite. Pour tous ces motifs, le rapport de 2002 et le rapport supplémentaire, le rapport de 2003 et le rapport de 2004 ne répondent pas aux exigences énoncées dans la Loi ou le Règlement.

  7. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience1.

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage

ne au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.


FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 10 août 2006.


K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.