Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism - April 13, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.P.8, as amended (the “PBA”)

 

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make an Order under sections 42 and 87 of the PBA in respect of  the Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism, Registration Number 0307645.

 

 

TO:                

JOINT RETIREMENT BOARD FOR CONSERVATIVE JUDAISM
One Penn Plaza
Suite 1515
New York, NY
U.S.A. 10119

 

Attention: 

Mitchell Smilowitz, Chief Operating Officer
Administrator of the Plan

 

 

AND TO:       

PAUL KOWARSKY
17 Tova Place
Thornhill, Ontario
L4J 8C4

 

 

                                               NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

 

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER under sections 42 and 87 of the PBA, to require the Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism (the “Board”) to transfer the sum of $118,382.13 plus interest from December 31, 2004, as well as interest on the sum of $276,224.96 from December 31, 2004 to January 1, 2007, to the Locked-In Retirement Account number 548352908 held with RBC Financial Group located at 1136 Centre Street, Thornhill, Ontario, in the name of Paul Kowarsky.

 

REASONS:

  1. The Board is the administrator of the Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism, Registration Number 0307645 (the “Plan”), which is a multi-employer pension plan.

  2. Paul Kowarsky (“Mr. Kowarsky”) is a former member of the Plan who was employed by Beth Tzedec Congregation (the “Employer”), a participating employer in the Plan.  At all material times, Mr. Kowarsky was employed in Ontario.

  3. Mr. Kowarsky terminated his employment with the Employer on or about May 1, 2001.   He was entitled to a deferred pension under the terms of the Plan at that time.

  4. The Plan states in section 3.1 that an Individual Account shall be maintained for each participant for deposits received on the participant’s behalf.

  5. Section 5.11 of the Plan states that each Participant is the sole and exclusive owner of his Individual Account.

  6. Mr. Kowarsky received a memorandum from the Employer on or about December 24, 2004 advising that he was required to transfer his account balance of approximately  $386,886.39 as at December 31, 2004, to a Canadian RRSP.

  7. Mr. Kowarsky advised the Employer to transfer his funds to his Canadian RRSP by letter dated August 16, 2005.

  8. On or about September 6, 2005 Mr. Kowarsky received a cheque in the amount of $276,224.96, and was advised that the remaining 30% of his Individual Account, or $118,382.13, had been transferred to the Internal Revenue Service, the U.S. taxation authority.

  9. Between September, 2005 and December, 2005 Mr. Kowarsky and his personal representative attempted to have the transaction reversed and his entire account balance transferred to his Canadian RRSP.

  10. On December 21, 2005 Mr. Kowarsky’s personal representative contacted the Financial Services Commission of Ontario for assistance.

  11. Mr. Kowarsky did not cash the cheque, it subsequently became stale dated, and he returned it to the Employer on January 4, 2007.

  12. On or about September 20, 2006, Mr. Kowarsky directed the administrator of the Plan to transfer the funds in his Individual Account in the Plan to his Registered Retirement Savings Plan number 548352897 (the “LIRA”) with the RBC Financial Group located at 1136 Centre Street, Thornhill, Ontario.

  13. The administrator of the Plan transferred the sum of $276,224.90 U.S. to the LIRA in January, 2007.  This represented 70% of Mr. Kowarsky’s Individual Account.

  14. The administrator of the Plan had no authority to transfer any funds from Mr. Kowarsky’s Individual Account to the U.S. taxation authority.  Mr. Kowarsky’s employment was entirely in Ontario, Canada during his participation in the Plan.

  15. Section 42 of the PBA states in part:

    42(1)  A former member of a pension plan who, on or after the 1st day of January, 1988, terminates employment or ceases to be a member of the pension plan and who is entitled to a deferred pension is entitled to require the administrator to pay an amount equal to the commuted value of the deferred pension,

     

    • into a prescribed retirement savings arrangement.
    • Subject to compliance with the requirements of this section and the regulations, the administrator shall comply with the direction within the prescribed period of time after delivery of the direction. 



  16. The administrator of the Plan did not comply with section 42 of the PBA because one third of the funds in Mr. Kowarsky’s Individual Account was transferred to the U.S. tax authorities rather than to Mr. Kowarsky’s LIRA pursuant to his direction to the Plan administrator.

  17. Section 87 of the PBA states in part:

    87(1)  The Superintendent, in the circumstances mentioned in subsection (2) and subject to section 89 (hearing and appeal), by a written order may require an administrator or any other person to take or to refrain from taking any action in respect of a pension plan or a pension fund.     

    (2)  The Superintendent may make an order under this section if the Superintendent is of the opinion, upon reasonable and probable grounds,  

    (a) that the pension plan or pension fund is not being administered in accordance with this Act, the regulations or the pension plan;

    (b) that the administrator of the pension plan, the employer or  the other person is contravening a requirement of this Act or the regulations.  


  18. The administrator of the Plan is not administering the pension plan or pension fund in accordance with the PBA or the Plan, and is contravening a requirement of the PBA by failing to transfer the full amount of Mr. Kowarsky’s Individual Account to his LIRA and by transferring one-third of that amount to the U.S. taxation authorities when Mr. Kowarsky was never employed in the United States.

  19. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA.  To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

 

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

 

Attention:  The Registrar

 

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-226-7752, toll free at 1-800-668-0218, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WTIHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 13th day of  April, 2007.

 

 

 

                                                                        ___________________________
                                                                        K. David Gordon
                                                                        Deputy Superintendent, Pensions


*NOTE:  Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the date of mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism - 13 avril, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu des articles 42 et 87 de la Loi à l’égard du régime de retraite du Joint Retiremen Board for Conservative Judaism, numéro d’enregistrement 0307645.

 

 

À :                  

JOINT RETIREMENT BOARD FOR CONSERVATIVE JUDAISM
One Penn Plaza
Suite 1515
New York, NY
États-Unis 10119
À l’intention de : Mitchell Smilowitz, directeur de l’exploitation

Administrateur du régime

 

 

ET À :          

PAUL KOWARSKY
17, place Tova
Thornhill (Ontario)
L4J 8C4

 

 

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE en vertu des articles42 et 87 de la Loi enjoignant le Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism (la «commission») de transférer la somme de 118382,13$, majorée des intérêts courus entre le 31décembre 2004 et le 1er janvier 2007, dans le compte de retraite avec immobilisations des fonds numéro548352908 détenu auprès de RBC Groupe Financier, situé au 1136, rue Centre, à Thornhill en Ontario, au nom de Paul Kowarsky.

 

MOTIFS:

  1. La commission est l’administrateur du régime de retraite du Joint Retirement Board for Conservative Judaism, numéro d’enregistrement 307645 (le «régime»), qui est un régime interentreprises.

  2. Paul Kowarsky («M. Kowarsky») est un ancien participant au régime qui était à l’emploi de Beth Tzedec Congregation (l’«employeur»), un employeur participant au régime.  M. Kowarsky a toujours travaillé en Ontario.

  3. M. Kowarsky a mis fin à son emploi auprès de l’employeur le 1ermai 2001. À cette époque, il avait droit à une pension différée aux termes du régime de retraite.

  4. L’article3.1 du régime de retraite précise qu’il faut tenir à jour un compte individuel pour chaque participant pour les dépôts reçus au nom des participants.

  5. L’article5.11 du régime stipule que chaque participant est le propriétaire exclusif de son compte individuel.

  6. M. Kowarsky a reçu une note de service de son employeur le 24décembre 2004 ou aux environs de cette date l’informant qu’il devait transférer dans un REER canadien le solde de son compte évalué à environ 386886,39$ avant le 31décembre 2004.

  7. M. Kowarsky a demandé à son employeur, dans une lettre datée du 16août 2005, de transférer ses fonds dans son REER canadien.

  8. Le 6septembre 2005 ou aux environs de cette date, M. Kowarsky a reçu un chèque au montant de 276224,96$, et été informé que les 30% qui restaient dans son compte individuel, soit 118382,13$, avaient été transférés à l’Internal Revenue Service, l’autorité fiscale américaine.

  9. Entre septembre 2005 et décembre 2005, M. Kowarsky et son représentant personnel ont tenté d’annuler l’opération et de transférer le solde global de son compte dans son REER canadien.

  10. Le 21décembre 2005, le représentant personnel de M.Kowarsky a demandé de l’aide à la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario.

  11. M. Kowarsky n’a pas encaissé le chèque qui est devenu périmé et qu’il a retourné à l’employeur le 4janvier 2007.

  12. Le 20 septembre 2006 ou aux environs de cette date, M. Kowarsky a demandé à l’administrateur du régime de transférer les fonds de son compte individuel du régime dans son régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite, numéro548352897 (le «CRIF») auprès de RBC Groupe financier, situé au 1136, rue Centre, à Thornhill en Ontario.

  13. L’administrateur du régime a transféré la somme de 276224,90 $US dans le CRIF en janvier 2007.  Cette somme représentait 70% des fonds de M.Kowarsky de son compte individuel.

  14. L’administrateur du régime n’est pas autorisé à transférer les fonds du compte individuel de M. Kowarsky dans le compte de l’autorité fiscale américaine. M.Kowarsky a toujours été employé en Ontario, au Canada au cours de sa participation au régime.

  15. L’article42 de la Loi prévoit en partie ce qui suit:

    42(1) L’ancien participant à un régime de retraite qui, le 1er janvier 1988 ou par la suite, met fin à son emploi ou cesse de participer au régime de retraite et qui a droit à une pension différée a le droit d’exiger que l’administrateur paie un montant égal à la valeur de rachat de la
    pension différée:

     

    • dans un arrangement d’épargne-retraite prescrit;
    • Sous réserve de la conformité avec les exigences du présent article et des règlements, l’administrateur se conforme à la directive dans le délai prescrit après la remise de la directive.


  16. L’administrateur du régime ne s’est pas conformé à l’article42 de la Loi parce qu’un tiers des fonds du compte individuel de M.Kowarsky a été transféré à l’autorité fiscale américaine plutôt que dans le CRIF de M.Kowarsky conformément à la directive qu’il a donnée à l’administrateur du régime.

  17. L’article87 de la Loi prévoit en partie ce qui suit:

    87(1) Dans les circonstances mentionnées au paragraphe (2) et sous réserve de l’article 89 (audience et appel), le surintendant peut, au moyen d’un ordre écrit, demander à un administrateur ou à une autre personne  de prendre ou de s’abstenir de prendre des mesures à l’égard d’un régime de retraite ou d’une caisse de retraite.      

    (2) Le surintendant peut rendre un ordre en vertu du présent article s’il est d’avis, en se fondant sur des motifs raisonnables et probables:                                                

    (a) soit que le régime de retraite ou la caisse de retraite n’est pas
    conformément à la présente loi, aux règlements ou au régime de retraite;

     

    (b) soit que l’administrateur du régime de retraite, l’employeur ou l’autre personne contrevient à l’une des exigences de la présente loi ou des règlements.    


           
  18. L’administrateur du régime n’administre pas le régime de retraite conformément à la loi ou au régime et contrevient à une exigence de la Loi en ne transférant pas le montant intégral du compte individuel de M.Kowarsky dans son CRIF et en transférant un tiers de cette somme dans un compte d’une autorité fiscale américaine alors que M.Kowarsky n’a jamais été employé aux États-Unis.

  19. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30)jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.   *

 

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers:
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

 

À l’attention du greffier

 

 

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1800668-0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416226-7750.

 

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30)JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

 

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 13 avril 2007.  

 

 

___________________________
K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

* REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.

 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.