Retirement Plan for Full Time Retail Store Employees of The Great Atlantic & Pacific Company of Canada Limited who are Members of Local 414 of Retail Wholesale Canada/CAW Division - May 12, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “Act”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make an Order under sections 33 and 87 of the Act in respect of the Retirement Plan for Full Time Retail Store Employees of The Great Atlantic & Pacific Company of Canada, Limited who are Members of Local 414 of Retail Wholesale Canada/CAW Division, Registration No. 900944.

TO:

The Great Atlantic & Pacific Company of Canada, Limited
P.O. Box 68 Station ‘A’
Toronto, ON M5W 1A6

Attention:

Terry R. Howard
Vice President, Treasury, Tax, Retail Financial Planning & Analysis

Employer and Administrator of the Plan


AND TO:

Complainant

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO MAKE

  1. AN ORDER under sections 33 and 87 of the Act that the Administrator of the Retirement Plan for Full Time Retail Store Employees of The Great Atlantic & Pacific Company of Canada, Limited who are Members of Local 414 of Retail Wholesale Canada/CAW Division, Registration No. 900944 (the “Plan”):

    1. Effective January 1, 1988, permit all current and former part time employees who are or were members of the bargaining unit represented by the Local 414 of Retail Wholesale Canada/CAW Division (the “CAW”) or its predecessor bargaining agents and who were employed on or after January 1, 1988 to become members of the Plan upon 24 months of less than full-time continuous employment with The Great Atlantic & Pacific Company of Canada, Limited (“A&P”), with the lesser of:

      1. earnings of not less than 35% of the Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings as defined in the Act; or

      2. 700 hours employment with the employer

      in each of two consecutive calendar years immediately prior to membership in the Plan; and

    2. Provide to such current and former part time employees covered by paragraph (1)(a), within sixty (60) days from the date of this Order, and on an ongoing basis, pension benefits in accordance with the terms of the Plan determined on the basis that such part time employees were eligible for membership in accordance with paragraph (a), with interest in respect of any lump sum representing retroactive payments to such part time employees’calculated as prescribed in Regulation 909, R.R.O. 1990; or

  2. AN ORDER, in the alternative to the order set out in paragraph 1, that A&P establish effective January 1, 1988 and maintain a separate pension plan for current and former part time employees covered by paragraph (1)(a) with pension benefits and other benefits reasonably equivalent to those provided to full time employees under the Plan.

REASONS:

Background

  1. The Plan is a single employer non-contributory defined benefit pension plan. A&P is both the employer and administrator of the Plan. At all material times, the Plan has been subject to collective bargaining between the CAW or its predecessor bargaining agents (the “Union”) and A&P.

  2. The Plan (then called The Great Atlantic & Pacific Company of Canada, Limited Retirement Plan for Full-Time Retail Store Employees Who Are Members of Local 414 or the Northern Joint Council of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union) was established effective January 1, 1987 and is a successor to the Retirement Income Plan for Union Employees of New Dominion Stores, Inc. Only employees of A&P who were employed on a full time basis and were members of Locals 414, 429, 545, 579, 582 or 915 of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union (a predecessor union to the CAW) were eligible to become members of the Plan.

  3. The name and text of the Plan were amended effective August 1, 1995 to reflect the fact that the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union, Local 414 affiliated with the United Steelworkers of America to become the Retail Wholesale Canada, Canadian Service Sector Division of the United Steelworkers of America, Local 414. The name and text of the Plan were further amended effective January 1, 2000 to reflect the fact that the CAW became the union under the terms of the Plan.

  4. From the inception of the Plan in 1987 until 2002, the Plan expressly limited membership to full time employees of A&P who were represented by the Union (“full time employees”). This limitation was consistent with the terms of the applicable collective agreement as negotiated between A&P and the Union.

  5. Pursuant to the terms of the collective agreement ratified by the members of the Union on January 13, 2002 (the “2002 Agreement”), pension benefits were to be provided to part-time employees represented by the Union (“part time employees”) effective
    March 1, 2002 in respect of employment on and after March 1, 2002 by the inclusion of part-time employees as a class of employees entitled to certain identified benefits under the Plan.

  6. To date, A&P has not filed amendments to the Plan associated with the 2002 Agreement nor has A&P responded to requests from Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”) staff for information as to the benefits offered to part time employees and whether or not such benefits are “reasonably equivalent” to benefits provided to full time employees as required by section 34 of the Act.

The Act

  1. Section 31(1) of the Act states that “[e]very employee of a class of employees for whom a pension plan is established is eligible to be a member of the pension plan.”

  2. Section 31(2) provides that a full time employee “is entitled to become a member of the pension plan upon application at any time after completing twenty-four months of continuous full-time employment.” Section 31(3) sets out the analogous tenure requirement for part time employees stating that,
    A pension plan may require not more than twenty-four months of less than full-time continuous employment with the employer, with the lesser of,
    1. earnings of not less than 35% of the Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings; or

    2. 700 hours employment with the employer,

      in each of two consecutive calendar years immediately prior to membership in the pension plan, or such equivalent basis as is approved by the Superintendent, as a condition precedent to membership in the pension plan.

  3. Section 32 of the Act states that “[a] member of a pension plan who is employed continuously on a less than a full time basis does not cease to be a member by reason only that he or she has” dropped below the earnings or hours thresholds set out in section 31(3) of the Act.

  4. Under section 33 of the Act, the Superintendent may require by order that the administrator of a pension plan accept an “employee as a member” of the pension plan where “on the basis of the nature of the employment or of the terms of the employment of the employee, the employee is a member of the class” for whom the pension plan is established or maintained.

  5. Section 34 of the Act states that “[a]n employer may establish or maintain a separate pension plan for employees employed in less than full-time continuous employment if the separate pension plan provides pension benefits and other benefits reasonably equivalent to those provided under the pension plan maintained by the employer for employees of the same class employed in full-time continuous employment.”

  6. Sections 31 to 34 of the Act came into force effective January 1, 1988. These sections constitute a statutory scheme whereby part time employees are entitled to membership in a pension plan (or membership in a plan which has reasonably equivalent benefits) regardless of their part time status provided that “on the basis of the nature of the employment or of the terms of the employment of the employee, the employee is a member of the class” for whom the pension plan is established or maintained.

Plan Prior to 2002

  1. Prior to 2002, the denial of Plan membership to part time employees only because of their part time status is a contravention of sections 31 to 34 of the Act.

  2. A&P has not demonstrated that the nature and terms of employment for part time employees are distinct from the nature and terms of the employment for full time employees as is required to support a finding that part time employees are members of separate class within the meaning of the Act. Differences between the two groups arising out of general demographic characteristics do not give rise to such a class distinction because such differences are not differences in the nature and terms of employment and do not necessarily apply to every member of the group in question. To the extent that the full time and part time employees may exhibit some differences in the general distribution of job duties across each group, these differences do not apply in respect of full and part time groups as a whole and are not the result of distinct characteristics of the part time jobs.

  3. The fact that the Union, as a matter of collective bargaining, agreed to the exclusion of part time members from Plan membership does not alter the conclusion that the Act has been contravened. Section 19(1) of the Act requires that the administrator of a pension plan administer a pension plan and fund in accordance with the Act and regulations and section 19(4) so requires even if the documents for the Plan set out terms that conflict with the minimum requirements of the Act and regulations. For the reasons set out above, the exclusion of part time employees does not meet the requirements of the Act and the agreement of the Union to such non-compliant Plan provisions does not alter this conclusion.

2002 Agreement

  1. A&P has raised the fact of the 2002 Agreement in its submissions to the Superintendent. FSCO staff have not been provided with the text of the amendments to the Plan associated with the 2002 Agreement nor have FSCO staff been provided with any other information from A&P that would permit FSCO staff to conclude that the benefits extended to part time employees in the 2002 Agreement are “reasonably equivalent” to the benefits provided to full time employees under the Plan as is required by section 34 of the Act. Accordingly, the Superintendent is unable to conclude that the 2002 Agreement meets the requirements of the Act.

  2. In addition, the 2002 Agreement would not be sufficient to bring the Plan into compliance with the Act (even assuming that it did contain reasonably equivalent benefits for part time employees) because the 2002 Agreement does not apply prior to 2002 despite the fact that the provisions of the Act granting entitlement to pension plan membership to part time employees came into force in 1988.


Proposed Order

  1. Section 87 of the Act authorizes the Superintendent by order to require that an administrator “take or refrain from taking any action in respect of a pension plan or a pension fund” if the Superintendent is of the opinion, upon reasonable and probable grounds, that a pension plan is not being administered in accordance with the Act, the regulations or the pension plan or if the pension plan does not comply with the Act and the regulations.

  2. As set out above, the Plan does not comply with the Act because under the terms of the Plan, part time employees are not entitled to membership in the Plan. The Plan is not being administered in accordance with the Act because the Plan is being administered so as not to extend membership to part time employees although the Act so requires. Accordingly, the Superintendent proposes to order that A&P take measures to comply with sections 31 to 34 of the Act by extending membership eligibility to part time employees effective the date that sections 31 to 34 of the Act came into force, January 1, 1988, in accordance with the terms of paragraph 1 of the proposed order set out above.

  3. In doing so, A&P is required to recognize the fact that the entitlement of part time employees to Plan membership dates from January 1, 1988. Current and former part time employees may have already become entitled to benefits under the Plan and A&P is required to pay any pension benefits accordingly. Any lump sum amounts payable in respect of pension benefits not paid to date should be paid with interest calculated in accordance with the rate and method applicable to lump sum payments from a pension plan set out in section 24(11) of Regulation 909, R.R.O. 1990.

  4. In the alternative to the extension of membership in the Plan to part time employees as set out in paragraph 1 of the proposed order, the Superintendent proposes to order that A&P establish a plan for part time employees effective January 1, 1988 that contains benefits that are reasonably equivalent to the benefits provided in the Plan to full time employees.

  5. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING before the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the Act. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

For further information, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-226-7752, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, May 12, 2006.

K. David Gordon Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

CC: D. Vincent, Ogilvy Renault LLP
       H. O’Reilly, Cavalluzzo Hayes Shilton McIntyre & Cornish

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés de magasin de détail à temps plein des Supermarchés A&P Limitée membres de la section locale 414 des Détaillants Grossistes Canada, une division des TCA - le 12 mai 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu des articles 33 et 87 de la Loi relativement au régime de retraite des employés de magasin de détail à temps plein des Supermarchés A&P Limitée membres de la section locale 414 des Détaillants Grossistes Canada, une division des TCA, numéro d’enregistrement 900944.

À :

Les Supermarchés A&P Limitée
C.P. 68, succursale A
Toronto (Ontario) M5W 1A6

À l’attention de :

Terry R. Howard
Vice-président, trésorerie, fiscalité, planification et analyse financières de détail

Employeur et administrateur du régime

ET À :

Plaignant


AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE

  1. UNE ORDONNANCE en vertu des articles 33 et 87 de la Loi en vue d’enjoindre à l’administrateur du régime de retraite des employés de magasin de détail à temps plein des Supermarchés A&P Limitée membres de la section locale 414 des Détaillants Grossistes Canada, une division des TCA (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 900944 :
    1. a) d’accepter, en date du 1er janvier 1988, tous les employés à temps partiel actuels ou anciens qui sont ou étaient membres de l’unité de négociation représentée par la section locale 414 des Détaillants Grossistes Canada, une division des TCA (les « TCA ») ou ses agents de négociation prédécesseurs et qui étaient employés le ou après le 1er janvier 1988 en tant que participants au régime de retraite à partir du moment où ils comptent ou comptaient 24 mois d’emploi à moins que temps plein chez les Supermarchés A&P Limitée (« A&P »), avec le moindre de ce qui suit :
      1. des gains d’au moins 35 % du maximum des gains annuels ouvrant droit à pension tel qu’il est défini dans la Loi,
      2. 700 heures d’emploi chez l’employeur,

      pour chacune des deux années civiles consécutives précédant immédiatement l’affiliation au régime de retraite;

    2. de verser auxdits employés à temps partiel actuels et anciens visés par l’alinéa (1) a), dans les soixante (60) jours qui suivent la date de la présente ordonnance et sur une base permanente, des prestations de retraite conformément aux termes du régime déterminées en fonction du fait que lesdits employés à temps partiel sont admissibles au régime de retraite conformément à l’alinéa (1) a), avec intérêt sur toute somme forfaitaire représentant des paiements rétroactifs versés auxdits employés à temps partiel et calculés de la manière prescrite au Règlement 909, R.R.O. 1990;

  2. UNE ORDONNANCE, au lieu de l’ordonnance énoncée au paragraphe 1, en vue qu’A&P établisse en date du 1er janvier 1988 et maintienne un régime de retraite distinct pour les employés à temps partiel actuels et anciens visés par l’alinéa (1) a) qui prévoit des prestations de retraite et d’autres prestations raisonnablement équivalentes à celles qu’assure le régime de retraite maintenu pour les employés à temps plein.

MOTIFS :

Contexte

  1. Le régime est un régime de retraite unique non contributif à prestations déterminées. A&P est l’employeur et l’administrateur du régime de retraite. Durant toute la période pertinente, le régime de retraite a fait l’objet d’une convention collective entre les TCA ou ses agents de négociation prédécesseurs (le « syndicat ») et A&P.

  2. Le régime de retraite (alors appelé régime de retraite des employés de magasin de détail à temps plein des Supermarchés A&P Limitée membres de la section locale 414 ou le Northern Joint Council of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union) a été établi le 1er janvier 1987 et remplaçait le régime de revenu de retraite des employés syndiqués de New Dominion Stores, Inc. Seuls les employés d’A&P qui travaillaient à temps plein et étaient membres des sections locales 414, 429, 545, 579, 582 ou 915 du Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union (un syndicat prédécesseur des TCA) étaient admissibles au régime de retraite.

  3. Le nom et le libellé du régime ont été modifiés le 1er août 1995 pour tenir compte du fait que le Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union, section locale 414 s’était affilié aux Métallurgistes unis d’Amérique pour devenir Retail Wholesale Canada, Canadian Service Sector Division des Métallurgistes unis d’Amérique, section locale 414. Le nom et le libellé du régime de retraite ont par la suite été modifiés en date du 1er janvier 2000 pour tenir compte du fait que les TCA sont devenus le syndicat aux termes du régime.

  4. De son entrée en vigueur en 1987 jusqu’en 2002, le régime de retraite a expressément restreint la participation aux employés à temps plein d’A&P qui étaient représentés par le syndicat (les « employés à temps plein »). Cette restriction était conforme aux conditions prévues dans la convention collective applicable en la matière négociée entre A&P et le syndicat.

  5. En vertu des dispositions de la convention collective ratifiée par les membres du syndicat le 13 janvier 2002 (la « convention collective de 2002 »), des prestations de retraite devaient être offertes aux employés à temps partiel représentés par le syndicat (les « employés à temps partiel ») à compter du 1er mars 2002, à l’égard de l’emploi le ou après le 1er mars 2002, par l’inclusion des employés à temps partiel en tant que catégorie d’employés admissibles à certaines prestations déterminées aux termes du régime.

  6. Jusqu’à ce jour, A&P n’a déposé aucune modification au régime associée à la convention collective de 2002, ni n’a répondu aux demandes du personnel de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (la « CSFO ») visant à obtenir des renseignements sur les prestations offertes aux employés à temps partiel et à déterminer si de telles prestations étaient ou non « raisonnablement équivalentes » à celles offertes aux employés à temps plein, comme l’exige l’article 34 de la Loi.

La Loi

  1. Le paragraphe 31 (1) de la Loi stipule que « [t]ous les employés d’une catégorie d’employés pour lesquels un régime de retraite est établi sont admissibles à devenir participants au régime de retraite ».

  2. Le paragraphe 31 (2) de la Loi stipule qu’un employé à temps plein « a le droit de devenir, sur demande, participant au régime de retraite à tout moment après une période de vingt-quatre mois d’emploi continu à temps plein ». Le paragraphe 31 (3) mentionne des exigences en matière de durée semblables pour les employés à temps partiel stipulant que :
    Un régime de retraite peut exiger, comme condition préalable à l’affiliation au régime de retraite, un emploi moindre qu’un emploi continu à temps plein chez l’employeur ne dépassant pas vingt-quatre mois, avec le moindre de ce qui suit
    1. a) des gains d’au moins 35 pour cent du maximum des gains annuels ouvrant droit à pension;

    2. 700 heures d’emploi chez l’employeur,

      pour chacune des deux années civiles consécutives précédant immédiatement l’affiliation au régime de retraite, ou une autre base équivalente approuvée par le surintendant.

  3. L’article 32 de la Loi stipule qu’un « participant à un régime de retraite qui occupe un emploi continu moindre qu’un emploi à temps plein ne cesse pas d’être participant pour la seule raison que » ses gains ou le nombre d’heures travaillées sont inférieurs aux seuils établis au paragraphe 31 (3) de la Loi.

  4. En vertu de l’article 33 de la Loi, le surintendant peut, par ordre, exiger de l’administrateur d’un régime de retraite qu’il accepte un « employé en tant que participant » au régime de retraite si « d’après la nature de l’emploi ou les conditions d’emploi de l’employé, celui-ci fait partie de la catégorie » d’employés pour lesquels un régime de retraite est établi et maintenu.

  5. L’article 34 de la Loi stipule qu’« [u]n employeur peut établir ou maintenir un régime de retraite distinct pour les employés ayant un emploi moindre qu’un emploi continu à temps plein si le régime de retraite distinct prévoit des prestations de retraite et d’autres prestations raisonnablement équivalentes à celles qu’assure le régime de retraite maintenu par l’employeur pour les employés de la même catégorie ayant un emploi continu à temps plein ».

  6. Les articles 31 à 34 de la Loi sont entrés en vigueur le 1er janvier 1988. Ces articles constituent un cadre réglementaire qui rend les employés à temps partiel admissibles à l’affiliation à un régime de retraite (ou à un régime qui offre des prestations raisonnablement équivalentes) sans égard à leur statut à temps partiel pourvu que « d’après la nature de l’emploi ou les conditions d’emploi de l’employé, [ceux-ci font] partie de la catégorie » d’employés pour lesquels un régime est établi et maintenu.

Régime avant 2002

  1. Avant 2002, l’interdiction aux employés à temps partiel de participer au régime de retraite uniquement en raison de leur statut de temps partiel constituait une infraction aux articles 31 à 34 de la Loi.

  2. A&P n’a pu faire la preuve que la nature et les conditions d’emploi des employés à temps partiel étaient distinctes de la nature et des conditions d’emploi des employés à temps plein comme elle devait le faire pour étayer une constatation que les employés à temps partiel font partie d’une catégorie distincte au sens de la Loi. Les différences d’ordre démographique entre les deux groupes ne donnent pas lieu à une telle distinction de catégorie parce que ces différences ne constituent pas des différences quant à la nature et aux conditions de l’emploi et ne s’appliquent pas nécessairement à chaque membre du groupe en question. Dans la mesure où les employés à temps plein et les employés à temps partiel peuvent présenter certaines différences en ce qui a trait à la répartition générale des tâches au sein de chaque groupe, ces différences ne s’appliquent pas aux groupes à temps plein et à temps partiel pris dans leur ensemble et ne résultent pas de caractéristiques distinctes des emplois à temps partiel.

  3. Le fait que le syndicat, à titre d’unité de négociation, ait accepté d’exclure ses membres à temps partiel de l’affiliation au régime, ne modifie pas la constatation que la Loi a été transgressée. Le paragraphe 19 (1) de la Loi exige que l’administrateur d’un régime de retraite administre le régime de retraite et la caisse de retraite conformément à la Loi et aux règlements, ce qu’exige également le paragraphe 19 (4), même si les documents relatifs au régime stipulent des conditions incompatibles avec les exigences minimales prévues dans la Loi et les règlements. Pour tous ces motifs, l’exclusion des employés à temps partiel ne satisfait pas aux exigences de la Loi, et l’acceptation par le syndicat de dispositions non conformes au régime ne modifie pas cette constatation.

Convention collective de 2002

  1. A&P a mentionné la convention collective de 2002 dans ses observations au surintendant. Le personnel de la CSFO n’a pas obtenu le libellé des modifications apportées au régime associées à la convention collective de 2002 ni n’a obtenu de renseignements de la part d’A&P qui lui permettraient de conclure que les prestations de retraite accordées aux employés à temps partiel dans la convention collective de 2002 sont « raisonnablement équivalentes » à celles qui sont offertes aux employés à temps plein aux termes du régime, comme l’exige l’article 34 de la Loi. Par conséquent, le surintendant ne peut conclure que la convention collective de 2002 satisfait aux exigences de la Loi.

  2. En outre, la convention collective de 2002 ne peut suffire à elle seule à rendre le régime de retraite conforme à la Loi (même en supposant qu’elle ait prévu des prestations raisonnablement équivalentes pour les employés à temps partiel) parce qu’elle ne s’applique pas avant 2002 malgré le fait que les dispositions de la Loi visant à accorder le droit à l’affiliation à un régime de retraite soient entrées en vigueur en 1988.

Ordonnance proposée

  1. L’article 87 de la Loi permet au surintendant d’obliger, au moyen d’un ordre, l’administrateur à « prendre ou à s’abstenir de prendre des mesures à l’égard d’un régime de retraite ou d’une caisse de retraite » s’il est d’avis, en se fondant sur des motifs raisonnables et probables, que le régime de retraite n’est pas administré conformément à la Loi, aux règlements ou au régime de retraite ou que le régime de retraite n’est pas conforme à la Loi ou aux règlements.

  2. Comme il a été dit plus haut, le régime de retraite ne se conforme pas à la Loi parce qu’aux termes du régime, les employés à temps partiel ne sont pas admissibles à participer au régime. Le régime n’est pas administré conformément à la Loi parce qu’il est administré de façon à ne pas inclure les employés à temps partiel bien que la Loi l’exige. Par conséquent, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner qu’A&P prenne des mesures pour se conformer aux articles 31 à 34 de la Loi en rendant les employés à temps partiel admissibles à l’affiliation au régime depuis la date où les articles 31 à 34 sont entrés en vigueur, soit le 1er janvier 1988, conformément aux termes du paragraphe 1 de l’ordonnance proposée énoncés ci-dessus.

  3. Pour ce faire, A&P est tenue de reconnaître le droit des employés à temps partiel à l’affiliation au régime à partir du 1er janvier 1988. Il est possible que des employés à temps partiel actuels et anciens aient déjà droit à des prestations aux termes du régime de retraite et A&P est tenue de leur verser toutes les prestations de retraite en conséquence. Tout montant forfaitaire à payer à l’égard de prestations de retraite qui n’a pas encore été versé doit être payé avec les intérêts calculés au taux et selon la méthode applicable aux paiements de somme forfaitaire d’un régime de retraite, comme le stipule le paragraphe 24 (11) du Règlement 909, R.R.O. 1990.

  4. Comme solution de rechange à l’élargissement de l’affiliation au régime de retraite aux employés à temps partiel, tel qu’il est énoncé au paragraphe 1 de l’ordonnance proposée, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner qu’A&P établisse un régime de retraite distinct pour les employés à temps partiel en date du 1er janvier 1988 qui prévoit des prestations raisonnablement équitables à celles qu’assure le régime de retraite pour les employés à temps plein.

  5. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 12 mai 2006.

 

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

c.c. D.Vincent, Ogilvy Renault s.r.l.
H. O’Reilly, Cavalluzzo Hayes Shilton McIntyre & Cornish

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.