Stelpipe Ltd. Retirement Plan for Salaried Employees - May 8, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “Act”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Notice of Proposal issued by the Superintendent of Financial Services to the Administrator of the Stelpipe Ltd. Retirement Plan for Salaried Employees, Registration No. 1017177, under section 40(2) of the Act.

TO:

Stelco Inc.
386 Wilcox Street
P.O. Box 2030
Hamilton, ON L8N 3T1

Attention:

Mr. Mario DeMarco
Director, Compensation Services

AND TO:

Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie LLP
Toronto-Dominion Tower, 30th Floor
Box 371 T-D Centre
Toronto, Ontario M5K 1K8


Attention:

Ms. Rachel M. Arbour
Attorneys at law for the Administrator of Stelpipe Ltd.
Retirement Plan for Salaried Employees

AND TO:

Mr. Frank Reid
18 Wychwood Road
Welland, Ontario
L3C 5V3


NOTICE OF PROPOSALS

I PROPOSE TO:

1. ORDER that the administrator of Stelpipe Ltd. Retirement Plan for Salaried Employees Registration No. 1017177 ( the “Stelpipe Plan”) provide Mr. Frank Reid (the “Applicant”) with the difference between the commuted value of his pension benefit which he received from the Stelpipe Plan on or about March 21, 2003 in the amount of $205,595.16, and the revised commuted value amount inclusive of early retirement subsidies of $337,093.26 together with interest from August 4, 2000, the date of termination of the Applicant’s employment, to the date of payment pursuant to section 40(2) of the Act.

REASONS FOR THE PROPOSAL:

  1. The Applicant’s services were terminated by Stelpipe Ltd. (“the Employer”) on
    August 4, 2000. At the time of the termination, the Applicant was 57 years old. The Applicant was a member of the Stelpipe Plan and was offered four options in relation to his pension benefits as a result of the termination of his employment: Option 1 - a deferred monthly benefit; Option 2 - transfer of the commuted value of his pension benefit to a locked-in retirement account; Option 3 - transfer of his benefits to a registered pension plan of a subsequent employer; and Option 4 - transfer of his benefits to an annuity issuer for the purchase of a life annuity. The Applicant elected Option 2.

  2. The Applicant in his letter to the Employer dated October 27, 2000, enclosing the signed Election of Option Form also dated October 27, 2000, indicated that he was aware that his pension benefits exceeded that which was set out in the Option Form, however, that he was exercising the option in order to comply with a 60 day deadline stipulated by the Employer to elect an option. The commuted value of the Applicant’s deferred monthly pension was valued at $172,643.97 on the Option Form. The Applicant was concerned that if he failed to exercise one of the four options then he would have received, by default, a deferred monthly pension of approximately $2,093.67 per month.

  3. The Applicant subsequently filed a complaint with the Ontario Human Rights Commission (“Human Rights Complaint”). The complaint was settled. The Minutes of Settlement dated June 28, 2002 (“Minutes of Settlement”) and signed by the Applicant and the Employer, provided for the payment of the sum of $184,966.35 plus interest from June 30, 2001 to the date of the Minutes to be transferred to a financial institution designated by the Applicant and as permitted by law.

  4. Under the terms of the Minutes of Settlement the sum of $205,595.16, inclusive of interest to the date of payment, was transferred from the Stelpipe Plan to a locked in retirement account designated by the Applicant on or about March 21, 2003.

  5. The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”) in a letter dated October 18, 2004 to Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie LLP (“Hicks Morley”), the counsel for the Employer, indicated that the Applicant was also eligible to receive subsidized early retirement benefits at the date of the termination of his employment under section 5 of the Stelpipe Plan as required by section 40(2) of the Act. FSCO requested that the Employer revise the commuted value calculation to include the early retirement subsidies and provide details of the calculations, including all actuarial assumptions used.

  6. In response to FSCO’s request, Hicks Morley, in their letter dated December 10, 2004 to FSCO, submitted that the Minutes of Settlement executed by both the Applicant and the Employer, in relation to the Human Rights Complaint, sets out the full entitlement of the Applicant. Under clause 1(e) of the Minutes of Settlement, the Applicant accepted as his entitlement to a pension benefit “ the sum of $184,966.35, plus applicable interest from June 30, 2001 to the date of these Minutes, representing the transfer of his pension monies to a locked-in retirement account as per Mr. Reid’s election dated October 27, 2000.”

  7. Hicks Morley also submitted that under clause 5 of the Minutes of Settlement, the Applicant released the Employer and its successors from any claims in respect of his pension benefits.

  8. Hicks Morley, in an exhibit to their letter dated December 10, 2004, provided the commuted values of the Applicant’s pension benefit with and without the bridge benefits. The Applicant’s entitlement without the bridge benefit was calculated as $171,881.29 and the commuted value with the bridge benefit was calculated as $337,093.26 as of the date of termination of the Applicant’s employment.

  9. Hicks Morley submitted in their letter dated December 10, 2004, that under the terms of the Stelpipe Plan, an employee eligible for early retirement is not eligible to receive a commuted value payment. Further, that the Applicant waived his right to early retirement treatment when he sought the Employer’s agreement to pay him a commuted value instead of his pension.

  10. Section 5 of the Stelpipe Plan provides for an early retirement pension for members who have attained age 55, or who have 30 years or more of credited service. Once a member satisfied this eligibility requirement, the member is entitled to receive an immediate pension payable in equal monthly installments in lieu of a deferred normal pension, together with a bridge benefit under section 5(b) of the Stelpipe Plan.

  11. At the time the Applicant’s services were terminated, he satisfied the eligibility requirement to exercise the early retirement option under section 5 of the Stelpipe Plan. The Applicant elected to receive the commuted value of his pension benefit; however, the value of the bridge benefit was not included in the calculation of the commuted value.

  12. Section 40(2) of the Act provides that an ancillary benefit for which a member has met all the eligibility requirements under the pension plan necessary to exercise the right to receive payment of the benefit shall be included in calculating the member’s pension benefit or commuted value of the pension benefit.

  13. Since the Applicant had satisfied the eligibility requirements under the Stelpipe Plan for the receipt of the early retirement pension together with the bridge benefit, the value of the bridge benefit should have been included in the calculation of the commuted value of the Applicant’s pension benefit.

  14. Section 5 of the Stelpipe Plan is silent on members’ entitlement to the commuted value of an early retirement pension. Instead the option to elect a commuted value is addressed under section 10(f) of the Stelpipe Plan. Under section 10(f) a deferred annuitant has the option to transfer the commuted value of his deferred annuity to a registered retirement savings account or life income fund as prescribed under the Act.

  15. When the pension benefit options were offered to the Applicant in the “Election of Option on Termination from Employment” form, the Employer did not indicate under which provisions of the Stelpipe Plan or the Act it was offering these options. Nevertheless the Employer offered the Applicant the option to receive the commuted value of his pension benefit. The Applicant, with reservation, accepted this option and subsequently agreed to the receipt of the commuted value and interest as set out in the Minutes of Settlement.

  16. Notwithstanding the fact that the Applicant entered into the Minutes of Settlement before the Human Rights Commission, the value of the Applicant’s pension benefits was not calculated in accordance with his entitlement as required by section 40(2) of the Act. Specifically, the value of the Applicant’s bridge benefits was not included in the calculation of his pension benefits as required by section 40(2) of the Act.

  17. Section 40(2) of the Act sets out a minimum standard for the determination of a plan member’s entitlement to a pension benefit or the commuted value of a pension benefit. A pension plan could provide a benefit in excess of the minimum standards; however, it cannot provide less than is required by the Act. No one can contract out of these minimum standards.

  18. The value of the Applicant’s pension benefits as set out in the Minutes of Settlement represents an amount that is less than the minimum standard provided under the Act. The Employer is therefore required to transfer to the Applicant’s locked-in account the difference between the commuted value amount set out in the Minutes of Settlement and the amount of the commuted value of the Applicant’s pension taking into account the early retirement subsidies as at the date of termination of the Applicant’s employment.

  19. Therefore, the Superintendent proposes to order the administrator of the Stelpipe Plan to pay the Applicant the difference between the amount of the pension benefit that was actually transferred on or about March 21, 2003 to the Applicant’s locked-in account in the amount $205,595.16, and the revised commuted value (including the value of the bridge benefit) in the amount of $337,093.26 (which includes available service to September 29, 2000), together with interest from the date of termination of the Applicant’s employment to the date of payment.

  20. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING before the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the Act. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor
North York, Ontario
M2N 6L9 Attention: The Registrar

For further information, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-226-7752, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY MAKE THE ORDER PROPOSED HEREIN.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, 8th May, 2006.

K. David Gordon Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de retraite des employés salariés de Stelpipe Ltd. - le 8 mai 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE d’un avis d’intention du surintendant des services financiers signifié à l’administrateur du régime de retraite des employés salariés de Stelpipe Ltd., numéro d’enregistrement 1017177, en vertu du paragraphe 40 (2) de la Loi.

À :

Stelco Inc.
386, rue Wilcox
C.P. 2030
Hamilton (Ontario) L8N 3T1

À l’attention de :

M. Mario DeMarco
Directeur, services de la rémunération

ET À :

Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie s.r.l.
Tour Toronto-Dominion, 30e étage
C.P. 371, centre T-D
Toronto (Ontario) M5K 1K8

À l’attention de :

Mme Rachel M. Arbour
Avocate pour l’administrateur du régime de Stelpipe Ltd.
Régime de retraite des employés salariés

ET À :

M. Frank Reid
18 Wychwood Road
Welland (Ontario)
L3C 5V3

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION :

  1. DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE en vertu du paragraphe 40 (2) de la Loi en vue d’enjoindre à l’administrateur du régime de retraite des employés salariés de Stelpipe Ltd., numéro d’enregistrement 1017177, (le « régime de retraite de Stelpipe ») de verser à M. Frank Reid (le « demandeur ») un montant équivalant à la différence entre la valeur de rachat des prestations de retraite qu’il a reçues du régime de retraite de Stelpipe le 21 mars 2003 ou aux environs de cette date, au montant de 205 595,16 $, et à la valeur de rachat révisée comprenant les prestations de retraite anticipée au montant de 337 093,26 $ avec les intérêts courus entre le 4 août 2000, soit la date de cessation d’emploi du demandeur, et la date de paiement.

MOTIFS DE L’AVIS D’INTENTION :

  1. Stelpipe Ltd. (« l’employeur ») a mis fin au service du demandeur le 4 août 2000. Au moment de son licenciement, le demandeur était âgé de 57 ans. Le demandeur était participant au régime de retraite de Stelpipe et s’est vu offrir quatre options relativement à ses prestations de retraite par suite de sa cessation d’emploi : Option 1 – une pension mensuelle différée; Option 2 – le transfert de la valeur de rachat de ses prestations de retraite accumulées dans un compte de retraite avec immobilisation des fonds; Option 3 – le transfert de ses prestations de retraite accumulées au régime de retraite d’un employeur ultérieur et Option 4 – le transfert de ses prestations de retraite accumulées chez un émetteur de rente en vue de la souscription d’une rente viagère. Le demandeur a choisi l’option 2.

  2. Dans une lettre adressée à l’employeur datée du 27 octobre 2000, à laquelle était jointe la formule de choix de mode de transfert dûment signée également datée du 27 octobre 2000, le demandeur a indiqué qu’il était conscient que ses prestations de retraite dépassaient le montant mentionné dans la formule de choix, mais qu’il levait quand même l’option afin de se conformer au délai de 60 jours fixé pour choisir une option stipulé par l’employeur. La valeur de rachat de la pension mensuelle différée était évaluée à 172 643,97 $ dans la formule de choix. Le demandeur craignait que s’il ne choisissait pas l’une des quatre options, il recevrait, par défaut, une pension mensuelle différée d’environ 2 093,67 $ par mois.

  3. Le demandeur a par la suite déposé une plainte auprès de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (la « plainte auprès de la Commission »). La plainte a été réglée. Le procès-verbal de transaction daté du 28 juin 2002 (le « procès-verbal de transaction ») et signé par le demandeur et l’employeur prévoyait le paiement de la somme de 184 966,35 $ avec intérêts accumulés entre le 30 juin 2001 et la date de publication du procès-verbal, qui sera transférée dans une institution financière désignée par le demandeur, selon les conditions prévues par la loi.

  4. En vertu des conditions établies dans le procès-verbal de transaction, la somme de 205 595,16 $ comprenant les intérêts accumulés à la date de paiement a été transférée du régime de retraite de Stelpipe à un compte de retraite avec immobilisation des fonds désigné par le demandeur le 21 mars 2003 ou aux alentours de cette date.

  5. La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (la « CSFO ») a indiqué, dans une lettre datée du 18 octobre 2004 destinée à Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie s.r.l. (« Hicks Morley »), l’avocat de l’employeur, que le demandeur avait également le droit de toucher des prestations de retraite anticipée à la date de cessation de son emploi en vertu de l’article 5 du régime de retraite de Stelpipe, comme l’exige le paragraphe 40 (2) de la Loi. La CSFO a demandé que l’employeur revoie le calcul de la valeur de rachat afin qu’il tienne compte des prestations de retraite anticipée et fournisse des détails sur la méthode de calcul, notamment de toutes les hypothèses actuarielles utilisées.

  6. En réponse à la demande de la CSFO, Hicks Morley, dans sa lettre datée du 10 décembre 2004 à la CSFO, a allégué que le procès-verbal de transaction signé par le demandeur et l’employeur, concernant la plainte déposée auprès de la Commission des droits de la personne, établit le plein droit du demandeur. En vertu de la disposition 1(e) du procès-verbal, le demandeur a accepté ce droit à des prestations de retraite totalisant « la somme de 184 966,35 $, avec les intérêts applicables du 30 juin 2001 à la date de publication du procès-verbal, représentant le transfert de ses prestations de retraite dans un compte de retraite avec immobilisation des fonds conformément au choix de M. Reid en date du 27 octobre 2000 ».

  7. Hicks Morley a également fait valoir qu’en vertu de la disposition 5 du procès-verbal de transaction, le demandeur a libéré l’employeur et ses successeurs de toute réclamation concernant ses prestations de retraite.

  8. Dans une pièce jointe à sa lettre datée du 10 décembre 2004, Hicks Morley a fourni les valeurs de rachat des prestations de retraite du demandeur avec ou sans prestation de raccordement. Le droit du demandeur sans prestation de raccordement a été évalué à 171 881,29 $ et la valeur de rachat avec prestations de raccordement a été évaluée à 337 093,26 $ à la date de cessation d’emploi du demandeur.

  9. Hicks Morley a fait valoir dans sa lettre datée du 10 décembre 2004 qu’aux termes du régime de retraite de Stelpipe, un employé admissible à une retraite anticipée n’a pas le droit de recevoir un paiement au titre de la valeur de rachat. La société prétend, en outre, que le demandeur a renoncé à son droit à des prestations de retraite anticipée lorsqu’il a cherché à obtenir l’accord de l’employeur concernant le versement d’une valeur de rachat plutôt que ses prestations de retraite.

  10. L’article 5 du régime de retraite de Stelpipe prévoit des prestations de retraite anticipée pour les participants qui ont atteint l’âge de 55 ans ou qui comptent 30 années ou plus de services décomptés. Une fois que le participant a satisfait aux exigences d’admissibilité, il a le droit de recevoir une pension immédiate payable en versements mensuels égaux au lieu d’une pension différée normale, avec des prestations de raccordement, conformément au paragraphe 5 (b) du régime de retraite de Stelpipe.

  11. Au moment où l’emploi du demandeur a pris fin, il avait satisfait aux exigences d’admissibilité pour pouvoir lever l’option de retraite anticipée prévue au paragraphe 5 du régime de retraite de Stelpipe. Le demandeur a choisi de recevoir la valeur de rachat de ses prestations de retraite; cependant la valeur des prestations de raccordement n’était pas incluse dans le calcul de la valeur de rachat.

  12. Le paragraphe 40 (2) de la Loi stipule qu’une prestation accessoire à l’égard de laquelle un participant a satisfait à toutes les conditions d’admissibilité aux termes du régime de retraite lui permettant de se prévaloir de son droit de toucher ladite prestation doit être incluse dans le calcul des prestations de retraite du participant ou de la valeur de rachat des prestations de retraite.

  13. Comme le demandeur a satisfait aux exigences d’admissibilité prévues dans le régime de retraite de Stelpipe pour le versement d’une pension de retraite anticipée avec les prestations de raccordement, la valeur des prestations de raccordement devait être incluse dans le calcul de la valeur de rachat des prestations de retraite du demandeur.

  14. L’article 5 du régime de retraite de Stelpipe ne mentionne aucun droit des participants à la valeur de rachat des prestations de retraite anticipée. Cette option est plutôt prévue au paragraphe 10(f) du régime de retraite de Stelpipe. En vertu de ce paragraphe, le titulaire d’une pension différée peut transférer la valeur de rachat de sa pension différée dans un compte REER ou un fond de revenu viager comme le prévoit la Loi.

  15. Lorsque les options relatives aux prestations de retraite ont été offertes au demandeur dans la formule de choix de mode de transfert des prestations à la cessation d’emploi, l’employeur n’a pas indiqué en vertu de quelles dispositions du régime de retraite de Stelpipe ou de la Loi ces options étaient offertes. Cependant, l’employeur a offert au demandeur l’option de recevoir la valeur de rachat de ses prestations de retraite. Le demandeur a accepté, sous toute réserve, cette option et a par la suite convenu de recevoir la valeur de rachat avec les intérêts, tel qu’il est énoncé dans le procès-verbal de transaction.

  16. Malgré le fait que le demandeur ait approuvé le procès-verbal de la transaction devant la Commission des droits de la personne, la valeur de ses prestations de retraite n’a pas été calculée conformément à son droit, comme l’exige le paragraphe 40 (2) de la Loi. Tout particulièrement, la valeur des prestations de raccordement du demandeur n’a pas été incluse dans le calcul de ses prestations de retraite conformément au paragraphe 40 (2) de la Loi.

  17. Le paragraphe 40 (2) de la Loi établit une norme minimale pour déterminer le droit de toucher une prestation de retraite ou la valeur de rachat de la prestation de retraite. Un régime de retraite peut verser une prestation supérieure à la norme minimale, mais il ne peut verser de prestation inférieure à ce qu’exige la Loi. Personne ne peut se soustraire à ces normes minimales.

  18. La valeur des prestations de retraite du demandeur telle qu’elle est déterminée dans le procès-verbal de transaction représente un montant inférieur à la norme minimale prévue dans la Loi. L’employeur est par conséquent tenu de transférer dans le compte de retraite avec immobilisation des fonds la différence entre le montant de la valeur de rachat établie dans le procès-verbal de transaction et le montant de la valeur de rachat des prestations de retraite du demandeur en tenant compte des prestations de retraite anticipée à la date de cessation d’emploi du demandeur.

  19. Par conséquent, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner que l’administrateur du régime de retraite de Stelpipe verse au demandeur une somme correspondant à la différence entre le montant des prestations de retraite, de 205 595,16 $ qui a réellement été transféré le 21 mars 2003 ou aux environs de cette date dans le compte de retraite avec immobilisation des fonds du demandeur, et la valeur de rachat révisée (comprenant la valeur des prestations de raccordement) établie à 337 093,26 $ (qui comprend les états de service disponibles au 29 septembre 2000), avec les intérêts accumulés pendant la période allant de la date de cessation d’emploi du demandeur à la date de paiement.

  20. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 8 mai 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.