Unilever Canada Pension Plan - January 4, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Make an Order under section 69(1)(f) of the PBA relating to the Unilever Canada Pension Plan, Registration Number 0348367.

TO:

Unilever Canada Inc.
160 Bloor St East, Suite 1500
Toronto, Ontario
M4W 3R2

Attn:

John D. Coyne
Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

Employer and Administrator

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO MAKE AN ORDER under section 69 (1)(f) of the PBA that the Unilever Canada Pension Plan, Registration Number 348367 (the “Plan”) be partially wound up in relation to those members and former members of the Plan who ceased to be employed by Unilever Canada Inc. (“Unilever”) as a result of the sale of the Home & Personal Care (“HPC”) facility at 21 Don Valley Parkway, Toronto to Korex Don Valley ULC.

REASONS FOR THE ORDER:

  1. Unilever is the employer and administrator of the Plan.

  2. Unilever sold the HPC facility at 21 Don Valley Parkway, Toronto to Korex Don Valley ULC (the “Purchaser”).

  3. Effective August 19, 2002, 272 plan members from the HPC facility (the “Affected Members”) ceased to be employees of Unilever and became employees of the Purchaser and ceased to accrue credited service in the Plan. No pension plan has been provided to the Affected Members by the Purchaser.

  4. Section 69(1)(f) provides that the Superintendent by order may require the wind up of a pension plan in whole or in part if “all or part of the employer’s business or all or part of the assets of the employer’s business are sold, assigned or otherwise disposed of and the person who acquires the business or assets does not provide a pension plan for the members of the employer’s pension plan who become employees of the person.”

  5. Therefore, there are grounds for the Superintendent to order a partial wind up of the Plan in respect of the Affected Members.

  6. Where it has been clearly demonstrated that the entitlements of the members affected by a partial wind up under the PBA have otherwise been provided, the Superintendent may exercise his discretion not to order a wind up in part.

  7. Section 70(6) provides that on the partial wind up of a pension plan, the affected members shall have rights and benefits that are not less than the right and benefits they would have on a full wind up of the pension plan on the effective date of the partial wind up.

  8. The Plan was in a substantial surplus position as of the date of the sale.

  9. In addition, the PBA provides enhanced benefit entitlements to members affected by a partial wind up, including grow-in benefits under section 74. Although, the administrator has advised the Superintendent that all such benefits have otherwise been paid, the Superintendent has insufficient information available to him at this time to confirm this fact.

  10. Therefore, there is good reason for the Superintendent to exercise his discretion to order a partial wind up of the Plan because the Affected Members have a right to surplus distribution and the Superintendent is unable to verify if other entitlements under the PBA available on wind up were paid.

  11. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver, to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*


YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
North York, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar


FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

THE ADMINISTRATOR IS REQUIRED
pursuant to section 89(5) of the PBA to transmit a copy of this Notice of Proposal to the following persons: all members and former members of the Plan who were employed by Unilever Canada Inc. and who ceased to be employed by Unilever Canada Inc at as a result of the sale of HPC to the Purchaser.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 4th day of January, 2007.



K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

Copy: H. Caley - CaleyWray
R. Downing - Teamsters Local Union 132

*NOTE - Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the date of mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Unilever Canada Pension Plan - 4 janvier, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de rendre une ordonnance en vertu de l’alinéa 69 (1) f) de la Loi concernant le régime de retraite de Unilever Canada, numéro d’enregistrement 0348367.

À :

Unilever Canada Inc.
160, rue Bloor Est, bureau 1500
Toronto (Ontario)
M4W 3R2

À l’attention de :

John D. Coyne
Vice-président, avocat général et secrétaire général

Employeur et administrateur

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE en vertu de l’alinéa 69 (1) f) de la Loi afin que le régime de retraite de Unilever Canada (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 348367, soit liquidé partiellement eu égard aux participants et aux anciens participants au régime qui ont cessé de travailler chez Unilever Canada Inc. (« Unilever ») à la suite de la vente des installations des produits d’entretien et de soins de la personne (les « installateurs »), sisent au 21 Don Valley Parkway, à Toronto, à Korex Don Valley ULC.

MOTIFS DE L’ORDONNANCE :

  1. Unilever est l’employeur et l’administrateur du régime.

  2. Unilever a vendu les installations du 21 Don Valley Parkway, à Toronto, à Korex Don Valley ULC (l’« acheteur »).

  3. À compter du 19 août 2002, 272 participants au régime, qui travaillaient aux installations (les « participants touchés ») ont vu leur emploi chez Unilever prendre fin, sont devenus des employés de l’acheteur et ont cessé d’accumuler des années décomptées dans leur régime. L’acheteur n’a prévu aucun régime de retraite pour les participants touchés.

  4. L’alinéa 69 (1) f) stipule que le surintendant peut, par ordre, exiger la liquidation partielle ou totale d’un régime de retraite si « la totalité ou une partie des affaires de l’employeur, ou la totalité ou une partie de l’actif relatif aux affaires de l’employeur sont vendus, cédés ou autrement aliénés et la personne qui acquiert ces affaires ou cet actif n’offre pas de régime de retraite aux participants au régime de retraite de l’employeur, qui sont devenus des employés de la personne ».

  5. Par conséquent, le surintendant a des motifs d’envisager la liquidation partielle du régime de retraite eu égard aux participants touchés.

  6. Lorsqu’il a été clairement démontré que les droits des participants touchés par une liquidation partielle en vertu de la Loi ont été autrement respectés, le surintendant peut exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et décider de ne pas ordonner une liquidation partielle du régime.

  7. Le paragraphe 70 (6) prévoit qu’à la liquidation partielle d’un régime de retraite, les participants touchés ont des droits et prestations qui ne sont pas inférieurs aux droits et prestations qu’ils auraient à la liquidation totale du régime de retraite à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle.

  8. Le régime de retraite affichait un excédent appréciable au moment de la vente.

  9. De plus, l’article 74 de la Loi prévoit un droit à des prestations accrues, notamment à des prestations de retraite plus élevées, pour les participants touchés par une liquidation partielle. Bien que l’administrateur ait avisé le surintendant que de telles prestations avaient autrement été versées, le surintendant ne dispose pas de renseignements suffisants à l’heure actuelle pour confirmer ce fait.

  10. Par conséquent, le surintendant a de bonnes raisons d’exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et d’ordonner la liquidation partielle du régime, car les participants touchés ont droit à la répartition de l’excédent et que le surintendant ne peut vérifier si les autres montants auxquels les participants avaient droit au moment de la liquidation ont été versés conformément aux dispositions de la Loi.

  11. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de la demande d’audience.*


VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier


POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS
sur la formule relative à l’avis écrit de demande d’audience, consultez le site Web du Tribunal à l’adresse www.fstontario.ca ou communiquez avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7294 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

L’ADMINISTRATEUR EST TENU, en vertu du paragraphe 89 (5) de la Loi, de transmettre une copie du présent avis d’intention aux personnes suivantes : tous les participants et anciens participants au régime qui étaient employés par Unilever Canada Inc. et ont vu leur emploi prendre fin à la suite de la vente des installations à l’acheteur.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 4 janvier, 2007.




K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

c.c. : H. Caley – CaleyWray
R. Downing – Teamsters, section locale 132

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.