Volkswagen Canada Inc. - April 24, 2007

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”)

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Refuse to Approve a Partial Wind Up Report under section 70 of the PBA relating to the Retirement Plan for the Employees of Volkswagen Canada Inc, Registration No. 0315226.

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal to Require a New Report by the Superintendent of Financial Services under section 88 of the PBA relating to the Retirement Plan for the Employees of Volkswagen Canada Inc., Registration No. 0315226.

 

 

TO:                

Volkswagen Canada Inc.
777 Bayly Street West
Ajax ON   L1S 7G7

 

Attention:      

Mr. D. G. McQuirter
Human Resources Advisor

 

AND TO:       

Mr. Todd Hellstrom
Hewitt Associates
2 Sheppard Avenue East
Toronto, ON M2N 7A4


NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO REFUSE TO APPROVE: The Actuarial Report on the Partial Wind-up of Retirement Plan for the Employees of Volkswagen Canada Inc., Registration Number 0315226, (the “Plan”) as at December 31, 1994.

 

I ALSO PROPOSE TO REQUIRE A NEW REPORT to be prepared and filed within sixty (60) days from the date of this Notice of Proposal, which shall deal with the distribution of surplus related to the partial wind up effective December 31, 1994 relating to the Plan, pursuant to sections 70 and 88 of the PBA.

 

REASONS FOR THE PROPOSED ORDER:

  1. The Plan was partially wound up effective December 31, 1994. A partial wind up report was filed with the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) on April 24, 1995 (the “Wind up Report”). The Wind Up Report indicated that there was an excess of partial wind up assets over liabilities. The Wind Up Report did not contain any proposal for the distribution of surplus to the members of the Plan who were affected by the partial wind up.

  2. On January 16, 1996 the Superintendent approved the distribution of basic benefits pursuant to section 70(3) of the PBA and advised Volkswagen Canada Inc. that any proposals with respect to the distribution of surplus would be dealt with separately.

  3. The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”) by letter dated August 18, 2004, advised Volkswagen Canada Inc. that the partial wind up of the Plan had not been completed as the surplus assets that relate to the wound-up portion of the plan have not been distributed.  FSCO requested that the Company submit a notice of the Company’s intentions regarding the distribution of surplus by October 17, 2004.

  4. The Company advised FSCO, by letter dated February 24, 2005, from Hewitt Associates, the Plan actuary, that it intends to leave the surplus in respect of the December 31, 1994 partial wind-up in the Plan. The Company states that the surplus of $14,690 is too small to justify the expense of determining and distributing the surplus as the cost of updating the Plan’s funded position, determining the ownership of surplus, finding the former employees and distributing the surplus will exceed the updated amount of surplus.

  5. FSCO by letter dated April 22, 2005, advised Hewitt and Associates that before reviewing the letter of February 24, 2005, information relating to the 23 members who were part of the Early Retirement Window during the same time frame as the partial wind-up was needed. FSCO also indicated that if the Early Retirement Window employees are not included as part of the partial wind-up, then the position of the Plan immediately prior to the wind-up is represented in the Wind up Report. FSCO also informed Hewitt that an attribution of the assets by liability as of that date would yield a surplus amount substantially different than the amount of $14,690 quoted in the February 24, 2005 letter.

  6. FSCO did not receive a response from Hewitt to its letter of April 22, 2005. FSCO subsequently sent two reminder letters to Hewitt dated June 23, 2005 and August 9, 2005 requesting that it respond to the issues raised in its letter dated April 22, 2005. To date Hewitt has not responded.

  7. Section 88(2) (c) of the PBA states that the Superintendent may make an order requiring the preparation of a new report and specifying the assumptions or methods or both that shall be used in the preparation of the new report, if the Superintendent is of the opinion that a report submitted in respect of a pension plan does not meet the requirements and qualifications of the PBA, regulations, or the pension plan.

  8. Section 1 of the PBA defines “partial wind up” as meaning a distribution of assets of the Plan that are related to the partial wind up.

  9. Section 1 of the PBA defines “surplus” as the excess of the value of the assets of a pension fund related to a pension plan over the value of the liabilities under the pension plan, both calculated in the prescribed manner.

  10. Section 70(6) of the PBA states that on a partial wind up, members, former members, and other persons entitled to benefits under the pension plan shall have rights and benefits that are not less than the rights and benefits they would have on a full wind up of the pension plan on the effective date of the partial wind up.

  11. Section 70(1)(c) of the PBA states that the administrator shall file a partial wind up report that sets out the methods of allocating and distributing the assets of the pension plan and determine the priorities for payments of benefits.

  12. The Supreme Court of Canada has confirmed in Monsanto Canada Inc. et al. v. Superintendent of Financial Services (2004 SCC 54), that members affected by a partial wind up are entitled to have surplus assets distributed on the effective date of the partial wind up.

  13. Therefore, both the Wind Up Report and the Revised Report do not comply with the PBA because they do not provide for the distribution of surplus on partial wind up.

  14. Section 87(2)(c) of the PBA states that the Superintendent may make an order if the Superintendent is of the opinion, upon reasonable and probable grounds, that the administrator or employer of the plan is contravening a requirement of the PBA or regulations.

  15. On a full wind up, all assets of the plan are distributed. If there are surplus assets, and the members are entitled to surplus under the terms of the pension plan, the surplus must be distributed to the members. If there are surplus assets, and the employer is entitled to surplus under the terms of the pension plan and wants the surplus paid to the employer, the employer must apply to the Superintendent for consent to withdraw surplus pursuant to section 78(1) of the PBA. The employer must also show compliance with section 79(3) of the PBA and obtain the consent of at least 2/3 of the members pursuant to section 8 of  Regulation 909, R.R.O 1990.

  16. Because the members are entitled to a surplus distribution on full wind up if they are entitled to surplus under the plan, they have the same right on partial wind up.

  17. Because the members are entitled to consent to a surplus withdrawal by the employer on full wind up if the employer is entitled to surplus under the plan, they have the same right on partial wind up.

  18. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.

 

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING before the Financial Services Tribunal of Ontario (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the Act.  To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

 

YOUR WRITTEN REQUEST must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor
Toronto ON M2N 6L9

 

Attention: The Registrar

 

For further information, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-226-7752, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128 ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.        

 

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY ISSUE THE ORDERS PROPOSED IN THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 24th day of  April, 2007.

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

 

*PURSUANT TO section 112 of the Act, any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the seventh day after the day of mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Volkswagen Canada Inc. - 24 avril, 2007

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de refuser d’approuver un rapport de liquidation partielle en vertu de l’article70 de la Loi concernant le régime de retraite des employés de Volkswagen Canada Inc, numéro d’enregistrement 0315226;

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers d’exiger la rédaction d’un nouveau rapport en vertu de l’article 88 de la Loi à l’égard du régime de retraite des employés de Volkswagen Canada Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 0315226.

 

 

À :

Volkswagen Canada Inc.
777, rue Bayly Ouest
Ajax (Ontario)  L1S 7G7

 

À l’attention de :

M. D. G. McQuirter

Conseiller en ressources humaines

 

ET À :

M. Todd Hellstrom
Hewitt Associates
2, avenue Sheppard Est
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 7A4

 

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE REFUSER D’APPROUVER le rapport actuariel de liquidation partielle du régime de retraite des employés de Volkswagen Canada Inc., numéro d’enregistrement0315226 (le «régime») en date du 31décembre 1994.

 

J’AI ÉGALEMENT L’INTENTION D’EXIGER, en vertu des articles 70 et 88 de la Loi, la rédaction et le dépôt d’un nouveau rapport dans les soixante (60) jours de la date de signification du présent avis d’intention, qui porte sur la répartition de l’excédent lié à la liquidation partielle à compter du 31décembre 1994 relativement au régime de retraite.

 

MOTIFS DE L’ORDONNANCE PROPOSÉE:

  1. Le régime a été partiellement liquidé le 31décembre 1994. Un rapport de liquidation partielle a été soumis au surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») le 24avril 1995 (le «rapport de liquidation»). Le rapport de liquidation indiquait qu’il y avait un excédent d’actif à la liquidation partielle par rapport au passif. Il ne renfermait aucune proposition quant à la répartition de l’excédent entre les participants au régime touchés par la liquidation partielle.

  2. Le 16janvier 1996, le surintendant a approuvé la répartition des prestations de base conformément au paragraphe70(3) de la Loi et informé Volkswagen Canada Inc. que toutes les propositions concernant la répartition de l’excédent seraient traitées séparément.

  3. La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (la «CSFO»), dans une lettre datée du 18août 2004, a informé Volkswagen Canada Inc. que la liquidation partielle du régime n’avait pas été achevée étant donné que l’excédent d’actif lié à la partie du régime soumise à la liquidation n’avait pas été réparti.  La CSFO a demandé que la société soumette un avis de ses intentions relativement à la répartition de l’excédent d’ici le 17octobre 2004.

  4. Dans une lettre datée du 24février 2005 provenant de Hewitt Associates, l’actuaire du régime, la société a informé le CSFO de son intention de ne pas répartir l’excédent concernant la liquidation partielle du régime en date du 31décembre 1994. La société a déclaré que l’excédent évalué à 14690$ est trop insignifiant pour justifier le coût de détermination et de répartition de l’actif parce que les frais associés à la mise à jour du régime capitalisé, à la détermination du droit de propriété de l’excédent, à la recherche des anciens employés et à la répartition de l’excédent seront supérieurs au montant actualisé de l’excédent.

  5. La CSFO, dans une lettre datée du 22avril 2005, a informé Hewitt and Associates que pour pouvoir examiner sa lettre du 24février 2005, elle avait besoin des renseignements sur les 23participants qui faisaient partie des employés qui avaient pris une retraite anticipée au cours de la période de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle. La CSFO a également indiqué que si les employés qui ont pris une retraite anticipée n’ont pas été touchés par la liquidation partielle, la position du régime FSCO immédiatement avant la liquidation est par conséquent décrite dans le rapport de liquidation. De plus, la CSFO a informé Hewitt qu’une répartition de l’actif en fonction de la responsabilité à cette date donnerait un montant très différent du montant de 14690$ proposé dans la lettre du 24février 2005.

  6. Hewitt n’a pas répondu à la lettre de la CSFO datée du 22avril 2005. La CSFO a par la suite envoyé à Hewitt deux lettres de rappel datées du 23juin 2005 et du 9août 2005 demandant qu’elle réponde aux questions soulevées dans sa lettre datée du 22avril 2005. Hewitt n’a toujours pas répondu à cette lettre.

  7. L’alinéa88(2)c) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance exigeant la rédaction d’un nouveau rapport et précisant les hypothèses ou les méthodes à utiliser dans la rédaction du nouveau rapport, s’il est d’avis qu’un rapport soumis à l’égard d’un régime de retraite ne répond pas aux exigences et aux conditions de la Loi, des règlements ou du régime de retraite.

  8. L’article 1 de la Loi définit l’expression « liquidation partielle» comme une répartition de l’actif de la caisse du régime qui se rapporte à la liquidation partielle.

  9. L’article 1 de la Loi définit le terme « excédent » comme l’excédent de la valeur de l’actif de la caisse de retraite lié à un régime de retraite par rapport à la valeur du passif relatif au régime de retraite, les deux sommes étant calculées de la manière prescrite.

  10. Le paragraphe 70 (6) de la Loi stipule qu’à la liquidation partielle d’un régime de retraite, les participants, les anciens participants et les autres personnes qui ont droit à des prestations en vertu du régime de retraite ont des droits et prestations qui ne sont pas inférieurs aux droits et prestations qu’ils auraient à la liquidation totale du régime de retraite à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle.

  11. L’alinéa 70 (1) c) de la Loi stipule que l’administrateur doit déposer un rapport de liquidation partielle qui indique les méthodes d’attribution et de répartition de l’actif du régime de retraite et la méthode de détermination des priorités pour le paiement des prestations.

  12. La Cour suprême du Canada a confirmé, dans l’affaire Monsanto Canada Inc. et al. c. Surintendant des services financiers (2004 CSC54), que les participants touchés par une liquidation partielle ont droit à l’excédent d’actif réparti à la date de prise d’effet de la liquidation partielle.

  13. Par conséquent, le rapport de liquidation et le rapport révisé ne sont pas conformes à la Loi parce qu’ils ne prévoient pas la répartition de l’excédent à la liquidation partielle.

  14. L’alinéa 87 (2) c) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance s’il est d’avis, en se fondant sur des motifs raisonnables et probables, que l’administrateur du régime de retraite ou l’employeur contrevient à l’une des exigences de la Loi ou des règlements.

  15. Au moment d’une liquidation totale, tous les éléments d’actif du régime sont répartis. Si le régime enregistre un excédent d’actif et que les participants ont droit à l’excédent aux termes du régime de retraite, cet excédent doit être réparti entre les participants. Si le régime enregistre un excédent d’actif et que l’employeur a droit à l’excédent aux termes du régime de retraite et souhaite que cet excédent lui soit payé, l’employeur doit demander au surintendant de consentir au retrait des sommes excédentaires en vertu du paragraphe 78(1) de la Loi.  L’employeur doit également se conformer au paragraphe79(3) de la Loi et obtenir l’accord d’au moins les deux tiers des participants, conformément à l’article8 du Règlement909, R.R.O 1990.

  16. Puisque les participants ont droit à une répartition de l’excédent au moment de la liquidation totale si cela est prévu dans le régime, ce droit s’applique également à la liquidation partielle.

  17. Puisque les participants ont droit de consentir à un retrait de sommes excédentaires par l’employeur au moment de la liquidation totale si cela est prévu dans le régime, ce droit s’applique également à la liquidation partielle.

  18. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

 

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience. *

 

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

 

À l’attention du greffier

 

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.                 

 

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE LES ORDONNANCES DÉCRITES AUX PRÉSENTES.

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 24 avril 2007.  

 

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

* EN VERTU DE l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.

 

 


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.