Dow Chemical Canada Inc. Sarnia Division - August 10, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “Act”)

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Proposal of the Superintendent of Financial Services to Refuse to Consent to a Transfer of Assets under section 80 of the Act relating to the transfer from the Dow Chemical Canada Inc. Sarnia Division Hourly Employees’ Pension Plan, Registration Number 366609, to the TransAlta Corporation Pension Plan, Alberta Registration Number 276209

TO:

Dow Chemical Canada Inc.
1425 South Vidal Street
Box 3030
Sarnia, Ontario
N7T 8C6

Attention: Employer and Administrator

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO REFUSE TO CONSENT

I PROPOSE TO REFUSE TO CONSENT to a transfer of assets effective March 29, 2002, from the Dow Chemical Canada Inc. Sarnia Division Hourly Employees’ Pension Plan, Registration Number 366609 (the “Plan”), to the TransAlta Corporation Pension Plan, Alberta Registration Number 276209, under section 80 of the Act.

REASONS:

  1. The Applicant is the Employer and Administrator of the Plan.

  2. In September 2003, the Applicant filed with the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) a Report on the Asset Transfer on the Dow Chemical Canada Inc. Sarnia Division Hourly Employees’ Pension Plan to the Trans Alta Corporation Pension Plan at March 29, 2002 (the “Report”). The Report is dated August 28, 2003.

  3. The Report is with respect to one member of the Plan and the amount to be transferred is $224,337.00, which represents the liabilities related to this one member. The Report states that excess assets are to remain in the Plan.

  4. The Plan is a defined benefit plan that is subject to a trust.

  5. On March 5, 2004, the Superintendent’s staff wrote to Watson Wyatt Worldwide (“Wyatt”), the Applicant’s agent, stating that the application would be placed in abeyance until the Applicant had demonstrated that the Court of Appeal’s decision in Aegeon (sic) Canada Inc. and Transamerica Life Canada v. ING Canada Inc. (“Transamerica”) did not apply to this application.

  6. On May 10, 2005, the Superintendent’s staff wrote to Wyatt requesting submissions on whether Transamerica applied to this application by July 9, 2005.

  7. On July 12, 2005, Wyatt requested an extension of the time to make submissions on Transamerica from July 9, 2005 to July 29, 2005.

  8. On July 14, 2005, an extension was granted to Wyatt to July 29, 2005.

  9. On August 4, 2005, Wyatt filed certain documentation but did not respond to the
    Transamerica issue.

  10. On August 17, 2005, the Superintendent’s representative wrote a letter to Wyatt
    requesting submissions on the Transamerica issue by September 16, 2005.

  11. On October 3, 2005, the Superintendent received submissions on the Transamerica issue from Towers Perrin, the agent for the purchaser in the transaction, TransAlta Energy Corporation. The submissions were essentially that Transamerica should not apply to transfers of assets that do not involve large amounts and that involve small numbers of pension plan members.

  12. On October 17, 2005, the Deputy Superintendent, Pensions, wrote to Towers Perrin, stating that the submissions in the October 3, 2005 letter did not meet the Superintendent’s criteria for distinguishing the application from Transamerica, and that the Superintendent was not satisfied that Transamerica did not apply to this application.

  13. On October 28, 2005, Wyatt sent a letter to the Superintendent’s staff, stating that no additional information would be filed, and requesting that the application be reviewed based on the information provided to date.

  14. On November 3, 2005, the Superintendent’s staff wrote to Wyatt to inform Wyatt of the correspondence between Towers Perrin and the Deputy Superintendent, Pensions. The letter suggested that Wyatt discuss with Towers Perrin whether additional submissions would be made, and requested that staff be advised by December 2, 2005 as to how the Applicant wished to proceed.

  15. On January 4, 2006, the Superintendent’s staff wrote to Wyatt, noting that there had been no response to staff’s November 3, 2005 letter. The January 4 letter requested that the Applicant satisfy the Superintendent that there were no trust-related issues by February 4, 2006, and enclosed a checklist which had recently been posted on the web site of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario to assist applicants in identifying and dealing with trust-related issues arising from Transamerica.

  16. On February 21, 2006, Wyatt sent a letter to the Superintendent’s staff, advising that the Applicant did not intend to make further submissions and requesting that the application be reviewed based on the information provided by the Applicant to date.

  17. Nothing further has been received from the Applicant or on its behalf since Wyatt’s
    letter dated February 21, 2006.

  18. Transamerica is about an asset transfer or merger from a pension plan that was subject to a trust and in a surplus position, to a pension plan that was not subject to a trust and in a deficit position. After the transfer, the actuarial surplus that derived from the trust plan was used to fund the employer’s obligations to the non-trust plan. The Court of Appeal for Ontario held that this was “cross-subsidization” that was not permitted by the terms of the trust, stating:

    In my view, the clear terms of the Halifax Trust (the exporting plan) precluded any part of the capital or income of the fund from being diverted to any purpose other than the exclusive benefit of the beneficiaries of the Halifax Trust, namely the former Halifax employees. The terms of (the) Halifax Trust were not altered by the transfer of assets to the NN Life Plan (the importing plan) in 1989. I do not accept the submission that NN Life’s rights and obligations in relation to Halifax Trust assets were somehow affected by the “merger” of the two pension plans. NN Life was obliged by the terms of the Halifax Trust and by the terms of the undertakings it gave to the P.C.O. (the Pension Commission of Ontario) to maintain the assets of the Halifax Trust separate and apart from the other assets and liabilities of the NN Life Plan. There as no amendment to the Halifax Trust. Nor is there anything “authorized or permitted by law” to allow NN Life to use the assets of the Halifax Trust for any purpose other than the benefit of its beneficiaries. . .

Simply put, as NN Life cannot call upon the assets of the Halifax Trust to
satisfy liabilities owed to the non-Halifax employees, it follows that there
was no basis for NN Life to refer to the Halifax Trust’s surplus in determining its service costs to account for actuarial liabilities in relation to the non-Halifax employees. The Halifax Trust obligation prevents the assets of that trust from ever being used to pay the benefits of non-Halifax employees.

(Court of Appeal for Ontario, December 8, 2003, Docket C39652)

  1. The Applicant has not satisfied the Superintendent that the terms of the trust for the Plan authorize or permit the transfer of assets to the TransAlta Corporation Pension Plan, as required by the Court of Appeal in Transamerica.

  2. Aside from the trust-related issues arising from Transamerica, this application does not contravene the PBA or any policies of the Superintendent relating to transfers of assets under section 80 of the PBA.

  3. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.


YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the Act. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you.*

YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416- 226-7752, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU FAIL TO REQUEST A HEARING WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS, I MAY CARRY OUT THE PROPOSAL AS DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 10th day of August , 2006.

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

C.C.

Watson Wyatt Worldwide
One Queen Street East, Suite 1100
Toronto, Ontario M5C 2Y4

Attention: Trevor Cartlidge, Actuary

 

C.C.

Towers Perrin
175 Bloor Street East, South Tower, Suite 1501
Toronto, Ontario M4W 3T6

Attention: Philip A. Morse, Principal

 

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Division de Sarnia de Dow Chemical Canada Inc. - 10 auot, 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée (la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE l’intention du surintendant des services financiers de refuser de consentir à un transfert d’actif en vertu de l’article 80 de la Loi entre le régime de retraite des employés horaires de la division de Sarnia de Dow Chemical Canada Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 366609 et le régime de retraite de TransAlta Corporation, numéro d’enregistrement de l’Alberta 276209.

À :

Dow Chemical Canada Inc.
1425, rue Vidal Sud
C.P. 3030
Sarnia (Ontario)
N7T 8C6

À l’attention de : Employeur et administrateur


AVIS D’INTENTION DE REFUSER DE CONSENTIR

J’AI L’INTENTION DE REFUSER DE CONSENTIR à un transfert en date du 29 mars 2002, de l’actif du régime de retraite des employés horaires de la division de Sarnia de Dow Chemical Canada Inc., numéro d’enregistrement 366609 (le « régime ») au régime de retraite de TransAlta Corporation, numéro d’enregistrement de l’Alberta 276209, en vertu de l’article 80 de la Loi.

MOTIFS :

  1. Le demandeur est l’employeur et l’administrateur du régime.

  2. En septembre 2003, le demandeur a déposé auprès du surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») un rapport sur le transfert de l’actif du régime de retraite des employés horaires de la division de Sarnia de Dow Chemical Canada Inc. au régime de retraite de TransAlta Corporation en date du 29 mars 2002 (le « rapport »). Ce rapport est daté du 28 août 2003.

  3. Le rapport concerne un participant au régime et le montant à transférer s’élève à 224 337,00 $, montant qui représente le passif lié à ce seul participant. Le rapport déclare que les éléments d’actif excédentaires restent dans le régime.

  4. Le régime détenu en fiducie prévoit des prestations déterminées.

  5. Le 5 mars 2004, le personnel du surintendant a fait parvenir à Watson Wyatt Worldwide (« Wyatt »), le mandataire du demandeur, une lettre l’informant que la demande serait suspendue jusqu’à ce que le demandeur ait démontré que la décision de la Cour d’appel dans l’affaire Aegeon (sic) Canada Inc. et Transamerica Life Canada c. ING Canada Inc. (« Transamerica ») ne s’appliquait pas à la demande.

  6. Le 10 mai 2005, le personnel du surintendant a écrit à Wyatt pour lui demander de présenter des observations sur la question de savoir si la décision dans l’affaire Transamerica s’appliquait à sa demande au plus tard le 9 juillet 2005.

  7. Le 12 juillet 2005, Wyatt a demandé que l’échéance du 9 juillet 2005 soit reportée au 19 juillet 2005 afin de présenter des observations sur l’affaire Transamerica.

  8. Le 14 juillet 2005, une prorogation jusqu’au 29 juillet 2005 a été accordée à Wyatt.

  9. Le 4 août 2005, Wyatt a déposé certains documents qui ne tranchaient toutefois pas la question de l’affaire Transamerica.

  10. Le 17 août 2005, le représentant du surintendant a écrit une lettre à Wyatt dans laquelle il lui demande de présenter des observations concernant l’affaire Transamerica au plus tard le 16 septembre 2005.

  11. Le 3 octobre 2005, le surintendant a reçu des observations sur l’affaire Transamerica de la part de Towers Perrin, mandataire de TransAlta Energy Corporation, l’acheteur dans l’opération. Les observations disaient essentiellement que la décision dans l’affaire Transamerica ne devrait pas s’appliquer aux transferts d’actif qui ne représentent pas une somme importante et qui touchent de petits nombres de participants à un régime de retraite.

  12. Le 17 octobre 2005, le surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite a fait parvenir une lettre à Towers Perrin dans laquelle il déclare que les observations présentées dans la lettre du 3 octobre 2005 ne répondent pas à ses critères permettant d’établir une distinction entre la demande et la décision dans l’affaire Transamerica, et qu’il n’est pas convaincu que l’affaire Transamerica ne s’applique pas en l’espèce.

  13. Le 28 octobre 2005, Wyatt a fait parvenir au personnel du surintendant une lettre déclarant qu’aucun autre renseignement ne serait déposé et demandant que la demande soit examinée en fonction des renseignements fournis jusqu’à ce jour.

  14. Le 3 novembre 2005, le personnel du surintendant a écrit à Wyatt pour l’informer de la correspondance entre Towers Perrin et le surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite. La lettre proposait que Wyatt discute avec Towers Perrin pour déterminer si d’autres observations seraient déposées et demandait que le personnel soit informé avant le 2 décembre 2005 de la façon dont le demandeur désirait poursuivre.

  15. Le 4 janvier 2006, le personnel du surintendant a écrit à Wyatt pour lui signaler qu’il n’avait reçu aucune réponse à sa lettre du 3 novembre 2005. Dans cette lettre, il priait le demandeur de convaincre le surintendant, au plus tard le 4 février 2006, qu’il n’existe aucune question d’origine fiduciaire et a joint une liste de vérification récemment affichée sur le site Web de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario pour aider les demandeurs à définir et à régler les questions d’origine fiduciaire soulevées par l’affaire Transamerica.

  16. Le 21 février 2006, Wyatt a envoyé une lettre au personnel du surintendant l’informant que le demandeur n’avait pas l’intention de présenter d’autres observations et demandant que la demande soit examinée en fonction des renseignements fournis par le demandeur jusqu’à ce jour.

  17. Le surintendant n’a reçu aucune autre communication de la part du demandeur ou au nom de ce dernier depuis la lettre de Wyatt datée du 21 février 2006.

  18. L’affaire Transamerica concerne un transfert ou une fusion d’actif à partir d’un régime de retraite détenu en fiducie qui affiche un excédent à un régime de retraite déficitaire non détenu en fiducie. Après le transfert, l’excédent actuariel issu du régime fiduciaire a servi à financer les obligations de l’employeur à l’égard du régime non fiduciaire. La Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a statué qu’il s’agissait d’un « interfinancement » non autorisé aux termes de la fiducie. Elle a déclaré :

À mon avis, les modalités claires de la convention de fiducie de Halifax (le régime exportateur) interdisent d’utiliser toute partie du capital ou du revenu du régime à d’autres fins que le bénéfice exclusif des bénéficiaires de la fiducie de Halifax, à savoir les anciens employés d’Halifax. Les modalités de la fiducie de Halifax n’ont pas été modifiées par le transfert d’actif au régime de NN Vie (le régime importateur) en 1989. Je n’accepte pas l’argument selon lequel les droits et obligations de NN Vie à l’égard de l’actif de la fiducie de Halifax ont été d’une façon ou d’une autre modifiés en raison de la « fusion » des deux régimes de retraite. NN Vie était assujettie aux modalités de la fiducie de Halifax et à son engagement envers la CRRO (la Commission des régimes de retraite de l’Ontario) de conserver l’actif de la fiducie de Halifax séparément de l’actif et du passif du régime de NN Vie. La fiducie de Halifax n’a pas été modifiée. Par ailleurs, il n’y a aucune disposition « autorisée ou permise par la loi » qui permette à NN Vie d’utiliser des éléments d’actif de la fiducie de Halifax à des fins autres que le bénéfice de ses bénéficiaires [...]

En gros, comme NN Vie ne peut utiliser l’actif de la fiducie de Halifax pour s’acquitter du passif dû à d’autres employés que ceux de Halifax, il appert qu’elle n’a aucun motif pour inclure l’excédent de la fiducie de Halifax dans le calcul de ses coûts afférents au service pour payer le passif actuariel concernant d’autres employés que ceux de Halifax. L’obligation de la fiducie de Halifax empêche d’utiliser l’actif de cette fiducie pour financer les prestations d’autres employés que ceux de Halifax. [Traduction]

(Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, 8 décembre 2003, registre no C39652)

  1. Le demandeur n’a pas convaincu le surintendant que les modalités de la fiducie du régime autorisent ou permettent le transfert d’actif au régime de retraite de TransAlta Corporation, comme l’exige la Cour d’appel dans l’affaire Transamerica.

  2. À l’exclusion des questions d’origine fiduciaire découlant de l’affaire Transamerica, la demande ne va pas à l’encontre de la Loi ou des politiques du surintendant concernant le transfert d’actif en vertu de l’article 80 de la Loi.

  3. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon attention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience1.

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 10 août 2006.


K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

C.C. :

Watson Wyatt Worldwide
1, rue Queen Est, bureau 1100
Toronto (Ontario) M5C 2Y4

À l’attention de : Trevor Cartlidge, actuaire

C.C. :

Towers Perrin
175, rue Bloor Est, tour Sud, bureau 1501
Toronto (Ontario) M4W 3T6

À l’attention de : Philip A. Morse, mandant


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.