NRG Inc. Retirement Income Plan - May 13, 2006

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “Act”);

AND IN THE MATTER OF an Application under section 78(4) of the Act submitted by Ricoh Canada in respect of the NRG Inc. Retirement Income Plan, Registration Number 0253682 (the “Plan”).

TO:

Ricoh Canada
Yonge Corporate Centre
4100 Yonge Street, Suite 600
Toronto, Ontario M2P 2B5

Attention:

Jane Padwick
Director, Human Resources

Applicant, Employer and Administrator of the Plan

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL

I PROPOSE TO REFUSE TO CONSENT to the application dated July 13, 2001, under section 78(4) of the Act by Ricoh Canada (the “Applicant”) for payment of $231,472 as of December 31, 2000, plus investment earnings thereon to the date of payment out of the pension fund for the Plan.

REASONS FOR THE REFUSAL:

  1. The Applicant submitted an application dated July 13, 2001 (the “Application”), pursuant to section 78(4) of the Act, for the Superintendent’s consent to a payment of $231, 472 as of December 31, 2000, plus investment earnings thereon to the date of payment, out of the fund for the Plan. The Applicant claims that this is the amount of an overpayment by the Applicant into the pension fund for the Plan made on February 9, 1999.

  2. The Plan is a defined benefit pension plan. The Plan was fully wound up with an effective wind up date of February 28, 1996 (the “Wind up Date”). The Wind Up Report disclosed a surplus of $313,000 as of the Wind up Date.

  3. The Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) approved the Wind Up Report on July 21, 1997 and directed the Applicant to proceed with the distribution of benefits in accordance with the Wind Up Report.

  4. The Application states that due to delays in receiving approvals from Revenue Canada, settlements of benefits were delayed until middle of 1998. Further, due to a decrease in annuity purchase rates after the Wind up Date, an updated financial position was prepared and filed with FSCO in a supplementary actuarial opinion as of October 1, 1998 (“Supplementary Report”). This Supplementary Report showed a deficit of $765,000. The Applicant made a lump payment of $765,000 to the pension fund of the Plan on February 9, 1999 to fund the deficit and the remaining members’ benefits were fully settled.

  5. The Applicant states that due to increases in annuity purchase rates between October 1, 1998 and the date of the annuity purchases, there was a financial gain to the Plan resulting in excess assets in the Plan of $231,472 as of December 31, 2000 (the “excess assets”).

  6. Section 1 of the Act defines surplus as the “excess of the value of the assets of a pension fund related to a pension plan over the value of the liabilities under the pension plan, both calculated in the prescribed manner.” The excess assets are assets of the pension fund for the Plan left over after all the liabilities under the Plan have been satisfied and, therefore, the excess assets are surplus within the meaning of section 1 of the Act and, as such, the Superintendent can only consent to the payment of money that is surplus to the employer if the requirements of section 79 of the Act have been met.

  7. Section 78(4) of the Act provides that the Superintendent may consent to payment out of a pension fund to an employer of an amount not in excess of the amount of an overpayment by the employer into the pension fund or of an amount paid by the employer that should have been paid out of the pension fund, but shall not consent unless the application is made in the same fiscal year of the pension fund as the fiscal year in which the overpayment or the payment occurred.

  8. The excess assets do not result from any of the circumstances listed in the Financial Services Commission of Ontario’s (“FSCO’s”), policy entitled “Application for Refund of Employer Overpayment” (Index No. R350-102), in which an employer may be considered to have over-contributed to a pension fund for the purposes of section 78(4) of the Act. Specifically, the excess assets do not result from contributions made on the basis of an actuarial report for which the effective date has passed but when the new report was filed, such contributions exceeded those required by the new report. Nor do the excess assets result from payments made directly by the employer when those payments should have been made from the pension fund. Lastly, the excess assets do not result from contributions paid into the pension fund of the wrong pension plan as a result of an administrative error.

  9. Section 75(1)(b)(ii) of the Act requires that where a pension plan is wound up, the employer pay into the pension fund an amount equal to the amount by which, the value of the pension benefits accrued with respect to employment in Ontario exceed the value of the assets of the pension fund allocated as prescribed for payment of pension benefits accrued with respect to employment in Ontario. Section 32(1) of the Regulation states that “[u]ntil the employer’s liability under section 75 of the Act is funded, the administrator of the Plan shall annually cause the Plan to be reviewed and a report to be prepared by a person authorized by section 15 and shall file the report within six months after the valuation date of the report.” Section 32(4) of the Regulation states:

    Where a report made under this section shows that there is no further amount to be funded, any surplus may revert to the employer, subject to the requirements of section 79 of the Act

  10. The Applicant claims that the payment into the Plan was not made pursuant to the annual valuation report prepared in accordance with section 32(1) of the Regulation and since the Plan was in surplus on wind up, section 75 of the Act did not apply. As a result, the Applicant claims that section 32(4) of the Regulations is not applicable in the circumstances.

  11. Regardless of whether or not amounts paid into a pension fund resulting in an excess are paid in pursuant to a report filed under section 32 of the Regulations or otherwise, the assets in the pension fund of the Plan left over after the payment of all benefit entitlements is surplus and may only revert to the employer if the requirements of section 79 of the Act have been met. The Applicant has not provided any evidence that the requirements of section 79 have been met. Therefore, the Superintendent cannot consent to the withdrawal of any surplus funds by the Applicant.

  12. Such further reasons as may come to my attention.


    YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to subsection 89(6) of the Act if, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Proposal is served on you, you deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing.*.

Your written notice requiring a hearing must be delivered to:
Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor
North York ON M2N 6L9

Attention: The Registrar

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-226-7752, toll-free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7752, or by fax at 416-226-7750.

IF YOU DO NOT DELIVER TO THE TRIBUNAL, WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS NOTICE OF PROPOSAL IS SERVED ON YOU, A WRITTEN NOTICE THAT YOU REQUIRE A HEARING, I MAY MAKE THE ORDER PROPOSED HEREIN.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 13th day of May, 2006

K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions

*NOTE—PURSUANT to section 112 of the Act any notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served, or delivered if delivered personally or sent by first class mail and any document sent by first class mail shall be deemed to be given, served, or delivered on the seventh day after mailing.


 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Régime de revenu de retraite de NRG Inc. - le 13 mai 2006

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P.8, modifiée
(la « Loi »);

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE d’une demande déposée en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi par Ricoh Canada concernant le régime de revenu de retraite de NRG Inc. (le « régime »), numéro d’enregistrement 0253682.

À :

Ricoh Canada
Yonge Corporate Centre
4100, rue Yonge, bureau 600
Toronto (Ontario) M2P 2B5

À l’attention de : Jane Padwick
Directrice, ressources humaines

Demandeur, employeur et administrateur du régime

AVIS D’INTENTION

J’AI L’INTENTION DE REFUSER DE CONSENTIR à une demande en date du 13 juillet 2001 déposée en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi par Ricoh Canada (le « demandeur ») en vue du paiement d’un montant de 231 472 $ en date du 31 décembre 2000, majoré des revenus de placement sur ce montant jusqu’à la date de paiement à même la caisse de retraite du régime.

MOTIFS DU REFUS :

  1. Le demandeur a déposé une demande datée du 13 juillet 2001 (la « demande ») en vertu du paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi en vue d’obtenir du surintendant qu’il consente au paiement d’un montant de 231 472 $ en date du 31 décembre 2000, majoré des revenus de placement sur ce montant jusqu’à la date de paiement à même la caisse de retraite du régime. Le demandeur prétend que ce montant correspond à un versement excédentaire qu’il a fait à la caisse de retraite du régime le 9 février 1999.

  2. Le régime est un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées. Le régime a été liquidé en totalité le 28 février 1996 (la « date de liquidation »). Le rapport de liquidation a révélé un excédent de 313 000 $ à la date de liquidation.

  3. Le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») a approuvé le rapport de liquidation le 21 juillet 1997 et a enjoint au demandeur de poursuivre la répartition des prestations conformément au rapport de liquidation.

  4. La demande stipule qu’en raison des retards dans la réception des autorisations de l’Agence du revenu du Canada, le règlement des prestations a été retardé jusqu’à la mi-1998. En outre, en raison d’une diminution des taux de souscription de rentes après la date de liquidation, une mise à jour de la situation financière a été préparée et déposée auprès de la CSFO dans une opinion actuarielle supplémentaire en date du 1er octobre 1998 (le « rapport supplémentaire »). Ce rapport supplémentaire indiquait un déficit de 765 000 $. Le demandeur a fait un paiement forfaitaire de 765 000 $ à la caisse de retraite du régime le 9 février 1999 pour financer le déficit et les prestations résiduelles des participants ont été entièrement acquittées.

  5. Le demandeur a déclaré qu’en raison d’augmentations des taux de souscription de rente entre le 1er octobre 1998 et la date de souscription des rentes, le régime a enregistré un gain financier à l’origine d’un excédent d’actif du régime de 231 472 $ en date du 31 décembre 2000 (l’« excédent d’actif »).

  6. L’article 1 de la Loi définit le terme « excédent » comme étant « l’excédent de la valeur de l’actif de la caisse de retraite liée à un régime de retraite par rapport à la valeur du passif relatif au régime de retraite, les deux sommes étant calculées de la manière prescrite ». L’excédent d’actif correspond aux éléments d’actif de la caisse de retraite du régime qui restent une fois le passif aux termes du régime réglé. L’excédent d’actif est donc l’excédent au sens de l’article 1 de la Loi et, par conséquent, le surintendant ne peut consentir au paiement de l’excédent à l’employeur que si les exigences prévues à l’article 79 de la Loi sont satisfaites.

  7. Le paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant peut consentir au paiement à un employeur, par prélèvement sur une caisse de retraite, d’un montant qui ne dépasse pas le versement excédentaire que l’employeur a fait à la caisse de retraite ou le montant payé par l’employeur qui aurait dû être prélevé sur la caisse de retraite. Toutefois, il n’y consent que si la demande est présentée au cours du même exercice de la caisse de retraite que celui au cours duquel le versement excédentaire ou le paiement ont été faits.

  8. L’excédent d’actif ne résulte pas de l’une des circonstances énumérées dans la politique de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (la « CSFO ») intitulée Demande de remboursement de versement excédentaire par un employeur (Index no R350-102), dans lesquelles un employeur peut être considéré comme ayant fait un versement excédentaire à une caisse de retraite conformément au paragraphe 78 (4) de la Loi. Tout particulièrement, l’excédent d’actif ne résulte pas des cotisations versées en fonction d’un rapport actuariel déjà entré en vigueur qui sont supérieures aux cotisations obligatoires établies dans le nouveau rapport déposé. L’excédent d’actif ne résulte pas non plus de paiements versés directement par l’employeur alors que c’est la caisse de retraite qui aurait dû le faire, ni de cotisations versées à une caisse de retraite erronée en raison d’une erreur administrative.

  9. Le sous-alinéa 75 (1) b) (ii) de la Loi exige, dans les cas de liquidation d’un régime de retraite, que l’employeur verse à la caisse de retraite un montant égal à la différence entre la valeur des prestations de retraite accumulées à l’égard de l’emploi en Ontario et la valeur de l’actif de la caisse de retraite affecté, comme cela est prescrit, au paiement des prestations de retraite accumulées à l’égard de l’emploi en Ontario. Le paragraphe 32 (1) du Règlement stipule que « jusqu’à ce que le passif de l’employeur visé à l’article 75 de la Loi ait été financé, l’administrateur du régime fait annuellement réviser le régime et préparer un rapport par une personne autorisée aux termes de l’article 15 et dépose le rapport dans les six mois qui suivent sa date d’évaluation ». Le paragraphe 32 (4) du Règlement stipule ce qui suit :

    Lorsqu’un rapport préparé aux termes du présent article indique qu’il ne reste plus de montant à financer, l’excédent peut être versé à l’employeur, sous réserve des exigences de l’article 79 de la Loi.

  10. Le demandeur prétend que le paiement versé au régime n’a pas été fait conformément au rapport d’évaluation actuarielle annuel préparé en vertu du paragraphe 32 (1) du Règlement et que, puisque le régime enregistrait un excédent à la liquidation, l’article 75 de la Loi ne s’appliquait pas. Par conséquent, le demandeur affirme que le paragraphe 32 (4) de la Loi ne s’applique pas dans les circonstances.

  11. Que des montants versés dans une caisse de retraite qui produisent un excédent soient ou non payés conformément à un rapport déposé en vertu de l’article 32 du Règlement ou autrement, l’actif de la caisse de retraite du régime qui reste une fois tous les droits aux prestations acquittés constitue un excédent qui ne peut être versé à l’employeur que si les exigences prévues à l’article 79 de la Loi sont satisfaites. Le demandeur n’a fourni aucune preuve que ces exigences ont été satisfaites. Par conséquent, le surintendant ne peut pas consentir au retrait de fonds excédentaires par le demandeur.

  12. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D’ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers
(le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis d’intention, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d’audience.*

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

À l’attention du greffier

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le greffier du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 226-7752, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7752 ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

SI, DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS SUIVANT LA SIGNIFICATION DU PRÉSENT AVIS D’INTENTION, VOUS OMETTEZ DE FAIRE PARVENIR AU TRIBUNAL UN AVIS ÉCRIT DE DEMANDE D’AUDIENCE, JE POURRAI RENDRE L’ORDONNANCE DÉCRITE AUX PRÉSENTES.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 13 mai 2006.

K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite

*REMARQUE – En vertu de l’article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré s’il est remis en main propre ou acheminé par courrier de première classe, et tout document acheminé par courrier de première classe sera réputé avoir été remis, signifié ou livré le septième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.