Pension Plan For Salaried Employees of Corby Distilleries and Affiliated Companies, Registration Number 413880

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”);

 

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Notice of Intended Decision of the Superintendent of Financial Services to consent, under section 78(1) of the PBA, to a payment out of the pension fund for the Pension Plan For Salaried Employees of Corby Distilleries and Affiliated Companies, Registration Number 0413880.

 
 
TO:
Corby Distilleries Limited
2072 Riverside Drive East
Windsor  ON  N8Y 4S5
 
 
              
Attention: Cathy Duquette
 
 
 
Applicant and Employer
 
 
AND TO:
Paul Litner
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Box 50, 1 First Canadian Place
Toronto  ON  M5X 1B8
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENDED DECISION

 
I INTEND TO CONSENT, under section 78(1) of the PBA, to the payment out of the pension fund for the Pension Plan For Salaried Employees of Corby Distilleries and Affiliated Companies, Registration Number 0413880 (the “Plan”), to Corby Distilleries Limited, in the amount of $334,122 as at August 31, 2010 plus adjustments to the actual date of the payment being made pursuant to the terms of the surplus sharing agreement between Corby Distilleries Limited and Koskie Minsky LLP dated September 23, 2011 (the “Surplus Sharing Agreement”).
 
I INTEND TO MAKE THE CONSENT effective only after:
 
(a)  the Applicant satisfies me that all payments to the Affected Members (as such term is defined in the Surplus Sharing Agreement) which are set out in paragraph 4 below have been paid or otherwise provided for; and
 
(b)  The Applicant withdraws its Request for Hearing filed with the Financial Services Tribunal in FST File No. P0342-2009.
 

I INTEND TO CONSENT FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS:

 
  1. Corby Distilleries Limited is the employer and administrator as defined in the Plan (the “Employer”).
  2. The Plan was wound up in part effective August 31, 1988 (the “1988 Partial Wind Up”) and wound up in part effective September 30, 1989 (the “1989 Partial Wind Up”).
  3. As indicated in the reports provided with the Employer’s application for payment of surplus, as at August 31, 1988 and September 30, 1989 the estimated surplus attributable to the 1988 Partial Wind Up was equal to $308,749 and the estimated surplus attributable to the 1989 Partial Wind Up was equal to $317,519.  As at August 31, 2010, the surplus, net of Partial Wind Up Expenses (as such term is defined in the Surplus Sharing Agreement), was estimated at $1,002,367. 
  4.  The application discloses that by written agreement among:

       (a)       the Employer; and
       (b)       96.15 % of the Affected Members (or by Koskie Minsky LLP, as authorized to act on the Affected Members’ behalf in settling and implementing the Surplus Sharing Agreement ); 
     
              the surplus in the Plan at the date of payment, after deduction of  expenses, is to be distributed:
     
       (a)       33.33% to the Employer; and
       (b)       66.67% to the Affected Members of the Plan.          
     
  5. The Employer has applied, pursuant to section 78(1) of the PBA, for consent of the Superintendent of Financial Services to the payment of 33.33% of the surplus to be distributed from the Plan to the Employer.
     
  6. The application appears to comply with sections 78, 79(3.1), and 77.11(7) of the PBA, and all other applicable requirements under the PBA and Regulation 909, as amended.
     
  7. Such further and other reasons as come to my attention.
 
YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Intended Decision is served on you.
 
YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:
 
Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9
 
Attention: The Registrar
 
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at  416-590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.
 
If you fail to request a hearing within thirty (30) days, I may carry out the intended decision as described in this notice.
 
DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 2nd day of December, 2011.
 
 
___________________________
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions



  NOTE - Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, Order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the fifth day after the date of mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Pension Plan For Salaried Employees of Corby Distilleries and Affiliated Companies, Registration Number 413880

DANS L'AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P. 8, dans sa version modifiée (la « Loi »);

 

ET DANS L'AFFAIRE D’un avis de la décision projetée du surintendant des services financiers de consentir, en vertu du paragraphe 78(1) de la Loi, à un paiement prélevé sur la caisse de retraite du régime de retraite des employés salariés de Corby Distilleries et de ses filiales, numéro d’enregistrement 0413880.

 
 
À :
Corby Distilleries Limited
2072 Riverside Drive East
Windsor (Ontario)  N8Y 4S5
 
 
              
À l’attention de Cathy Duquette
 
 
 
Requérant et employeur
 
 
ET À :
Paul Litner
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Box 50, 1 First Canadian Place
Toronto (Ontario)  M5X 1B8
 
 
 

AVIS DE LA DÉCISION PROJETÉE

 
J’AI L’INTENTION DE CONSENTIR, en vertu du paragraphe 78(1) de la Loi, au paiement par prélèvement sur la caisse de retraite du régime de retraite des employés salariés de Corby Distilleries et de ses filiales, numéro d’enregistrement 0413880 (le « Régime »), à Corby Distilleries Limited, d’un montant de 334 122 $ au 31 août 2010, plus les rajustements à la date réelle de paiement, conformément aux modalités de l’Entente de partage de l’excédent entre Corby Distilleries Limited et Koskie Minsky LLP datée du 23 septembre 2011 (l’« Entente de partage de l’excédent »).
 
MON INTENTION EST QUE LE CONSENTEMENT ne prenne effet que lorsque les deux conditions suivantes auront été remplies :
 
a)  le requérant me convainc que tous les paiements destinés aux participants concernés (selon la définition donnée dans l’Entente de partage de l’excédent) et qui sont stipulés au paragraphe 4 ci‑dessous ont été effectués ou exécutés d’une autre façon;
 
b)  le requérant retire la demande d’audience qu’il a déposée devant le Tribunal des services financiers (TSF) dans le dossier du TSF no P0342-2009.
 

J’AI L’INTENTION DE DONNER MON CONSENTEMENT POUR LES MOTIFS SUIVANTS :

 
  1. Corby Distilleries Limited est l’employeur et l’administrateur tel que cela est défini dans le Régime (l’« employeur »).
  2.  Une liquidation partielle du Régime a pris effet le 31 août 1988 (la « liquidation partielle de 1988 ») et une autre liquidation partielle a pris effet le 30 septembre 1989 (la « liquidation partielle de 1989 »).
  3. Comme l’indiquent les rapports présentés par l’employeur avec sa demande de paiement de l’excédent, au 31 août 1988 et au 30 septembre 1989, l’excédent attribuable à la liquidation partielle de 1988 était estimé à 308 749 $ et l’excédent attribuable à la liquidation partielle de 1989 était estimé à 317 519 $. Au 31 août 2010, l’excédent, après déduction des dépenses liées à la liquidation partielle (selon la définition de ce terme donnée dans l’Entente de partage de l’excédent), était estimé à 1 002 367 $. 
  4. La demande indique que, en vertu d’un accord écrit conclu entre :
     
    a) l’employeur 

    b) et 96,15 % des participants concernés (ou par Koskie Minsky LLP, selon le pouvoir conféré à ce cabinet   d’agir au nom des participants concernés pour conclure et exécuter l’Entente de partage de l’excédent), 
     
    l’excédent du régime à la date du paiement, après déduction des dépenses, doit être réparti de la manière suivante :
     
    a) 33,33 % à l’employeur;
    b) 66,67 % aux membres concernés du Régime.           
     
  5. L’employeur a demandé au surintendant des services financiers, en vertu du paragraphe 78(1) de la Loi, de consentir au paiement de 33,33 % de l’excédent à verser du régime à l’employeur.
  6. La demande semble conforme aux dispositions 78, 79(3.1) et 77.11(7) de la Loi et à toutes les autres exigences applicables en vertu de la Loi et du Règlement 909, dans leurs versions modifiées.
  7.  Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.
 
VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D'ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis de décision projetée, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d'audience.1
 
VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D'AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :
 
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9
 
À l’attention de la greffière
 
POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS sur le formulaire à utiliser relativement à l’avis écrit, veuillez vous rendre sur le site Web du Tribunal (www.fstontario.ca) ou communiquer avec la greffière du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1 800 668-0128 (poste 7294), ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.
 
SI VOUS OMETTEZ DE DEMANDER UNE AUDIENCE DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS, JE POURRAI PRENDRE LA DÉCISION PROJETÉE DANS LE PRÉSENT AVIS.
 
FAIT à Toronto, en Ontario, le 2 décembre 2011.
 
 
 
___________________________
K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite


1 REMARQUE – En vertu de l'article 112 de la Loi, tout avis, toute ordonnance ou tout autre document est valablement donné, signifié ou livré s'il est remis en personne ou envoyé par courrier ordinaire, et tout document acheminé par courrier ordinaire sera réputé avoir été donné, signifié ou livré le cinquième jour suivant la mise à la poste.


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.