Pension Plan for the Employees of the Canadian Labour Congress, Registration Number 0228759

IN THE MATTER OF the Pension Benefits Act, R.S.O. 1990,

c. P.8, as amended (the “PBA”);

 

AND IN THE MATTER OF a Notice of Intended Decision of the Superintendent of Financial Services to consent under section 62.1(5) of the PBA to a payment out of the pension fund for the Pension Plan for the Employees of the Canadian Labour Congress, Registration Number 0228759.                    

 
TO:
Deloitte & Touche Inc., in its capacity as Receiver and Manager of Crocus Investment Fund and not in its personal capacity
360 Main Street, Suite 2300
Winnipeg MB  R3C 3Z3
 
Applicant
 
Attention:
Steven Peleck
Senior Vice-President
                    
TO:               Canadian Labour Congress
                    2841 Riverside Dr.
                    Ottawa  ON K1V 8X7
 
                    Administrator
 
Attention:      Les Steel Executive Director, Operations
 
 
NOTICE OF INTENDED DECISION
 
I INTEND TO CONSENT, under section 62.1(5) of the PBA, to the payment out of the pension fund for the Pension Plan for the Employees of the Canadian Labour Congress, Registration Number 0228759 (the “Plan”) to Deloitte & Touche Inc. in its capacity as Receiver and Manager of Crocus Investment Fund and not in its personal capacity (“Deloitte”), as at December 31, 2010 in the amount of $72,667 plus interest to the date of payment.
 
I INTEND TO CONSENT FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS:
                           
  1. The Canadian Labour Congress is the administrator of the Plan for Employees of the Canadian Labour Congress, Registration Number 0228759 (the “Plan”).  The Plan is a defined benefit pension plan covering multiple participating employers.  However, the Plan does not meet the definition of a multi-employer pension plan (“MEPP”) in section 1 of the PBA.  
  2. Crocus Investment Fund (“CIF”) was a participating employer under the Plan.  On June 28, 2005, Deloitte was appointed Receiver and Manager of CIF.     
  3. As a result of the receivership of CIF, the Plan was partially wound up effective June 28, 2005. 
  4. On September 13, 2010, Deloitte contributed $320,000 to the Plan to fund the partial wind-up deficit attributable to CIF.  Upon distribution of the assets associated with the partial wind up, it became clear there remains an excess of assets in the amount of $72,667 (calculated as at December 31, 2010) after all wind-up liabilities have been discharged.  Accordingly, the excess assets are attributable to the amounts contributed to meet the terminal funding requirements and constitute an overpayment within the meaning of section 62.1 of the PBA.
  5. On or about March 1, 2011, Deloitte made an application (the “Application”) for the payment of $72,667 “representing an overpayment by the employer into the pension fund as at December 31, 2010, plus net investment earnings thereon (i.e.:  after expenses, including expenses directly related to the refund of such overpayment after March 1, 2011) to the date of payment.”  Accordingly, the Application was filed within the time limits set out in section 62.1(4) of the PBA.
  6. Such further and other reasons as may come to my attention.
  7.  

YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A HEARING by the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) pursuant to section 89(6) of the PBA. To request a hearing, you must deliver to the Tribunal a written notice that you require a hearing, within thirty (30) days after this Notice of Intended Decision is served on you.1
 
YOUR WRITTEN NOTICE must be delivered to:
 
Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9
                                     
Attention: The Registrar
 
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on a Form for the written notice, please see the Tribunal website at www.fstontario.ca or contact the Registrar of the Tribunal by phone at 416-590-7294, toll free at 1-800-668-0128, ext. 7294, or by fax at 416-226-7750.
 
If you fail to request a hearing within thirty (30) days, I may carry out the intended decision as described in this notice.
 
DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 26th day of September, 2011.
             
 
___________________________
K. David Gordon
Deputy Superintendent, Pensions
 
 
CC:    Poulin Actuarial Services Inc.
         615 Rene-Levesque Blvd. W.
         Suite 425
         Montreal, QC  H3B 1P5
 
          Attention:      Martin Faucher

                              Actuary

 

 

1 Note – Pursuant to section 112 of the PBA any Notice, order or other document is sufficiently given, served or delivered if delivered personally or sent by regular mail and any document sent by regular mail shall be deemed to be given, served or delivered on the fifth day after the date of mailing.

 
Follow FSCO on social media  

Outage  Scheduled Online Service Disruption Notice
Please consult our outage schedule for more details.

Pension Plan for the Employees of the Canadian Labour Congress, Registration Number 0228759

DANS L'AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P. 8, dans sa version modifiée (la « Loi »);

 

ET DANS L'AFFAIRE D’un avis de la décision projetée du surintendant des services financiers de consentir, en vertu du paragraphe 62.1(5) de la Loi, à un paiement prélevé sur la caisse de retraite du régime de retraite des employés du Congrès du travail du Canada, numéro d’enregistrement 0228759.          

 
À :
Deloitte & Touche Inc., en qualité de séquestre et gestionnaire du Fonds de placement Crocus, et non à titre personnel
360, rue Main, bureau 2300
Winnipeg (Manitoba)  R3C 3Z3
 
Requérant
 
Attention :
Steven Peleck
Premier vice-président
                    
AU :                  Congrès du travail du Canada
                        2841, promenade Riverside
                        Ottawa (Ontario) K1V 8X7
 
                        Administrateur
 
Attention :         Les Steel
                        Directeur général, Opérations
 
 
 

AVIS DE LA DÉCISION PROJETÉE

 
J’AI L’INTENTION DE CONSENTIR, en vertu du paragraphe 62.1(5) de la Loi, au paiement par prélèvement sur la caisse de retraite du régime de retraite des employés du Congrès du travail du Canada, numéro d’enregistrement 0228759 (le « régime »), à Deloitte & Touche Inc. en qualité de séquestre et gestionnaire du Fonds de placement Crocus, et non à titre personnel (« Deloitte »), au 31 décembre 2010, d’un montant de 72 667 $ plus intérêts à la date de paiement.
 
 

J’AI L’INTENTION DE DONNER MON CONSENTEMENT POUR LES MOTIFS SUIVANTS :

                           
  1. Le Congrès du travail du Canada est l’administrateur du régime de retraite des employés du Congrès du travail du Canada, numéro d’enregistrement 0228759 (le « régime »). Le Régime est un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées comptant plusieurs employeurs participants. Cependant, il ne correspond pas à la définition d’un régime de retraite interentreprises figurant à la section 1 de la Loi.  
  2. Le Fonds de placement Crocus (le « Fonds ») était un employeur participant dans le cadre du Régime. Le 28 juin 2005, Deloitte a été nommé séquestre et gestionnaire du Fonds.    
  3. Du fait de la mise sous séquestre du Fonds, le Régime a été liquidé partiellement à compter du 28 juin 2005.
  4. Le 13 septembre 2010, Deloitte a versé 320 000 $ au Régime afin de financer le déficit à la liquidation partielle attribuable au Fonds. Une fois réparti l’actif se rattachant à la liquidation partielle, un excédent d’actif se chiffrant à 72 667 $ (selon le calcul au 31 décembre 2010) a été constaté après le règlement intégral du passif de liquidation. En conséquence, l’actif excédentaire est attribuable aux versements liés aux obligations de financement à la liquidation et constitue un versement excédentaire au sens de l’article 62.1 de la Loi.
  5.  Le 1er mars 2011 ou vers cette date, Deloitte a présenté une demande en vue du paiement de 72 667 $ (la « Demande ») « représentant un versement excédentaire à la caisse de retraite par l’employeur au 31 décembre 2010, plus les revenus de placement nets s’y rattachant (c.-à-d. après déduction des dépenses, y compris celles directement liées au remboursement du versement excédentaire après le 1er mars 2011) jusqu’à la date de paiement ». La Demande a ainsi été déposée dans les délais fixés au paragraphe 62.1(4) de la Loi.
  6. Tout autre motif pouvant être porté à mon intention.

 

VOUS AVEZ LE DROIT D'ÊTRE ENTENDU par le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») en vertu du paragraphe 89 (6) de la Loi si, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la signification du présent avis de décision projetée, vous faites parvenir au Tribunal un avis écrit de demande d'audience.1 

 

VOTRE AVIS DE DEMANDE D'AUDIENCE doit être signifié au :

 

Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9

                  

À l’attention de la greffière
 
POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS sur le formulaire à utiliser relativement à l’avis écrit, veuillez vous rendre sur le site Web du Tribunal (www.fstontario.ca) ou communiquer avec la greffière du Tribunal par téléphone au 416 590-7294, sans frais au 1 800 668‑0128 (poste 7294) ou par télécopieur au 416 226-7750.

 

SI VOUS OMETTEZ DE DEMANDER UNE AUDIENCE DANS LES TRENTE (30) JOURS, JE POURRAI PRENDRE LA DÉCISION PROJETÉE DANS LE PRÉSENT AVIS.

 

FAIT à Toronto, en Ontario, le 26 septembre 2011.
 
___________________________
K. David Gordon
Surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite 
 
c.c. :  Services actuariels Poulin, Inc.
          615, boul. René-Lévesque O.
          Bureau 425
          Montréal (Québec)  H3B 1P5
 
          a/s Martin Faucher

 

          Actuaire


Suivez la CSFO dans les médias sociaux

Outage Avis d’interruption du service en ligne
Prière de consulter notre calendrier des interruptions prévues du service pour de plus amples détails.