FSCO to accept licence applications from service providers starting May 1, 2014

In December 2013, we announced that the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) would soon begin licensing Ontario services providers and regulating their business and billing practices involving Statutory Accident Benefits claims. We can now confirm that FSCO will be accepting licence applications starting May 1, 2014. Licences will be required as of November 1, 2014.

 

FAQ: What is a "service provider"?

 

Submit Your Licence Application Early

 

The licence application window will open May 1, 2014. As many as 9,500 applicants could submit an application for a service provider’s licence. FSCO will review and process licence applications on a “first-come, first-served” basis.

 

Due to the anticipated volume of applications, the service provider business’ Principal Representative (PR) should apply early for a service provider’s licence to ensure there is no interruption in the ability to submit invoices to HCAI and receive direct payment from auto insurers. As of November 1, 2014, service providers who do not hold a licence will not be able to invoice through HCAI, or receive direct payment from auto insurers, for goods or services ("listed expenses") provided after November 1, 2014 in connection with Statutory Accident Benefits.

 

The Principal Representative must complete the licence application online.

 

FAQ: Do I need a licence?

FAQ: What is a "Principal Representative"?

FAQ: How do I stay informed?

 

Stay Tuned!

 

Important updates will be released in the next few days concerning:

 

  • A description of "listed expenses" (i.e. the specific goods and services covered by the service provider’s licence);
  • Necessary standards for business systems and practices;
  • Licence processes.

We will provide additional information shortly to explain how the new licensing rules will apply to services you are providing to existing clients when the requirement for a licence comes into effect on November 1, 2014 ("transitional rules").

 

More information

 

 

About FSCO

 

FSCO is a regulatory agency of the Ministry of Finance who regulates certain financial services sectors conducting business in Ontario (read more).

Le CSFO acceptera les demandes de permis des fournisseurs de services le 1er mai 2014

En décembre 2013, nous avons annoncé que la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) commencerait à délivrer des permis aux fournisseurs de services en Ontario et à réglementer leurs activités et leurs méthodes de facturation pour les demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales. Nous pouvons confirmer que la CSFO acceptera les demandes de permis à compter du 1er mai 2014 et que les permis seront obligatoires le 1er novembre 2014.

 

Foire aux questions : Qu’est-ce qu’un « fournisseur de services »?

 

Présentez votre demande de permis le plus tôt possible

 

Les demandes seront acceptées à partir du 1er mai 2014. Il se peut que 9 500 demandeurs présentent une demande de permis de fournisseurs de services. La CSFO examinera et traitera les demandes par ordre d’arrivée.

 

Comme nous prévoyons que le volume des demandes sera élevé, le représentant principal du fournisseur de services devrait présenter la demande de permis le plus tôt possible pour éviter toute interruption de la capacité de l’entreprise à soumettre des factures pour les demandes de règlement pour soins de santé liés à l’assurance-automobile et à recevoir des paiements directs de la part des compagnies d’assurance-automobile. À compter du 1er novembre, les fournisseurs de services qui ne sont pas titulaires d’un permis ne pourront soumettre de factures pour les demandes de règlement pour soins de santé liés à l’assurance-automobile ou recevoir de paiements directs de la part des compagnies d’assurance-automobile pour des biens ou des services (frais désignés) fournis relativement à des indemnités d’accident légales.

 

La demande de permis doit être remplie en ligne par le représentant principal.

 

Foire aux questions : Qui doit demander et obtenir un permis?

Foire aux questions : Qu’est-ce qu’un représentant principal?

Foire aux questions : Comment puis-je me tenir au courant?

 

Restez à l’affût!

 

Des mises à jour importantes seront annoncées dans les prochains jours, notamment:

 

  • Une description claire des « frais désignés » (les biens et les services précis qui sont couverts par le permis de fournisseur de services);
  • Les normes applicables aux systèmes et aux pratiques opérationnels;
  • Les processus associés au permis.

Nous fournirons des renseignements supplémentaires sous peu pour expliquer comment les nouvelles règles concernant les permis s’appliqueront aux services que vous offrez à vos clients actuels lorsque le permis sera obligatoire le 1er novembre 2014 (« dispositions transitoires »).

 

Renseignements supplémentaires

 

 

À propos de la CSFO

 

La CSFO est l’organe de réglementation du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario. Elle réglemente certains secteurs des services financiers qui mènent des activités en Ontario (pour en savoir plus).