How FSCO is Regulating Service Providers

 
Home » Service Providers » Service Provider Licensing Guide » How FSCO is Regulating Service Providers

How FSCO is Regulating Service Providers

The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) is responsible for the licensing and regulation of the business and billing practices of service providers. As of December 1, 2014, service providers must be licensed in order to receive direct payment from auto insurers for goods and services (listed expenses) provided on or after December 1, 2014, in connection with the SABS.

 

Typically, service providers are health and rehabilitation clinics, as well as providers of assessments and examinations.

 

Service provider licences are issued at the business or legal entity level. This means that only one licence is needed for all of the facilities, branches or locations operated by the same service provider who provide specified goods or services (listed expenses) to statutory accident benefit claimants.

 

For the purposes of applying for a licence, FSCO classifies service provider businesses as one of the following forms:

  • Sole Proprietorship
  • Partnership (General and Limited)
  • Corporations

Service Providers That Need to be Licensed

Currently, service providers can bill automobile insurers directly for listed expenses through the HCAI system.

 

Listed expenses as specified in the Superintendent's Health Claims for Auto Insurance Guideline [PDF Document] Size: ## kb are assessments, examinations, reports, forms, plans, goods and services that must be billed through HCAI on an Auto Insurance Standard Invoice (OCF-21).

 

Beginning December 1, 2014:

  • A service provider will need a service provider licence to receive direct payment from automobile insurers for these listed expenses.
  • Automobile insurers will not be allowed to pay a service provider for listed expenses in connection with goods or services provided on or after December 1, 2014, if the business or legal entity does not hold a service provider licence.

Note: Unlicensed service providers will still be required to submit all OCF forms through the HCAI system, but will not be able to receive direct payment from auto insurers. Unlicensed service providers must seek payment from their claimants, who in turn, will seek reimbursement from their insurer. Get more information on unlicenced services providers.

Service Providers Exempt from Licensing

Service providers that only complete a disability certificate under sections 21, 36 or 37 of the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule (SABS) [New Window] and do not submit the invoice for the disability certificate through HCAI do not need to be licensed by FSCO, and may be paid directly by automobile insurers without a service provider licence.

 

Without a service provider licence, service providers must seek direct payment from claimants for goods and services provided in connection with statutory accident benefits. Claimants will then need to seek reimbursement directly from their automobile insurer.

 

 

FSCO's Regulatory Powers and Applicable Laws

FSCO's regulation is designed to ensure that service providers have appropriate business practices in place to bill automobile insurers for specific listed expenses provided to statutory accident benefit claimants.

 

FSCO's responsibilities include:

  • Reviewing licence applications submitted by service providers, and providing licences to service providers that meet eligibility requirements.
  • Investigating complaints and conducting audits to ensure that service providers are complying with the law, and taking enforcement action when required.
  • Informing service providers of any changes to FSCO's regulation and regulatory requirements, and responding to inquiries from service providers. 
  • Publishing a public registry on FSCO's website with information on current and former service provider licensees.
  • Recovering the costs of regulation from the sector by charging fees, and monitoring the fees on an annual basis to ensure they suit the level of regulation needed. 

The following regulations made under the Insurance Act [New Window] set out FSCO's regulatory authorities and requirements for service providers.

Accueil » Fournisseurs de services » Guide sur la délivrance de permis aux fournisseurs de services » Comment la CSFO réglemente les fournisseurs de services

Comment la CSFO réglemente les fournisseurs de services

La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario est responsable de l’agrément et de la réglementation des pratiques d’affaires et de facturation des fournisseurs de services. En date du 1er décembre 2014, les fournisseurs de services doivent détenir un permis pour recevoir des paiements directement des assureurs automobiles pour les biens et services (frais désignés) dans l’AIAL fournis le 1er décembre 2014 ou après.

 

En général, les fournisseurs de services sont des cliniques de santé et de réadaptation, ainsi que des fournisseurs d’évaluations et d’examens.

 

Les permis de fournisseurs de services sont délivrés à l’entreprise ou à la personne morale.  Cela signifie qu’un seul permis est nécessaire pour l’ensemble des établissements, succursales ou emplacements exploités par le même fournisseur qui prodigue des biens ou des services (frais désignés) précis aux demandeurs d’indemnités d’accident légales.

 

Pour traiter les demandes de permis, la CSFO classe les fournisseurs de services selon qu’ils prennent l’une des formes suivantes :

  • Entreprise à propriétaire unique
  • Société en nom collectif ou société en commandite
  • Société de personnes

Fournisseurs de services devant être titulaires de permis

À l’heure actuelle, les fournisseurs de services peuvent facturer directement aux assureurs automobiles les frais désignés par l’entremise du Système DRSSAA.

 

Les frais désignés, selon la directive du surintendant sur le Système de demandes de règlement pour soins de santé liés à l'assurance-automobile [PDF Document] Size: ## kb, concernent les évaluations, examens, rapports, formulaires, régimes, biens et services qui doivent être facturés par l’entremise du Système DRSSAA sur une facture d’assurance automobile standard (FDIO-21).

 

À compter du 1er décembre 2014 :

  • Un fournisseur de services doit détenir un permis de fournisseur de services pour pouvoir recevoir le paiement direct des assureurs automobiles pour ces frais désignés.
  • Les assureurs automobiles ne seront pas autorisés à payer un fournisseur de services pour les frais désignés relativement aux biens ou services fournis à compter du 1er décembre 2014 si l’entreprise ou la personne morale n'est pas titulaire d'un permis de fournisseur de services.

Remarque : Les fournisseurs de services sans permis seront toujours tenus de soumettre tous leurs formulaires FDIO par l’intermédiaire du Système DRSSAA, mais ne pourront pas recevoir de paiements directs de la part des assureurs automobiles. S’ils ne détiennent pas de permis, les fournisseurs de services doivent demander le paiement aux demandeurs, qui, de leur côté, demanderont un remboursement de leur assureur. Obtenez de plus amples renseignements sur les fournisseurs de services ne détenant pas de permis.

Fournisseurs de services exemptés de permis

Les fournisseurs de services qui n’obtiennent qu’un certificat d’invalidité en vertu des articles 21, 36 ou 37 de l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales (AIAL) [New Window] et qui ne présentent pas la facture pour le certificat d’invalidité par l’entremise du Système DRSSAA n’ont pas à être autorisés par la CSFO, et ils peuvent recevoir le paiement directement de l’assureur automobile sans être titulaires d’un permis de fournisseur de services.

 

S’ils n’ont pas de permis de fournisseur de services, les fournisseurs de services doivent demander le paiement direct de la part des demandeurs pour les biens et services fournis dans le cadre d’indemnités d’accident légales.  Les demandeurs doivent alors demander le remboursement directement auprès de leur assureur automobile.

 

Pouvoirs de réglementation de la CSFO et lois applicables

La réglementation de la CSFO est conçue pour veiller à ce que les fournisseurs de services observent des pratiques commerciales appropriées lorsqu’ils facturent aux assureurs automobiles les services désignés précis qui sont fournis aux demandeurs d’indemnités d’accident légales.

 

Les responsabilités de la CSFO comprennent celles-ci :

  • Examiner les demandes de permis présentées par les fournisseurs de services et délivrer des permis aux fournisseurs de services qui répondent aux critères d’admissibilité.
  • Mener des enquêtes sur les plaintes et des vérifications pour s’assurer que les fournisseurs de services se conforment à la loi; prendre des mesures coercitives, au besoin. 
  • Informer les fournisseurs de services de tout changement à la réglementation et aux exigences réglementaires de la CSFO, et répondre aux demandes de renseignements formulées par les fournisseurs de services.  
  • Publier un registre public sur le site Web de la CSFO afin de diffuser de l’information sur les titulaires actuels et anciens de permis de fournisseurs de services.
  • Recouvrer les coûts de la réglementation du secteur en imposant des frais, et faire le suivi annuel des frais perçus afin de s’assurer qu’ils sont adaptés au niveau de réglementation nécessaire

Les règlements suivants pris en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances [New Window] précisent les autorités et exigences réglementaires de la CSFO à l’égard des fournisseurs de services.